Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike

Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mikelos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Most comfortable bicycle I've ever ridden!

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
You'd be forgiven for thinking that this bicycle would be as bit of a heavy, cumbersome thing, but nothing could be further from their truth!
Agile, well braked, and with great reliable componentry, and as lovely upright riding position that does wonders for my knackered back!
Definetly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LapLane3ten
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Retro and fun: the unique Parabike!

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, unique style
Cons: Heavy
I purchased this bike primarily as I wanted a bike to go into town on; my road and mountain bikes are too precious to risk leaving at the mercy and vagaries of town-center life. I wanted also a bike of character and hence chose the Pashley Parabike. I love the retro style, the curves and the aged Brooks saddle. The ride is surprisingly easy and the upright position very relaxed. Comparatively, the bike is heavy but as such feels reassuringly solid and robust. My only minor criticism is that when peddling and steering at the same time it is possible to catch the rear of the front wheel mud guard with your toe so there is a geometry compromise here. Having said that, the bike is for practical and relaxing rides so all in all this is a small bug to bear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
davidwd1306

comfortable long distance commuter

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: chain guard poor quality.
Really pleased with this bike, bought it because my racer and atb were causing problems with my shoulders and wrists due to the pressure on them. With this bike you sit completely upright it is extremely comfortable and has a riding position similar to bikes of the 1920's. Well built, looks great, really grows on you. I use it as a training bike to keep fit and commuting.
The only dissapointment was the chainguard, it is quite thin and will bend easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
badbusdriver

Its a lovely bike, but.......

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
Make sure you know it is suitable for what you want out of a bike!. I admit, I was seduced by the parabike's looks, who wouldn't be, it really is a fantastic looking machine, very cool and retro, without appearing to be trying too hard. But, for me, and believe me, it is hard for me to say this, but it just isn't that enjoyable to ride. There are a few reasons for this, which I will run through.
1, Size. The bike feels small to me, and slightly cramped. It is stated as being a 19" frame, which is the same size as my current bike, so i am a little confused by how it feels, especially seeing as i am only 5'9".
2, The weight. I read, slightly suspiciously if I'm honest, of the weight being quoted as 13kg. Given that this is a traditionally constructed, steel framed machine with hub gears and brakes, I thought 13kg was a little unlikely, After doing a rudimentary 'bathroom scales' test, I would suggest it is more like 15kg, and while I realise that isn't the end of the world, it actually feels heavier still. I am coming from a ridgeback velocity, which I believe would be 12.5-13kg, but it feels much lighter to ride than the parabike.
3, The gears. I felt reasonably confident that I would manage fine with 5 gears, given how I only used 6 or 7 of the gears in my ridgeback for at least 90% of the time. But the gears on the parabike are not evenly spaced, resulting in situations like my being on a recent cycle, going up a relatively gentle hill and not having a suitable gear, 1st being too low, but 2nd was just too big a jump. Also, i have read before with hub gears that you lose a certain amount of power through friction of the internal gearing. I didn't think this would be that noticeable, but it is (to me anyway).
4, The saddle. I have wanted to try a brooks saddle for years, so was well chuffed to see that the parabike, like all pashleys, came with a brooks saddle, a b67 in this case, complete with proper springs. But, again, i just didn't feel it was particularly comfortable, certainly compared to the specialized expedition saddle i have on my ridgeback. But in this case, i am well aware that saddles are a very personal thing and over the years i have not had much luck with them, so maybe that's just me, maybe im an odd shape!.
So, overall, this may seem like a very negative review, but i think it may just be down to the type of bike i am used to, and the type of riding i do. For someone living in a town or city, and who only uses their bike for shorter runs or cruises, the parabike could very well be a perfect bike. It looks fantastic, is very cool, is very low maintenance, and with its mudguards and chainguard, you don't need to get changed to ride it. But unfortunately for me, it just hasn't met my expectations, so i am currently contemplating selling it to either update the running gear of my ridgeback, or buy another bike of a similar nature. Of course i might just keep it and hang it on my living room wall!.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mike365
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality bike. No world record speed breaker.

