Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light

Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light

Overall rating:
4.72 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Review 1 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MontyBodkin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super small, super light weight, super bright.

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was pretty surprised when this turned up as I was expecting something a bit more substantial. It's about the size and weight of a matchbox but the light it produces is startling.
The USB recharging is a really handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
acruch96
from England
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent light

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, very bright
Fantastically bright and small, love the fact it is removeable really easily. Charges by USB is great! Would definitley buy moon products again!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Squashy

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very good light with a long lighting time before recharging is rerquired.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chillout23
Country:Croatia
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic for commuting!

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
For me is the best front light I've ever had! Even in a very dark place, light is very bright and strong.
I prefer city rides...sometimes in some dark areas (low city light) and can tell you that I will never change front light again...Moon Mask 5 is all i need and that's it :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smork123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small in stature - large in illumination

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, powerful beam
Its quite a small light, so much so, that you hardly notice it sitting there on your handlebars. The light is fixed to the handlebars by a quick release strap. When the light is on, it beam is very powerful and so serves its purpose very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gajtalbot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Stupendous value for money

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I love this wee light.
It's relatively inexpensive, but it packs a punch!
Perfect for city commuting, and good for the darker lanes as a backup light.
I can't find anything bad to say about it.
Buy one. Now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Till0357
Country:Germany
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Occasional night rides

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, small
The Moon Mask 5 front light is very compact and lightweight by design and easy to mount either on your helmet or on your steering bar. It comes handy if you get caught in the dark and will help you to make it to your final destination safely. The USB rechargeable and exchangeable batteries last about 3 hours in full mode, which makes the light a perfect compagnion on your racer and on long distance trips with overnight stays as well. For serious mountainbike trail riding in the dark you should consider a stronger and bigger light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrjaybugsymalon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

excellent for a small unit

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
i purchased this item from Evans and i was well impressed with the power for such a small unit. the charging can be done while in office or at home via usb cable.
i was so impressed i bought 2 more as presents
i got it price matched as well
fits easily to handle bars also has different lighting modes which help in traffic and when traveling through ark paths
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AngB
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good small light

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very surprised at how small the light is. It does a good job. the light is quite bright and with it being so small it is very unobtrusive on the bike. Very easy to mount and operate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RTomkinson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright, charges quickly

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Good so far - bright even on power saving mode rather than full brightness. Charges fairly quickly (fully in 2hours). Rubber strap bracket is adjustable, quick to attach and remove.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
markeymoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good light for city commuting.

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I was looking for a good value and performing front light for my daily commute through Bristol city. This light met my expectations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
joaolucio
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light for the price

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The Mask 5 does great if you're cycling through the city or on well lit roads. The battery gets you about 3 hours of light in maximum output and about 6 hours if "only" 35 lumen. It is not a go anywhere light - if you're cycling in dark roads you'll need a powerfull one - but it helps if you go through the occasional dark alley and it helps you getting noticed everywhere.
I use it all the time as it is also great as a daytime light where you can get over 8 hours in flashing mode. It can be seen from several hundred yards out and it sure will help you get noticed by other drivers.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Commuter7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good for towpath and time between battery charging

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I use the light for commuting on a tow path. Much better than my previous £10 light as it it has a wider beam and lights sufficiently far ahead, so that I no longer fear veering into the river. The battery life is great for my needs as I only use it for 30 minutes each evening, and for only half of that time on full power. This allows me about 8 cycles before recharging the battery. I carry my old battery powered light with me as this one has no battery back-up. And I like to run it flat as recommended for optimum battery life. It fits easily with a rubber strap, but I wonder whether the strap may wear over time and whether a clip on / off would've been better several years down the line.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fitz79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

discreet, bright & quick to fit

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Wanted a bright rechargable light for great value and with Evans' £5 off for my first order, this was a steal. Would definately recommend to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gazzaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A wee bit fickle

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fickle button
Great light, with great features, but it sometimes takes an age to get the thing to turn on, scroll through the different settings and then turning off.
I don't know if it's me or just the way it is, but I sometimes think you have to press the button through the back almost to get any response.
When I do get it to where I want it, it's great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chasmanp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very bright

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, can be difficult to position
This light is great very lightweight but incredibly bright in all modes. Run time is pretty close to the what the literature states and having blue LEDs showing the unit is charging and red ones when the battery is running low is great. Charge time is nice and short and from a usb makes it very convenient.
The shame is that the light has an integral strap that although fitting oversized handlebars does mean that you have to adjust the light angle. I would have preferred a fixed mount into which the light would slide. I also wonder how long the rubber strap will last.
For the money (if you pay full price) it is expensive so shop around but you are paying for quality of the manufacture and superbright LEDs.
Overall great for making sure you are seen and it will provide enough light to get you home on the darkest of routes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mesina

Excelent build quality for the price offered

PostedMay 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excelent build quality for the price offered. Visible from more than 1km.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lonerider2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light

PostedApril 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The good thing about this light is that it's mounted to the handlebars by a rubber strap which means that it is transferable between bikes.. I use it on my tourer and mountain bike. It charges quickly, batteries last hours even on high power beam and the light is bright enough to reveal deadly potholes! A great buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joey13
Country:Jersey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Simple, easy to use and highly effective

PostedApril 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Recommended light, which gives excellent visibility. Easy to fix and use.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Moon Mask 5 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
UriT
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, Bright and easy to use

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Perfect light for sydney dark morning rides - I actually bought two - 1 so I could see (on high beams) and 1 so cars can see me (on flashing). (The 2 for 1 offer at the time was a little encouragement too :-)) Thanks to Evans for the best priced, free shipping and great deal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>