Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single

Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single

Overall rating:
4.304 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 23(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Review 1 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MattW

Excellent product

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have found this bag extremely useful. I have had it for about a month and it is proving to be durable and a pleasure to use both as a pannier and as a rucksack. It's really quick and easy (like 30 seconds) to change from pannier to rucksack and often I'll half unzip it just so that I can use one of the straps rather than completely converting it. Although not cheap I think it's a case of you get what you pay and in this case a quality product that will last and be extremely useful.
Only issue I can think of would be if their was consistent heavy rain- It has a raincover which works great but it doesn't go all the way round the back of the bag so over a sustained period water could get through. 15/20 mins in heavy rain though has been fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KateE
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brentford

Versatile and Good Looking

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, versatile
This Pannier/Backpack is a great versatile and easy to use accessory. Makes cycling to the station, taking the tube and then walking to work very simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dzikos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
The transformation from the pannier to rucksack is easy and straightforward. Many useful pockets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rubeymac
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Veyry good value

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: adjustment is hard
Best value bag out there, and a really good design for a backpack as well!
There is a tag that hangs down from the bottom section containing the high-vis waterproof cover. This can get in the wheel spokes. Also, the plastic tab to lock off the bag is very har5d to adjust. Otherwise, a great bag. Great value. And big enough for everyday use!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RJFDerby

Useful and well designed

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Well made, roomy, very useful when shopping or whenever else you'd otherwise have to carry awkward bulky panniers around. Perhaps on the weighty side, but only slightly. The conversion to backpack is quick and simple. It hangs well on the bike and is easy to remove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stonebob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

We liked this product so much we bought THREE.

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: you end up buying too many
We had been looking for a bike pannier that converted into a rucksack for months. This product suited the bill exactly. It is well made with precision German engineering and bang full of features such as will hold a laptop has a helmet holder and even has its own key holder. Is it waterproof, no but it comes with its own luminous plastic coat for those occasions. So why three? Well my partner and I both wanted one but what happens when you have a lot of shopping, we needed the spare. Now to look to see where to buy that extra back for those circumstances.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
awss
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bigger than I expected, but very well designed

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: big
I wish it could be smaller. I took the 28L but now I wonder if the 22L would be better. But I only bought due to the huge discounts I got it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Riatsala
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
At the sale price this product seems pretty good value. It is a very useful commuter tool. I did have a few problems attaching it to my rack and the little strap at the back was a particular issue. However now all this has been overcome and this bag is very useful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Indecisive
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Almost great, but let down by irritating flaws