PostedJune 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I just bought this bike. I was using a full suspension mountain bike so I will compare the two.
First, despite what Evans say, there is no way this bike is 13Kg. Maybe 31kg. She's a big old girl. Noticeably heavier to pick up than the mountain bike. Easily the heaviest bike I have ever owned.
Its a well finished product. The only thing that annoys me about it is a quick release saddle. It doesn't have quick release wheels so why an expensive quick release saddle? This is an act of design stupidity and means you always need additional cable to tie the saddle up as well as the bike. Who needs to adjust their saddle at a moments notice on a bike like this?
My last grumble is the handle bars are so wide, I have only 5mm of space getting it in and out of my alleyway so I'm scratching the brake levers badly. Another cm and I don't know where I would keep it. But that's a problem specific to me.
The bike is really smooth to ride. It doesn't absorb bumps quite as well as the suspension bike, but kind of glides along nicely.
Speed wise it is very comparable. I cycled a mile and back on both bikes and there was very little in it time wise (a few seconds over 5 minutes each way) for similar effort.
Top speed is a little higher on the mountain bike (thanks iPhone), I'm guessing because you are sat up so much, so you are a bit less aerodynamic on the parabike. I think on the flat, the thinner tyres and smooth momentum made the parabike a bit quicker so the times came out the same.
Its slightly easier to turn sharply on the parabike. I had to negotiate a zigzag motorway bridge in both directions and its easier on the pb. The brakes are way better on the pb. The gears have a good range. The lightest isn't anywhere near the lightest on a mountain bike but I never use those very low spin gears anyway. The firmest gear is about the same. The sturmley archer gears are a bit of a pain to set up the first time, but once done they give you no grief. Never again will the chain come off at the lights.
I'm a 35 year old guy with a square jaw and a bulging six-pack. I wanted something classic and had reservations this might be a bit girly. But I look awesome on it. Its quite compact with a short wheel base and so doesn't look like some old iron horse. I haven't found a good helmet for it. All helmets look ridiculous with it. But in my sun hat, I'm quite the gent around town. And that's what you buy this bike for. Cos it looks great and its easy to use. I also suspect its very unappealing to steal if you are a ratbag adolescent with a penchant for taking things that don't belong to you.
I will be using it to cycle to and from work. (10 miles each way).
As for Evans, they did everything except send me an e-mail on the morning of delivery. Luckily I was in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Karen123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Ideal

PostedApril 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought this for my son. Traditional bike which is well built. Ideal for roads but also for tracks. Ideal for what he was after.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daviddwd

Great all-rounder

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this for commuting, but it is so comfortable and capable off road that i use it all the time and hardly ever use my mountain bike any more. It is so nice to arrive clean and dry, the full length mudguards and chainguard means i can cycle into town without ruining a decent pair of jeans. The 5 speed gears have a good range for up hills or fast riding. And it feels tough yet light. The biggest plus is the riding position - upright and comfortable no more back and shoulder pain. I love this bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CityPootler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Love this bike!

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I was looking for an all-round, low maintenance city bike that also had character and the Parabike absolutely fits the bill.
The hub gears and brakes are practically maintenance-free, the five gears are more than adequate to get me up the decentish hill I climb every evening on the way home and it is such a comfortable ride - the wide 26" tyres and the sprung Brooks saddle absorb pretty much anything that Manchester's streets throw at me. The cruiser-style handlebars also also provide for a comfy, upright ride, though they are quite wide and can be tricky to squeeze between some of the narrower gaps drivers leave us in city traffic.
What's more - it looks fantastic, with its unique, oval frame, drawing admiring looks in particular from aficionados of the vintage bike. At 13kg it's light enough to carry if need be, and the braze-ons are compatible with standard racks for carrying panniers.
All told a perfect, classy city ride. Am definitely chuffed with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
doctort
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Gorgeous bike

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A bike which is about as pretty as it gets while also being surprisingly light and having a unique lineage. Because of the upright sitting position the best is brought out of the Brooks saddle and I would say this is the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. Seeing pictures of the equivalent 1944 version of this bike on D-Day beaches just adds to the appeal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rhino49
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I love my Pashley Parabike

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Needed a general purpose cycle for commuting, shopping and exploring and this does everything with a dash of style and great comfort. I used Pashley cycles for many years as a postman so I know how dependable they are and that influenced my choice somewhat. The purchasing online and delivery experience with Evans matched my delight with the Parabike and I have since ordered accessories to go with it as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.