Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Progel Mitts

Altura Progel Mitts

Overall rating:
4.214 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Altura Progel Mitts
Review 1 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CyclingCol67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great fit and good padding

PostedApril 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
These mitts are excellent. The gel padding provides excellent support even on longer rides (longest completed so far with them is around 80 miles). Also very lightweight so easy to pack into a jersey pocket for those days when you are not sure whether you need mitts or gloves with fingers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Len13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Nice mitts

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Close fitting well padded mitts. Sizing on the large size so try before you buy. Excellent mitts for warm weather that do a good job of reducing fatigue in hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Flash92
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Good product

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none so far
Bought product for the price and the padding. Been out on a couple of rides with it and it is great. Padding works and the strapless design is great for me. Also easy to take off with the extra tabs in place. Just waiting to see when they will begin to fall apart like other reviews have said in the past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
RAFGooner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent pair of Mitts

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Since buying a few other Altura products I have been a bit of a fan, so when my old mitts began to disintegrate I looked around and these caught my eye. The colour you see is exactly the shade you get (sometimes pictures deceive!!) The fit is good I normally go for extra large and these fit nicely without being to snug and they are very lightweight as well. There is a little bit of room in these but that is my preference. The padding is very good and also feels comfortable when riding. Overall very pleased with the purchase as they are the usual Altura quality and feel really good. I have put good value as I got them in the sale but the original price may not be!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ginelli
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfy on the hand but an initial squeeze to get on

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Very nice glove to ride with, but could do with a velcro fastener or other to loosen the opening when you're putting the glove on and off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
swcrawler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Well made. Lightweight and comfortable.

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have suffered from "dead" hands and occasionally pins and needles so I bought these mitts because they have thick gel pads. I have ridden quite long distances over roughish roads with no discomfort. They are well made and lightweight and look like they will last a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

This product is well recommended

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The gloves are nice and comfortable whilst riding,particularly over long distance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value Mitts which do the job perfectly

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I bought these as I suffered from pins and needles in my hands and up my arms after about 20 miles.
Not any more! The gel in the gloves smooths the vibrations from the bike and really help on the longer rides! Really good value product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gregster04
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Decent Value, comfortable Mitts

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I've probably clocked up a couple of hundred miles in these mitts now and so far I am happy with the quality, I can't see any obvious deterioration in them just yet.
I have found them to be comfortable to wear and superior to my previous gloves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stu381

PostedMay 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: dye fades quickly
A comfortable and good looking pair of gloves. Only downside is that the dye has faded after a few rides with the black pair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Davey60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable gloves

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Used these gloves on a 110km ride recently and they were very comfortable as I have come to expect from Altura mits. Easy to put on, they stay in place and the finger loops make for easy removal. Thought I might have missed the good old velcro strap on previous gloves but not a bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
simon59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

They fall to bits is a couple of rides

PostedAugust 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
This is my 2nd review, I wrote the first one after a few rides in which I commented about how hard the gel pockets were. These softened up after about 3 rides. The problem was the stitching on the thumb lasted about 6 short (28km) rides and then started to come apart.I assumed this was a manufacturing fault, returned them and got a 2nd pair. The 2nd pair had better gel pads, although one was almost devoid of any gel. This pair lasted 2 rides (c70km) before the stitching on one of the fingers started to come apart.
They may not be expected to last forever and they may not be the most expensive but the stitching on these appears to be very poor. So I will switch to a different glove.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dazj73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

No more palm pain

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these gloves in store they are extremely comfortable, easy to put on and remove thanks to the convenient tabs at the wrist and at the end of the index and middle fingers.
Extremely comfortable both on and off the bike, and the dull ache I had from the handle bars has now disappeared thanks to the thick (about 5mm) gel pads, they seem to have also cured the shoulder and neck pain i was getting from road vibrations.
Awesome mitts and a fantastic price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Progel Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
islandgirl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very Comfortable

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a lightweight comfortable glove with no wrist fastening. You just slip it on like a glove. A summer glove rather than a cold weather glove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.