Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike

Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

A classic

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
We've all been there, pinned beneath the fleshy folds of a fellow commuter who has forsaken personal hygiene for personal growth, pinned against the window of the bus by an elbow, forced to listen to the inane mobile phone chitterings of fellow commuters who seem terrified of ever being left alone with their own thoughts. Tin hissing of music coming from somewhere at the back, cigarette smoke, drunks, screaming children, the crushing weight of our failed dreams.
This was my life for two and a half hours, give or take, every day. Or at least it would have been, until, only a mere 200 or so years after it's invention, I got myself a bicycle.
And what a bike. The Pashley Parabike is as handsome as they come. Calling back to a simpler time of manners, teapots, starched collars and cobblestones, The Pashley Parabike is the epitome of Traditional British style. Very few journeys go by where I'm not interrupted with a compliment. It's a machine of elegance and grace. When propped on the saddle, in the sit up and beg position, one can't help but to look at the world as something to be conquered, to look at the land as your own, to ride upon and admire.
The bike is inevitably and incredibly well made. Pashley are known for their quality, and though this machine is at the lower end of their prices, the Parabike is built with the same care and attention as their top range cycles. The bike feels strong, like a fathers embrace. From the Brooks saddle to the puncture resistant tyres, each component is selected for quality.
Some may find it a little heavy, but this is the bike on which empires were built, realms defended, daughters abducted by criminal gangs rescued. Since I bought my Parabike I've actually seen my dead dads face in the clouds, smiling down at me, proud. Coincidence?
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Cycling heaven

Posted08 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Firstly, the Parabike is well made and is very nice to look at. When you get aboard the first thing obvious is the completely different riding position. I've ridden racers, numerous mountain bikes and compared to the Parabike they were all instruments of torture. It must be my build (long bodied) but on other bikes I always had far too much weight on my wrists, but with the parabikes wide swept back handlebars my wrist are in a much more comfortable position. The saddle was also comfortable from the first ride and has only got better since. (I've had the bike 3 weeks so far).
The Sturmey Archer gears initially flummoxed me because all I had ridden since being a kid were derailleur equipped bikes. Once I remembered you had to ease off pedalling when changing it all became smooth.
The drum brakes are sufficient to bring you to a stop but they are not strong enough to lock the wheel which is probably a good thing. I am led to believe they get stronger as they bed in.
Overall I can safely say its the most enjoyable bike I've ever owned.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

A retro classic that is a delight to ride

Posted07 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, a classic british bike
I have just come back from a leisurely ride in the early spring sunshine and this Pashley has reminded me yet again that a bike is a brilliant machine and riding one makes it feel good to be alive.
This is a lovely bike. It glides along, is very comfortable and is quite nippy, despite its solid feel. The riding position inspires confidence - it was actually a pleasure to ride home through the London traffic after I picked it up from the Victoria store.
I bought this bike on the n + 1 principle of bike ownership (n being the number you already own). I needed / wanted another bike in addition to my road bike, with its mandatory Lycra and boringly frequent punctures.
This was a good choice. I was worried about the weight but it is fine. I was worried about the gears but they have got me up all the hills where I live. And the Schwalbe "flat-less" tyres seem to shrug off all the horrible sharp stuff that usually spoils my rides.
It is undoubtedly a British classic and if you are looking for a bike for leisurely outings - with the emphasis on leisurely - it is definitely worth considering.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

A unique cycle

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A totally different experience to the usual run of road bikes.
Extremely comfortable "sit up and beg" position which allows a relaxed view of the world.
Good quality and unique frame construction with an excellent paint finish.
Enclosed hub gears and brakes for low maintenance.
The gear ratios appear well chosen but the bike is overgeared for hilly areas. I have changed the chainwheel from a 46T to 42T which transforms the bike for my locale.
The Brooke's aged saddle is very comfortable from the off.
Not a light bike at 16.9 Kg including pedals but I'm sure it will be around for many years.
I have found customer service from Pashley to be excellent.
The only downside on delivery was slight scratches to the top of the stem which will be replaced during the first service.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Most comfortable bicycle I've ever ridden!

