Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack

Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack

Overall rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Review 1 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cycle47
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable fit with plenty of storage

Posted09 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I chose this backpack due to the frame keeping it clear of my back & what a difference it makes! If you take the time to fine tune all the available adjustments on the backpack it is very comfortable indeed. Fully loaded it has plenty of storage ( & a myriad of compartments ) to safely carry all your cycling needs with any essentials near to hand. My only criticism is the waterproof cover isn't hi-vis but luckily my 'old' cover fits so not really an issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShlomyBsh
Country:Israel
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Back Pack that put the biker in front!

Posted09 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, air system
Very comfortable
Plenty of pockets
Air System
a lot of adjustment to fit Your body.
I am using it to work to
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ronny8888
Country:Hong Kong
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Extremely tough and durable

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, usable pockets, good ventilation on back
Useful, lots of pockets, easily holds 3L reservoir, high quality, sooo much better than Osprey which fell apart and had to be returned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nony
Country:Israel
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good joice

Posted03 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very good quality, comfortable. I enjoy riding with this backpack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
atucker73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for committing

Posted23 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Having recently moved to within a running distance of work, I was after a pack I could run (and cycle) in… It had to be big enough to hold my work shoes, suit trousers, shirt etc, but not so big they rattled around! This has proved a perfect fit for all of this, the straps are infinitely adjustable, and the pack is held off the back an inch, so no wet sweaty clothes! Lots of compartments for wallet / keys etc, it even comes with its own rain cover. Elasticated bands on the shoulder straps are perfect to hold my torch for the dark mornings, and there is a clip on the back for a red flasher as well. My new favourite bit of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ramma

Good bit of kit

Posted26 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Selected this rucksack primarily for the venting on the back which I hoped would keep me from sweating so much during my eight mile ride to work. (To replace my standard rucksack which always resulted in the whole of my back being soaked with sweat, whatever the weather). Only used this rucksack a couple of times so far on my commute to work, but it's proved very comfortable and it does appear to keep me cooler, although I still do sweat (obviously).Would recommend this to anyone looking for a decent rucksack for the commute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
edthelizzard
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pack, average workmanship.

Posted19 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: average quality, lacks hydration bladder
Bought this to go on a 3 day ride of the Caminho de Santiago, from Braga to Santiago de Compostela.
After trying it I can say that it is the right size for what I need (and not even using the +5 l expansion).
It's comfortable, it's roomy, it has a rain cover (could fit better over top of pack) and a helmet holder (small and easy to use). The back system is great, size adjustment is very easy, ventilation is great and it's very comfortable. I loaded it up to the top (5,5 kg) and went for a 35 km ride and it feels as if you are only carrying a small (5l) hydration pack - I didn't even notice the weight. And when you are going downhill it stays in place and doesn't ride up your back and doesn't touch the helmet.
Build quality could be better and the quality control at Vaude must be done by blind people, because an obvious fault as shown in the picture attached should have been detected by the manufacturer (the 2 top adjustment straps were sown with an incorrect angle).
It should come with an hydration bladder, but that isn't a deal breaker (only because I took advantage of the great discount - thanks by the way!), as for that, the bladder is easily accessible and also easily installed.
Could also benefit from a whistle in the sternum strap buckle.
It still merits the 4 star rating and it doesn't get the 5 stars only because of the strap issue (the straps still work but it's a bit of a let down on an otherwise great pack).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mivi
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Feature rich

Posted13 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I had to replace my lost Bergans hugger with something stylish and similar in size. I commute to work with laptop, shoes and summer clothes in the bag. The choice fell on the alpine. This is a very competent backpack with (too) many features which also add weight. However I have to say I never reflect about the bag is on the heavy side when I am on the bike. Fit is perfekt with lots of adjustment possibilities, I am 191cm.
Some minor drawbacks experienced: If you hang the bag on a hook on the wall and open it the lid turn upside down and as there is no possibility to close the pockets inside the lid, whatever you may have there will fall out. Personally I am not a big fan of different compartments and pockets as I just find it hard to find stuff, but that is of course individual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Niamhin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Awesome backpack for commuting (and hiking)

