Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single

Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single

Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Review 1 for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhillNZ
Country:New Zealand
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It does everything that it needs to: good sized for everything needed for a day at Uni. Very smart and quick transition from pannier to backpack. What is not to like?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
honey89
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great birthday present for keen commuter cyclist

PostedJune 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Good quality fabric & manufacture
Stylish design
Dual function pannier and backpack, avoids sweaty backs..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
InnerChimp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pannier, good rucksack - bit slow to convert.

PostedMay 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I like this bag. I often travel with a folding bike, so a pannier that can become a rucksack is very useful for the parts of the journey when the bike is folded. It's also handy for quick errands like shopping. This bag works well both as a pannier (easy to clip on, several pockets) and as a rucksack (lightweight, comfortable). The only drawback is the process of converting from pannier to rucksack or rucksack to pannier. The pannier attachment needs to be folded away in a zip pocket at the bottom of the bag, so it's not an instant conversion. But it doesn't take very long, and it's worth it for the convenience of this bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Malta
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good solution to the pannier/backpack problem

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I bought this product to replace the backpack and pannier combination that I currently use with a single item that plays both roles. So far so good.
As a pannier the 22 litre model is just fine for the usual office gear that one carts around. Nice padded spaces for laptop and lots of side pockets. A useful top pocket lets you fast-access keys, phones and the like. Engineering quality seems generally good. The back-pack features are easy/fast to use. It is also possible, when off the bike, to sling the backpack over your shoulder with just one strap out. By avoiding the hassle of stowing the back flap, the pannier - backpack conversion time is reduced from 60 secs to 5 secs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaveG31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

the bag has proved to be very usefull

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought the bag online and saved myself £15 in the process. It has been a great bag and the fact that it converts to a rucksack has made carrying it a lot easier when out and about. Great bag and i would recomend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ladybiker

Great bag!

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Easy to clip on and off, loads of space and handy pockets. Robust, and it looks good as a rucksack! Took me a while to get used to riding with panniers - it's a bit back-heavy - but i think as far as panniers go this is a great one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Campbellssource
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Design good enough but broke on 3rd outing

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
There is some adjustable screws that allow you to move where the clips sit, the thread on one of these has gone on mine. Gonna have to exchange or get a refund. Could just be a manufacturing fault, I'm sure evens will have no issue.
Otherwise: The handle that releases the bag from the rack is nice. I like the shape of the bag and it is really comfortable as a back pack.
Video I made here: http://youtu.be/aCwwbv9v3is
Other minor complaint that the tassel on the zip for the rack clips flaps about and has to be tucked in to avoid getting caught in chain.
Pockets, clips and zips
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
theapostrophe
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great design, perfect pockets, awesome backpack

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This is only my second set of pannier bags and I'm not disappointed. The fixing mechanism is easily adjustable laterally (could be easier vertically, but it is solid and hasn't slipped to I'm happy with that), there are plenty of pockets of the right size to fit wallets, phones, notebooks etc, the laptop compartment is stiff and solid and... the backpack function is great. I was worried that getting a combination backpack/pannier bag was going to lead to compromise, however the pannier attachment just folds away nicely into the bottom of the bag where there is a handy waterproof cover.. bonus!
This is an excellent product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Vaude cycle bag

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I am very pleased with it. It is really easy to attach and remove from the pannier and the rucksack function is excellent. It is great having a cycle bag with proper compartments rather than the typical "bin bag" one gets with most other brands. Someone put some thought into it, well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sapristi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent bike pannier that converts to backpack

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The 2012 Vaude Cycle 22 has a great latching hook system for attaching to your rack. This is much more secure than the earlier version of this product that I also own. The bag quickly converts from a bike pannier bag to a reasonably comfortable backpack. The bag is very well made, a good design with plenty of pockets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vaude Cycle 22 2012 Rack Bag Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrJB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Flexible and stylish

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Transforms quickly and easily.
Sits equally well on bike rack or on your back.
Carries my laptop plus Kindle safely with plenty of room for umbrella, pump and other items.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.