Posted30 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
You'd be forgiven for thinking that this bicycle would be as bit of a heavy, cumbersome thing, but nothing could be further from their truth!
Agile, well braked, and with great reliable componentry, and as lovely upright riding position that does wonders for my knackered back!
Definetly recommended.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Retro and fun: the unique Parabike!

Posted11 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, unique style
Cons: Heavy
I purchased this bike primarily as I wanted a bike to go into town on; my road and mountain bikes are too precious to risk leaving at the mercy and vagaries of town-center life. I wanted also a bike of character and hence chose the Pashley Parabike. I love the retro style, the curves and the aged Brooks saddle. The ride is surprisingly easy and the upright position very relaxed. Comparatively, the bike is heavy but as such feels reassuringly solid and robust. My only minor criticism is that when peddling and steering at the same time it is possible to catch the rear of the front wheel mud guard with your toe so there is a geometry compromise here. Having said that, the bike is for practical and relaxing rides so all in all this is a small bug to bear.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

comfortable long distance commuter

Posted13 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: chain guard poor quality.
Really pleased with this bike, bought it because my racer and atb were causing problems with my shoulders and wrists due to the pressure on them. With this bike you sit completely upright it is extremely comfortable and has a riding position similar to bikes of the 1920's. Well built, looks great, really grows on you. I use it as a training bike to keep fit and commuting.
The only dissapointment was the chainguard, it is quite thin and will bend easily.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its a lovely bike, but.......

Posted09 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
Make sure you know it is suitable for what you want out of a bike!. I admit, I was seduced by the parabike's looks, who wouldn't be, it really is a fantastic looking machine, very cool and retro, without appearing to be trying too hard. But, for me, and believe me, it is hard for me to say this, but it just isn't that enjoyable to ride. There are a few reasons for this, which I will run through.
1, Size. The bike feels small to me, and slightly cramped. It is stated as being a 19" frame, which is the same size as my current bike, so i am a little confused by how it feels, especially seeing as i am only 5'9".
2, The weight. I read, slightly suspiciously if I'm honest, of the weight being quoted as 13kg. Given that this is a traditionally constructed, steel framed machine with hub gears and brakes, I thought 13kg was a little unlikely, After doing a rudimentary 'bathroom scales' test, I would suggest it is more like 15kg, and while I realise that isn't the end of the world, it actually feels heavier still. I am coming from a ridgeback velocity, which I believe would be 12.5-13kg, but it feels much lighter to ride than the parabike.
3, The gears. I felt reasonably confident that I would manage fine with 5 gears, given how I only used 6 or 7 of the gears in my ridgeback for at least 90% of the time. But the gears on the parabike are not evenly spaced, resulting in situations like my being on a recent cycle, going up a relatively gentle hill and not having a suitable gear, 1st being too low, but 2nd was just too big a jump. Also, i have read before with hub gears that you lose a certain amount of power through friction of the internal gearing. I didn't think this would be that noticeable, but it is (to me anyway).
4, The saddle. I have wanted to try a brooks saddle for years, so was well chuffed to see that the parabike, like all pashleys, came with a brooks saddle, a b67 in this case, complete with proper springs. But, again, i just didn't feel it was particularly comfortable, certainly compared to the specialized expedition saddle i have on my ridgeback. But in this case, i am well aware that saddles are a very personal thing and over the years i have not had much luck with them, so maybe that's just me, maybe im an odd shape!.
So, overall, this may seem like a very negative review, but i think it may just be down to the type of bike i am used to, and the type of riding i do. For someone living in a town or city, and who only uses their bike for shorter runs or cruises, the parabike could very well be a perfect bike. It looks fantastic, is very cool, is very low maintenance, and with its mudguards and chainguard, you don't need to get changed to ride it. But unfortunately for me, it just hasn't met my expectations, so i am currently contemplating selling it to either update the running gear of my ridgeback, or buy another bike of a similar nature. Of course i might just keep it and hang it on my living room wall!.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality bike. No world record speed breaker.

