Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe

Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe

Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe
Review 1 for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philrs8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Spot on

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These MTB off road shoes are just the dogs b###ocks, superb fit and well worth buying 45s fit a normal 44 shoe
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
David28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

1 niggle that was a deal-breaker, otherwise great

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: tongues cut into my ankles
I wore these boots around the house on a few evenings to make sure the size was OK.
Pros:
-extremely comfortable
-roomy around the front of the foot
-velcro strap helps lock in ankle tightly
-sole more flexible than expected, good for walking
-not too warm, could probably use all year round (with appropriate socks/overshoes in the depths of winter)
-both colours look good (in my opinion!)
Cons:
Just one, but it made me regretfully return these boots: the sides of the tongue, where there is a stiff seam between the underside and the thicker material used at the top of the tongue, rested right on the fronts of my ankle bones, and doing up the laces tight (as I would want to when riding) pressed them down very firmly. I hadn't noticed this when just trying them on in the store, but in only a short time this became irritating, then painful; taking off my sock, it had visibly abraded my skin. I tried doing them up with the tongue in different positions, but it always ended up the same. I really wanted to keep these boots, because I loved them otherwise, but I couldn't convince myself that I wouldn't end up with pain and blisters all the time.
If you don't have this problem, then I'm sure these boots will be wonderful. Five (or four - I didn't get to find out if the sole was maybe a little too flexi for riding) stars if you don't notice this issue, but one star otherwise - I can't do with a shoe that cuts into me.
Five stars to Evans' customer service as well, who had no problems accepting the boots back even though it was over a week before I was able to return them to my local store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
20tooth
Country:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super comfortable, excellent soles

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, protection
I bought these to protect my ankles from my sharp and protruding Raceface cranks. I've got a nice scar (with stitches!) on my ankle from a minor crash so I wanted more ankle protection than I had from my low cut bike shoes. These shoes protect the ankle bone quite nicely, so it should fix the problem.
The shoes are the most comfortable bike shoes I've ever owned compared to various Shimano, Diadora and Lake shoes I've had in the past. I was very happy with my Lake (mx101?) shoes but the Suplest are far more comfortable. My ankle bone is still sore, which is causing some discomfort but that will go away eventually. There is no play between the shoe and the pedal, which seems to give me a bit more power on the uphills.
I love the vibram soles, they're aggressive and grippy. The soles are moderately stiff but surprisingly good for walking around. They're not running shoes but they're pretty good for a bike shoe. I don't expect any hotspots with these shoes, but I haven't used them on any epic rides yet so can't really say.
They're a very snug fit for my relatively wide feet. People with very wide feet may have an issue.
I have no idea how well they'll stand up but so far they're an excellent all mountain bike shoe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Girlie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Very comfortable and great protection so far.

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are without doubt the most comfortable cycling shoes i have ever owned. I bought them for my MTB but love them so much i wear them on my road bike with SPD's for my daily commute. They were warm enough for a 22 mile ridgeway night ride in temps of 1 degree with a overshoe. They are well ventilated and i feel they will be cool enough to use in the summer too. My 1st two rides in them saw them plastered in mud but they came up clean in no time. They are not water proof but i now use them with an overshoe to keep the worst of the mud/clay off them. I can not rate them highly enough, it's like slipping on a comfy pair of slippers.
I got them for half price so not stupidly expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndyMTB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent purchase

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I would recommend to anyone. Comfortable, stylish, do their job very well! If suplest produced a waterproof version. I would purchase again. The only bad point is the £150 RRP. Wouldn't even considered if evans had not dropped the price to £85.
I have had the shimano equivalent (MT51) and these are much better!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
heyhoherewego
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

was unsure, but shouldn't have been

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
simply superb, light, comfortable and warm. For the money i challenge them to be surpassed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
john51
Country:New Zealand
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sizing a little on the smal side

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Ended up selling shoes on as they were slightly on the small side. Order one size larger and you should be good. Shoe quality looked very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaveZ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Extremely comfortable, lightweight, well made

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The boots are light weight and well designed. The tounge has a notch cut out to prevent it digging in to your ankle. Good grip also with reflective panels.
However, I needed a 45 which equates to a UK 11 when I am normally a 44 (size 10).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hyper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

excellent half boot

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I like a half boot rather than a shoe for that wee bit of ankle protection riding off road, these looked a lot less clunky than other riding boots. the sole is grippy for walking and solid for good power transfer. buy a size larger than normal good for Glentress and quick ride into town
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Suplest Off Road Alpine 2012 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skyocean
Country:South Korea
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Most comfortible mtb shoes

PostedJune 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, no sweat
Before i ordered this shoes, i hesitaed to buy it as it looks too heavy and
and hard and also looks to be good for winter season. But i trusted the manufacturer Suplest and determined that hesitaiton is to be fool for this shoes. When i get and wear this shoes, i surprised so much about the comfotible foot never felt before. Not heavy, Not hard, Not stuffy.
The best feeling was after 80km mountain riding. Never sweat even a little on my feet. Feel dry and no smell !!
No No No even a tiny pain on my all part of feet.
Walking with cleat installed is also comfortable.
no noise in cement road.
Really excellent shoes. fully recommend this shoes
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.