Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts

Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts

Overall rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Review 1 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hoopers8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great padding where you need it

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought 3 pairs of the shorter leg version of these last year, they are brilliant my bum never feels any pain when on long cycle rides owing to the gel padding, hence I had to have the 3/4 leg version and no regrets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HunterMorgan1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Lovely!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Loved these - fitted well and are super comfortable to wear on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
kezza38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great comfort and fit

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Very comfortable over reasonable distances (upto 26 miles) and look fine. The seat pad is good quality and much more comfortable than others I have tried. They are a good length for me but I am 6 foot. The hip and waist area are generous. The panels are difficult to get straight but this does not cause any lack of performance or problems apart from asymmetrical looking legs!
Overall great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Equeco
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Poor fit

PostedOctober 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Uncomfortable
I was unpleasantly surprised with these 3/4 shorts. Having had and loved the Pro Gel shorts for a few years now, the 3/4 shorts are not up to the same standards. Things have gone pear shape in the Altura family.
The 3/4 shorts fit is poor. The inside seam of the right leg keeps pushing towards the outside so it looks bad from the onset (it happened on the originally size 12 and the size 10 shorts I then got). The size is way too lose. I have been a size 12 in cycling and urban clothes of all brands for the past 8 years. The size 12 of these shorts were so big that I had to downsize to 10 and they are still on the big size.For some reason the fabric becomes slippery on the saddle adding to the discomfort. The waist is way to high.
I can only praise the 3/4 length as they are what I was looking for, warmth wise, at this time of the year (Autumn).
I would not buy another pair nor recommend them to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Castler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great Value

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Good quality shorts, comfortable and nice to wear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
novicegirl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good padding but long legs

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Really comfortable seat. The legs are very long for a short person, so I would suggest if you are shorter than average, then you may wish to try them before buying.
The other thing is that mine have a twist in the leg, which doesn't affect the comfort or performance, however it is annoying. I should have taken them back for a replacement, however I had to wear them and didn't have time to wait for replacement to arrive.
My advice would be to not buy this item on line, but to try it in the shop if you can get there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KAT11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Comfortable and Practical - great

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought these when I got my bike at the shop and they were recommended in store. Really comfortable and stay put on my legs when cycling. Prefer these to cycling shorts being a bit bigger on the bottom and also with the change in weather. A great option
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
amy29

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
comfortable to wear, flatering high waist line, bit tight around the calves
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bella07
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good 3/4 shorts for those cooler days

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good for cooler days when full length are a bit too much. had difficulty with gel pad staying in place but otherwise fine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Br0mley
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very comfortable female cycling 3/4 lenght trousers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlackPudding
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love 'em!

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These pants have made all the difference to my ride! I'd never tried proper cycling shorts before (too fat!) but I got these in a size 14 and though I still look more like a black pudding than Victoria P! I don't feel half bad. They're ever so comfy, don't move around, and make my 40K rides so much easier. Am ordering some more, in a size 12 cos all this cycling is helping me lose weight!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fergie27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Comfortable

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Plenty of stretch, and good high waist, though slightly long in the leg for someone who is short but round!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Women's Progel 3/4 Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
melsrhinos75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Made a long ride Very comfortable!!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: size guide not quite true
The sizing is generous so if you are like me in between sizes go smaller. That said they made a very long ride very comfortable. The gel padding is brilliant and saves getting a very sore bum!
I cannot recommend this product highly enough!!....very good buy.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.