Posted22 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I just bought this bike. I was using a full suspension mountain bike so I will compare the two.
First, despite what Evans say, there is no way this bike is 13Kg. Maybe 31kg. She's a big old girl. Noticeably heavier to pick up than the mountain bike. Easily the heaviest bike I have ever owned.
Its a well finished product. The only thing that annoys me about it is a quick release saddle. It doesn't have quick release wheels so why an expensive quick release saddle? This is an act of design stupidity and means you always need additional cable to tie the saddle up as well as the bike. Who needs to adjust their saddle at a moments notice on a bike like this?
My last grumble is the handle bars are so wide, I have only 5mm of space getting it in and out of my alleyway so I'm scratching the brake levers badly. Another cm and I don't know where I would keep it. But that's a problem specific to me.
The bike is really smooth to ride. It doesn't absorb bumps quite as well as the suspension bike, but kind of glides along nicely.
Speed wise it is very comparable. I cycled a mile and back on both bikes and there was very little in it time wise (a few seconds over 5 minutes each way) for similar effort.
Top speed is a little higher on the mountain bike (thanks iPhone), I'm guessing because you are sat up so much, so you are a bit less aerodynamic on the parabike. I think on the flat, the thinner tyres and smooth momentum made the parabike a bit quicker so the times came out the same.
Its slightly easier to turn sharply on the parabike. I had to negotiate a zigzag motorway bridge in both directions and its easier on the pb. The brakes are way better on the pb. The gears have a good range. The lightest isn't anywhere near the lightest on a mountain bike but I never use those very low spin gears anyway. The firmest gear is about the same. The sturmley archer gears are a bit of a pain to set up the first time, but once done they give you no grief. Never again will the chain come off at the lights.
I'm a 35 year old guy with a square jaw and a bulging six-pack. I wanted something classic and had reservations this might be a bit girly. But I look awesome on it. Its quite compact with a short wheel base and so doesn't look like some old iron horse. I haven't found a good helmet for it. All helmets look ridiculous with it. But in my sun hat, I'm quite the gent around town. And that's what you buy this bike for. Cos it looks great and its easy to use. I also suspect its very unappealing to steal if you are a ratbag adolescent with a penchant for taking things that don't belong to you.
I will be using it to cycle to and from work. (10 miles each way).
As for Evans, they did everything except send me an e-mail on the morning of delivery. Luckily I was in.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Ideal

Posted19 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought this for my son. Traditional bike which is well built. Ideal for roads but also for tracks. Ideal for what he was after.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all-rounder

Posted25 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this for commuting, but it is so comfortable and capable off road that i use it all the time and hardly ever use my mountain bike any more. It is so nice to arrive clean and dry, the full length mudguards and chainguard means i can cycle into town without ruining a decent pair of jeans. The 5 speed gears have a good range for up hills or fast riding. And it feels tough yet light. The biggest plus is the riding position - upright and comfortable no more back and shoulder pain. I love this bike!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Love this bike!

Posted07 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I was looking for an all-round, low maintenance city bike that also had character and the Parabike absolutely fits the bill.
The hub gears and brakes are practically maintenance-free, the five gears are more than adequate to get me up the decentish hill I climb every evening on the way home and it is such a comfortable ride - the wide 26" tyres and the sprung Brooks saddle absorb pretty much anything that Manchester's streets throw at me. The cruiser-style handlebars also also provide for a comfy, upright ride, though they are quite wide and can be tricky to squeeze between some of the narrower gaps drivers leave us in city traffic.
What's more - it looks fantastic, with its unique, oval frame, drawing admiring looks in particular from aficionados of the vintage bike. At 13kg it's light enough to carry if need be, and the braze-ons are compatible with standard racks for carrying panniers.
All told a perfect, classy city ride. Am definitely chuffed with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Gorgeous bike

Posted16 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A bike which is about as pretty as it gets while also being surprisingly light and having a unique lineage. Because of the upright sitting position the best is brought out of the Brooks saddle and I would say this is the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. Seeing pictures of the equivalent 1944 version of this bike on D-Day beaches just adds to the appeal.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pashley Parabike Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I love my Pashley Parabike

Posted14 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Needed a general purpose cycle for commuting, shopping and exploring and this does everything with a dash of style and great comfort. I used Pashley cycles for many years as a postman so I know how dependable they are and that influenced my choice somewhat. The purchasing online and delivery experience with Evans matched my delight with the Parabike and I have since ordered accessories to go with it as well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.