Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves

Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves

Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuartyboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light weight and great wearing

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, classreview lass
Another excellent product from gore bike wear these gloves are complete all round exceptional gloves , I have used and tried more expensive but none are in same level as these
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
massivemike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not quite usual GORE quality

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Well-priced at Evans so can't complain. If paid full price would be miffed. Windstopper back has plasticy feel. Although XXXL fingers are not long enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Entropyyh
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have ridden with these gloves now in hot and in light rain.
Highly recommend these gloves just for anything.
Only issue with me has been the size. Hand part fits perfectly, but the strap has too little adjustment to tighten the glove.
Good grip, nice look and very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PauliusA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent gloves for early Spring/late Autumn ride

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've only been to a couple of rides so far, both of them at around 7 degrees and relatively windy and I have to say that the gloves do everything that they are supposed to do; protect your hands from the elements.
The quality is up there with other Gore products i.e. excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scottishmamil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

smart gloves

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Usual gore quality. Seemed a bit tighter than I would normally like at first, but seem to have eased a bit and are now very comfortable. Not a thermal glove but are warm enough for milder days at the moment, 5 degrees plus.Thin enough to allow pushing buttons and undoing clips etc easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
windbreaker
Country:Croatia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great gloves

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Actually for me these are great pair of gloves even in winter condition. Since I have "warm" hands I cant stand true winter gloves and I use these lighter gloves during whole winter. I tried them at around 5°C and they were great; in same time I didn't felt cold wind and my hands were dry, without sweat. They looking great and looks like they were made with high quality. Although I took XXL size I should go with one number less (XL) for my size of hand (23 cm circle) I dont have any problem with them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pearson51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Warm fingers

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I acquired these gloves as I was fed up with numb fingers and chose these from Gore. Being a Gore product they are a quality pair of gloves which still allow for control at the bars and levers. They have not completely removed cold fingers, but the trips out are far more pleasant.
Would I recommend these gloves - 100%.....Its a yes from me!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shaunglo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The gloves are a perfect fit with a great balance of keeping your hands warm without being too hot.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thornrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So good you forget you are wearing them.

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, exact colour match to gore jacket
Cons: huge long washing care labels
Excellent fit and quality. Bought them in November when my hands were really freezing in the cold winds. Although not appearing particularly insulated they really work. At the end of the first ride I took them off and realised I hadn't even thought about my hands for the past two hours. Surely the sign of a product that does what it claims to do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
teamcooper75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Autumn glove only

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: non-waterproof
I bought this glove to cope with the demands of winter riding and I've come to the conclusion, this is probably just an excellent autumn glove as its good as a windstopper but gets wet like any other glove in the rain and cold in wintery conditions.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dald
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very light and very windproof

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really good gloves , very good fit and wind proof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rosvar204

Warm lightweight gloves for cool conditions.

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Really happy with these for the weather we have been having recently. Not really a winter glove but great for anything else.
Good fit (although I've needed to get an x-large) and comfy. They have less padding than most of my summer mitts but I really like the feel I get as a result on the drops and brakes.
Not sure they would survive me coming off very well but happy with them so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulW2020
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great in cooler weather

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Below 7 degrees my open fingered gloves are just too cold - especially with the wind chill on long steep descents.
But these have kept my hands warm - so far down to 3 degrees. My guess is below 1 degree you'd need something thicker.
Totally windproof and semi water proof too. But still breathable.
Sweat wipe on back of palm is handy too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fuzzy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good fit & performance

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I got these mainly for use on road rides where it was a bit chilly but didn't warrant full winter gloves. I'm always a bit wary of buying gloves online as fit can vary even between models from the same manufacturer but went for XL and the fit was very good. There's not much of a wrist cuff so that might create an annoying gap for air on a chilly day wearing long sleeves but other than that no complaints.
I actually ended up using them first on an MTB holiday (they are more an MTB glove anyway) and they were comfy even in the 30c heat on climbs as well as on fast long descents where the windstopper fabric probably helps.
Unfortunately a crash ended up ripping a big hole across the knuckles of one glove, should hopefully be ok once sewn up though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brastardo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Superb product , comfortable and warm
Great feedback to the fingers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RD41
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

well made and durable glove

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Better made than any other glove I have bought
Gore sizing always comes up small so went for a size bigger than usual
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wotee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good protection for MTB use

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Took 3 attempts to get the correct size so savings on list price almost lost on 2 sets of returns; however not Evans fault just the pitfalls of internet buying. Gloves are thick and provide good protection when riding narrow trails and brushing against spiky foliage. Windstopper material is also pretty waterproof so keeps you mostly dry through the odd shower. Nothing else to say, they do the job and I'm quite happy with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twizzle72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Happy on and off the road

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Purchased these to use on and off the road when the weather is too cold to wear thin gloves alone, but too warm to wear a full winter glove. As these keep the wind off, they're perfect - even in the rain. Unlike soft shell gloves, that get soggy when wet, these do not. Great fit, highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X SO Light Gloves
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent gloves, bit over-priced though.

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent gloves for mountain or road biking. Plenty of padding. Not too warm though so might want another thicker pair for winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.