Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet

Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet

Super MSB technology: Ring-shaped plastic protection at the base of the helmet reinforces the perimeter for enhanced protection. U-Bar Technology: Highly inspired by the Exo-Nerv technology, the plastic shell is made with U-shaped ribs (plastic is folded 6 times) that act as a complex exoskeleton to reinforce the helmet's structure. Integrated strap system with inner nerves: Inner frame which distributes the shock of impacts, thus providing support and protection while being lightweight. V-Pro System: Receptacle molded into the helmet in order to put the visor on and off as often as you wish. Removable plastic plugs are included to fill the holes when not used.
Overall rating:
4.627 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(134 reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 134 reviews
5 Stars
89
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
129 out of 134Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Review 1 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Lightweight and comfortable

Posted07 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I bought this to replace my old Bell helmet, so far have only worn it a couple of times but I must say I'm impressed. It's lighter than the Bell and easily more comfortable. It's also easier to adjust so you get a nice fit. I'll definitely consider buying another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Comfortable and good fit

Posted05 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable
Fits well for those with a more rounded head! Forget I am wearing it within 5 minutes of riding. Would recommend and was great vale for the sale price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

Quality, light and comfortable helmet

Posted04 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
A quality cycle helmet that adjusts to ensure a snug fit. It's comfortable to wear, and so light that you almost forget it's on your head! At the same time, it feels robust. Bought it in the Christmas sale - definitely worth the sale price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good practical helmet.

Posted01 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great helmet. Very easy to adjust lightweight and great looking too. Made even better by getting it in the sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Very Good Road Helmet

Posted25 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I got this at Evans Milton Keynes. Tried just about everything on display and this was the clear winner for fit and comfort at an acceptable price. I got the medium size (56-59 cm) for my 58 cm head, and there's enough "slack" on the Spiderlock adjuster for me to get a buff or beanie underneath on colder days. Straps and Spiderlock are very easy to adjust and there's a spare set of slightly thicker side pads if you need them (I didn't). On the road, it's a still a very comfortable fit - very lightweight and virtually unnoticeable once you get moving. It's more ventilated than I'm used to, having always used a commuter style helmet to date, but the buff / beanie keeps out the winter cold. Only minor concern is that the Spiderlock is connected to the rest of the headband with 2 very narrow plastic wires, rather than a broader ribbon. The helmet is still secure enough but I'm wondering how durable the wires are going to be. Still, in the sale and using a Tesco Clubcard giftcard, it's still a very good helmet at a good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

The helmet was better than I first thought.

Posted13 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
The helmet's quality becomes more apparent as you use it, after 10 minutes riding it's forgettable, which is a great quality. Ventilation is good but the front pad gets a bit sweaty after a long hard ride. It would be nice if a simple soft bag was supplied to store it in to avoid micro scratches when storing it.im a little bit worried about rear of the head protection but without an impact test its hard to tell how well it protects and the design looks similar to most helmets . The construction certainly feels very stiff and strong so overall protection confidence is very high.
So far I am very pleased with it.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

great

Posted14 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Brought to match my bike - comfy / simple design - can't fault
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great for people with smaller heads

Posted04 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
This is a really good helmet for people with smaller than average heads. I have tried a number of helmets, but all of them (even those claiming to be small and fitting my head measurements) are very wide, leaving the side of my head contacted only by the retention system and not actually the helmet.
The Sharp is a lot more of a snug fit, making it more comfortable and, most importantly, more likely to stay in place in the event of a crash.
The helmet looks good and is sufficiently vented. The retention system is a bit flimsy but allows for a good fit. The chin strap is a bit long but this can be cut down and kept neat by the rubber ring provided.
I would recommend this to anyone with a smaller head who finds it hard to find a helmet that fits well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great Helmet

Posted30 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Small and light but still providing full protection around your head.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

GARNEAU HELMET

Posted22 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This helmet saved my life on a trip to Majorca when I was involved in a cycling accident recently. I've purchased another identical helmet. Excellent fit and a quality helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good fit helmet with a nice shape for my head

Posted04 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I bought this in the sale as for the price it is a well featured helmet - some high Viz and good in Mould coverage which is ideal for commuting as it will cope with some manhandling. It fits me well though that won't be the same for all head shapes - try before you buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great value

Posted16 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable
Great product - very light, good fit that's easy to adjust and looks good. Not too bulky and lots of ventilation, so comfortable even on a hot day. Definitely good value for money. Haven't had it for long, so can't attest to the durability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

good product

Posted13 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
Helmet is good fit and looks smart. I have a medium size head and it looks less bulbous than most I tried on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
It was bought:Online

It will do

Posted25 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Feels good on your head.
Not too bulgy at the sides.
Slightly heavier than comparable priced helmets.
Annoying tightening mechanism which flips about a bit at the back so when I put the helmet on i've learnt to flick it into position.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet

Posted16 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
A very stylish helmet with good ventilation for odd shaped heads like my own the straps could be a more quality finish similar to the specialised helmets
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Looks good, feels good

Posted16 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
The only comment I have about this helmet is setting up the straps
It's my first cycle helmet and it feels great on the head but I've struggled to get the straps right where I want them
I'm sure that's more about me rather than the helmet
Would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Take time to decide

Posted13 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
Took a lot of deliberation over various makes, colours, specs etc
Very patient staff, but worth taking the time to find what suits...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

This does exactely what you want; saves your head

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I brought this as an emergency replacement for a helmet left on a train, and a week later it saved my life. I'll be buying another just as soon as I'm back on the bike
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Posted15 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good value helmet that's comfortable up to two/three hours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Louis Garneau Sharp Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks good on small head unlike enormous Giros etc

Posted15 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: can get hot on the hottest days when climbing
I have a small head, obviously not on Strava, small head physically I mean! This is by far the best fitting helmet I have ever found and doesn't look bulbous on my swede.
Very good value esp when in the sales and comfortable to wear. Can get a little bit hot on hot summer days when climbing but a small price to pay for not looking stupid and in fairness most lids would. Definitely recommend, so happy I've got two, one red, one matt black, both look good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>