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: versatile
Cons: design flaws
On first inspection this looks like a nicely designed product perfectly suited to treading the line between backpack and rack bag, but my experience of using it tells a slightly different story.
So what do you get?
A roomy 28L bag with a padded laptop pocket; two front pockets for keys, lights and small items; two side slots for drinks bottles; an included waterproof rain cover; and a piece of fabric allowing you to fasten your helmet to the bag. Most importantly the zip at the rear reveals a pair of backpack straps and allows the stowing of the pannier hooks to turn the bag into a fairly good backpack. The bag has a quality feel, is made from decent material, is nicely designed and at first glance justifies its price tag. The inclusion of all the extras within the price is also a nice change from those brands who think a rain cover should be an ‘optional’ additional purchase.
The bag is big enough for a laptop, some large books (or several pads of notes); some work clothes including a compact pair of shoes; all your lights and tools; and possibly a packed lunch too if you’re lucky. It’s more space than I require for a morning commute and would work well for a touring weekend if you travelled light. I have managed to get a full work suit and chunky work shoes in there without too much trouble.
In pannier mode, the bag attaches to your rack via some ingenious clips which fasten and grip the rack fully in a significant improvement over those used on the previous version of this bag – you even get adapters for these clips to ensure they will fit any thickness of rack. While riding, the clips will hold onto the rack, so no more incidences of the pannier flying off when going over speed bumps – this change is welcome and these clips are a great design feature. In addition, and again in improvement over the old version, the position of these clips can be adjusted, fore and aft, to alter the position of the bag so it sits closer to the front/back of your bike as required. This is a really nice touch as it gives you leeway to move the bag backwards to avoid heelstrike.
When you arrive at your destination you can quickly convert to backpack mode and be on your way. In backpack mode the rack clips fold away into a recess under the bag, and you’re left with two normal backpack straps. In practice if you’re going a short distance you won’t bother with proper stowage but will just zip out one strap and throw the bag over one shoulder. The design here is pleasingly effective too.
While the above makes for a relatively effective product, a couple of design flaws let it down overall.
The lower part of the bag is secured to your rack via a length of plastic strapping ending in a metal hook. This is a poor solution – securing this strap doesn’t prevent the bottom of the bag wobbling about as you hit bumps, and it serves as little more than a failsafe in case the plastic clips fail. My biggest concern is over safety though – if you forget to anchor this plastic strap (and over the course of multiple trips, occasionally you will), the strap and hook flaps around loose near your spokes as you ride. On both occasions of owning versions of this bag, this has caused me serious problems. The first time, the hook caught on a spoke and the wheel’s rotation yanked the plastic strap off the bag, causing a massive spoke bend and bowed wheel, and damaging the bag. The second time, the same thing happened, this time destroying my mudguard as well as wrenching the strap off the bag. So in both cases I was left with a damaged bag, and a damaged bike. There are so many better alternative ways Vaude could have chosen to secure the bottom of the bag so this is a real shame. I was travelling slowly on both occasions but catching this hook on your spokes at speed could be dangerous.
Stability is the second issue. The fact that this bag is primarily a backpack with some pannier clips attached is obvious when you’re out riding. The lack of a solid base means that going over bumps can cause the soft structure of the bag to wobble a lot, sometimes striking the spokes. This is particularly bad if the bag is fully loaded. Making the bag’s structure more rigid like a pannier would lessen the problem, but that would interfere with its ‘soft backpack’ style. If you have a solid touring rack this might not be such an issue as your back wheel would be better protected by your rack.
I love this concept and wanted it to work, even giving it a second chance and buying the newer version after having problems the first time round.. But ultimately it’s a compromise, not performing ideally as either a pannier or a backpack with the flaws described being too frustrating to justify recommending unless they were addressed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HvdWB
Country:Holland

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The bag fits very tightly to the bike and can be attached and taken off with one hand. The labtop part is well covered for protection. The transfer from bikebag to backpack goes very smooth. Inside the bag there is lots of room for books and lunch packages (the bag will be used for school). The zippers and the fabric are from good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sarebear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good features and some I wasn't expecting.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, modified ruck sack straps, good useful pockets
Cons: Expensive, rucksack straps slow to utilise
I really like this bag in every respect except that it's slow to make into a rucksack BUT I couldn't find another that would be any quicker. It's a good size, holds more than I expected and I discovered new pockets after two weeks of use. I have a v small lap top so the pouch has oodles of room for note book, kindle etc!
Well made, strong, zips are good and has compressiion straps for a less full bag.
I can load with work clothes and shoes, sandwich box, sunglasses, purse, glasses, pens etc plus lap top - loadsa room!
I have modiffied the bag to give me the ease of backpack use I want. I want to be able to hang the bag off a shoulder to walk to bike from car whilst putting on helmet, gloves etc and similarly when walk into the building at work. I only need one back strap but don't want an over shoulder carry strap. So I made a slit through the bag and plastic holding the rack hooks and threaded the right hand strap through and this seems secure and strong - I made a very small slit and threaded the bottom of the strap through. This now means I can take the bag off the bike and onto my shoulder in nano seconds (you could do the same with both straps). You must be careful that the strap does not foul the wheels or could end in disaster!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mschot

Great piece of kit

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bag is so easy to use both as rugsack and pannier. Had to figure out how to secure the bottom so it would not bounce around to much when going over putholes, but this is possible with the hook provided. Comes with 3 different clips to allow for 8, 10,13 and 16mm cycling racks. Changing from rugsack to pannier and back is done within a minute.
Very happy with this bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EastM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No more bad backs!

