Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag

Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag

Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag
Review 1 for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WilliamTheWonka
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

This bag is superb

PostedApril 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Fits everything I need for work (clothes and sandwiches) and in the photo also has dog food and flowers for "her indoors". Much better than pannier I was using before which was like having a parachute on the side of the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
topman55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Smart but can rattle on the Topeak rack.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: noisy rattle if not held in place.
Quite pricey, but looks and feels well made.
Only limited volume with firm sides and a partly expandable top.
(Don't expect to get a lot of shopping into it).
I see that Topeak make another Rack Bag that has pull out material saddle bags. I've not seen one, but wish that I'd looked these up before purchase.
The MTX DX has a firm plastic base that slides into a Topeak Rack.
Unfortunately there is some play, leading to an annoying rattle.
I have looped a bungee around the base of the MTX DX to hold it in place, but I would have expected a rattle free set up in the first place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
waster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal trunk bag for light touring

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Well made carrier-top bag for general cycing or short tours. Plenty of roon for tools, waterproofs, lunch, camera etc in the main bag and those 2 side pockets. If you need really serious space for camping kit, go for the XP models which have drop-down side-panniers.
Note that this bag is specifically for use with the Topeak slide&lock carrier rack system, there's no provision for strapping onto ormal carriers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC123

So easy to use

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Well worth the money......why did I use that ruck sack for so long.... a stiff neck is a thing of the past!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laythieboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Handy Rack Bag

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, very secure, extenable
Cons: Expensive, too small for an a4 book
My initial sceptism for the Topeak system has now been transformed to outright delight. I bought the bag as birthday present for myself to go with the Topeak rack on my new bike and I have found it extremely useful for my daily commute to work. The bag is light weight, attaches very securely, I have no worries at all about it coming loose on the way into work and detaches readily when I arrive. I have not used the strap or internal divider which came with the bag but I can see their potential. My only gripe is that it is too small to take an A4 sized book or folder, but having the option the extend the packing space, with the "extendable roof" came in very handy when bringing in the cakes to work for my birthday. Ideal for the average communtor or weekend away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JasperC
Country:Saudi Arabia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light weight expanding Rack Bag.

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The bag is light weight and is easy to slide onto the rack and clips into place with no effort. To remove you just push down on the release button and pull it back off the rack. Was expecting the top to expand more than it does due to the descriptor being Multi expanding top compartment. having said that it adds a fare amount of extra storage.
The build quality is excellent and the bag looks great on the mountain bike. It allows me to carry plenty of food and drink when I go out with the boys and room for all the spares and tools is case of a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
caveman101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, flexible
In combination with the QuickTrack rack, this is the perfect luggage system. The rack is easy to mount & dismount, and the bag just slides onto the rtack and locks in place. Just great for mixed riding, where you can easily remove the system for short or off-road rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mick27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Topeak Rack bag

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great space saving bag. Extends up. Side pockets useful, clips off rack quick, make your mates jealous when u get to your stopover & u just slide yours off, while they start untieing their bags.
U just get enough in this for 40mile ride, stopover night, night clothes for meal pub, & ride back next morning. With bungee strapping sleepoing bag to top of bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
savaran
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A sturdy pack with planty of storage space

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, plenty of storage space
Cons: Expensive, no rack straps, no rain cover
First off a bit of a warning - this pack is best suited to the Topeak Beamrack and Tubular racks and their Quicktrack fittings which allow you to slide this bag onto the guided rail on the rack for a snap tight fixing. The bag has a heavy duty plastic rail on its underside for this purpose. No other means of attaching this pack to your rack are supplied, only a shoulder strap !
With the side pockets this is quite a wide pack and will oversail your standard rack width by 4cm on either side. The back of the pack nearest the saddle is also quite high and may need to be pushed down under the back of the saddle for neatness and to avoid possible rubbing while riding if you tend to sit well back on your saddle.
It has plenty of room to accommodate all the paraphernalia of a day ride and easily replaces a backpack for this purpose. On longer rides it can be used as part of a comprehensive touring kit with extra panniers or a backpack.
It does not have a rain cover - this has to be bought separately. I think this should have been integral with the pack.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak MTX DX Trunk Rack Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nilviz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent bit of kit

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, great carrying capacity
I had to replace my old broken bag and found it hard to replace with something similar or better.Most rack Bags are low volume or rear rack specific bags. This is better than the one I used to commute with
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.