Posted03 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've had this pack for 2 weeks and LOVE it. It's got everything I was looking for......enough space to pack clothes, shoes and laptop when commuting to and from work, you can split the main section into two compartments (handy for separating wet or dirty gear), a clip for attaching a light, a built-in waterproof cover that also has a clip for a light, excellent mesh and straps that can be adjusted depending on length of your back. It's got a range of compartments and the part I really love about it is the way the zip on the main compartment lets you open the bag and see everything thats in there. No more rooting around to find things at the bottom of your pack! This is one of the best bags I've ever bought and I would highly recommend it for cycling. I've yet to try it hiking but imagine it would be great for that too due to the neat and comfortable fit. Its not as light as something like a Salomon 25 but it offers the commuter cyclist everything he/she needs and is not hearvy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlonMil
Country:Israel
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable with lots of nice features

Posted08 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I got the bag after two days!! great!
this backpack is excellent, the mesh back system is brilliant.
I did two trail riding and two hiking trips and I didn't feel the backpack on your back.
good for every condition.... and for me it is A-DO-IT-ALL backpack
LOVE IT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warriorbird
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A great looking and practical backpack.

Posted08 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This a great backpack with plenty of pockets and compartments. The colour really bright and the adjustable straps mean it is easy to get a comfortable fit. It also comes with its own waterproof cover although I am yet to try it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graham71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good commuting backpack

Posted01 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
So far I've only used the Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack a few times but it really does the job. I bought it because it was recommended as a best buy in a cycling mag. I wasn't prepared to pay the £80 RRP so when Evans had it in the sale I went for it. I've not used it in the rain so I can't comment on whether the waterproof cover works but it looks OK. I didn't think the bag was any lighter than the one I was using but once on it felt so comfortable I didn't really notice I was wearing it. I even used it to bring my old work laptop home for the week-end (it's a beast!) and it was more than up to the job. Plenty of pockets, which hold everything in place, and again I stress so comfortable. My only slightly negative comment is that it is so specialised for use biking (or hiking) that you can't really use it should you need to commute by train for any reason.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cogsi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Posted18 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Used this backpack while cycling over 3 days managed to pack all my gear in.It rained all day 1 day put the cover on all my gear stayed dry.Great product would recomend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hochi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great for commuting & olong weekend rides

Posted10 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
loads of space for all the kit when commuting to work, I like the seperate pockets to allow you to seperate out all the other bits you need i.e. pump.
Also great on longer weekend romps into the peaks (in my case) with all the spares + lunch!
I used the rain cover on one ride and it kept all my stuff dry. Top marks for this rucksack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PACMAN3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bags of Combinations

Posted29 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Like a previous reviewer I bought this bag on the strength of top rated review in a cycle mag. Haven't been disappinted. At first I was slightly confused by the myriad combinations of hideaway zipped pockets and also the zipped inner divider. Now I'm getting to know it better there's space for everything for my commute to work (even a banana goes unsquashed). The air venting on the back is excellent and the all round balance of the bag when full - and on your back - is terrific. Feels very light even when full.
Down side - expensive, but I did get a great deal on the Evans site compared to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rockraider
  • Staff

Good product

Posted21 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
This is a comfortable pack, the mesh back holds the load away from your back and also maximises airflow. The waist belt is comfortable, and the straps have lots of adjustability. Material is pretty water repellant, and a raincover is included as well. Nice features are light mounts on pack and raincover, and a helmet stash. My only gripe is the stitching pulled loose on one of the side pockets on first use, but I put this down to user error (ham-fistedness) as I've had no issues since. I like the separate compartment at the bottom cos you can keep waterproofs in it and still have a free main compartment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vaude Bike Alpine 25L 2012 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ruddles1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really practicable backpack

Posted17 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I brought this backpack after reading a review in a cycling magazine. I have used it in my commute to work and I am not disappointed. It is practicable due to the number of pockets it has. The main body can be split in to two compartments or used as one big one. I also like the way your back can breathe when using the backpack, as the load does not sit directly against your back. Really well designed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.