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The cycle ride to and from my commuter bus, in all weathers, has been transformed with my new Vaude Cycle Rack Bag which I received from Father Christmas. Miraculously my painful 'cycling with a backpack' back has disappeared overnight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WheelieSlow
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Best rucksack/pannier combo we could find

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Innovative product. Very comfortable as a rucksack. Also works well as a pannier.
Only anxiety is how much wear the zips will take, but that will take time to determine. Very pleased so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
shmibble

Good sturdy pannier/rucksack

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very good - attached easily to bike. Comes with several different sized clips to fit into the hooks that attach to the pannier rack, so that the hooks can fit different rack sizes nicely.
To convert from backpack to pannier, you unzip the back, roll down the pannier hooks and tuck it into a pocket at the bottom of the bag. The pocket does up with a strip of velcro. The only annoyance with this bag is that if you overfill it, the pannier doesn't fit very well into the pocket and can be a little fiddly to convert.
Otherwise a very good product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WilkoSE1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solving the "Pannier/ Rucsac" conundrum

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, great design features
The Vaude bag is one of only two products I have found that gives you the option of converting from pannier to rucsac (and back!). I chose the 28 litre version over its 22 litre sibling partly because the price difference was negligible (there was a special offer on the larger bag) but also for overall flexibility. Both have cushioned pouches for laptops.
There are a lot of good design features - a waterproof cover, slots to attach a light, a helmet carrier, bottle carriers, without the bag seeming too fiddly or festooned with straps and buckles.
So far the attachment system is holding up well. The clips to the top of the pannnier rack are firm and crisp. The hook that attaches the bag to the bottom of the rack seems more flimsy, but so far no problem. I am still nervous that it will be shaken off if I hit a pothole at speed.
Overall I am a satisfied customer and delighted to have found a pannier that is easy to carry off the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jeffhappyrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Vaude quality outdoes the competition

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The Vaude Cycle 28 Rack Bag is a large (28 l.) quality multi-purpose bag. It's light, durable, and waterproof (with the rain cover), and has a huge middle compartment and well thought-out front pocket. It's also sleek-looking and comfortable. Ortlieb makes a pannier/backpack convertible but it's capacity is 20 l. So if you're looking for a rear pannier that you can easily wear as a backpack on the go, this is the ticket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Commuter48
Country:USA
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome pannier/backpack for bicycle commuter!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Awesome product! It is so hard to find a good pannier that converts into a good backpack. This product is great in both roles. On my very first ride with the Vaude Cycle 28, I got caught out in a torrential downpour. The pull-out rain cover kept everything dry. The bright orange color of the rain cover is great for visibility. It takes a little longer than I'd like to go from pannier to backpack, but it's not too bad by any means. The pack is large. The laptop sleeve fits my 13 inch laptop without any problems. I actually have my laptop inside a neoprene case and there was still plenty of room, so I put that case inside another neoprene case that I had from an older laptop. That makes a perfect fit with my computer very well protected. I wish that the pack had an exterior mesh pocket so that I could put damp items in it to dry on my ride. So far the attachments to my bike rack seem secure. I use this pack for my bicycle commute to school/work. Overall I am completely pleased. It was worth the wait to have it shipped from overseas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ACall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good Size Quality Feel

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great bag, glad went for larger litre size to fit everything in commuting to work. Handles for backpack perfect but straps when on your back could have a little more padding. Great array of pockets and comes with different size hooks to fit snugly to any diameter of pannier rack.
Highly recommended as alternative to normal panniers only sad I just bought new Rucksack few months ago as this is two in one.
Pannier clips fold underneath with rain cover, so no one would know rucksack is actually Pannier bag as well.
Vaude great brand can't go wrong!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vaude Cycle 28 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Poshboynigel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bag for cycling to work

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I wanted to get a bike bag that I could also carry on a shoulder strap as I always seem to end up lugging more stuff into work than is comfortable to carry in a normal pannier.
This bag is a good compromise as it converts relatively easily into a rucksack but most of the time can just clip onto the pannier rack.
It's got great storage and a useful number of compartments to keep clothes/laptop/tools/spare inner tube separate
I'm really pleased with the design although I'm on my second one after only one month as the clip for the pannier rack came off so I guess build quality/longevity is to be tested.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>