Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Tumble and Fall Pro1200L Front Light

Tumble and Fall Pro1200L Front Light

Machined from grade A 6063 aluminium and featuring 3 power levels (1,200, 600 and flashing) and five-stage fuel gauge. The on/off button changes colour as the charge is depleted and acts as the fuel gauge. Mounting is quick and easy with a simple silicone O-ring securing the main unit to the bars.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Tumble and Fall Pro1200L Front Light
Review 1 for Tumble and Fall Pro1200L Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sinetheta
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Fantastic, best light for the price

Posted15 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: simple the best
I commute 18 miles each morning at 5.30am and the same distance during the evenings at 4.30pm. I therefore need a light to get me through the winter months. I must say that the Tumble and Fall Pro1200L is the best light I've come across. (I've used rechargeable lights by Cateye, Nukeproof and LED Lenser previously). I was recently hit by a driver pulling out of a junction whilst I was riding with a 900 lumen light and therefore very safety conscious these days. This light throws out 1200 lumens and cars simply can't miss you - I do get the occasional flashes from drivers - but I can put up with that knowing that I can be seen. It has an excellent beam pattern, both spot and flood, two constant and one flashing mode and all easily operated by one switch. What I like about this light is that it flashes on 1200 lumens whereas other lights flash on their weaker settings. I've got the light mounted on my helmet using Tumble and Falls' own helmet mount. Overall an excellent bit of equipment which I would recommend to anyone.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tumble and Fall Pro1200L Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JNeail
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright but cheaply made

Posted07 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Good lamp, great performer but....
Positives:
- Very bright
- Good distance (spot) on full power
- Lights up the area in front of you as well
- Cheap to buy
- Lamp it's self seems well made
Negatives:
- Cheap thin power cable
- The power LED is always on unless you disconnect the battery
- Hard to click connect the battery connector i.e. connect the lamp to the battery - I suspect this will be the first thing that breaks!
- The battery is not sealed and the cover is fabric..?
- Poor Velcro strap leaves battery able to move about
- Rubber band connectors to secure lamp on your bars isn't great - lamp moves and the beam drops - constantly having to re-position
Would I buy again - No
Happy I have? - Yes - Cheap lamp as a 2nd light to my aging Cateye R2
Expect it to last - No
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tumble and Fall Pro1200L Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jwryder
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light output

Posted23 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My friends and I do a lot of night riding and with daylight becoming less and less have put the lights back on the bikes. I recently purchased the tumble and fall 1200l and so we've all been comparing lights! My brother has a cateye r2 and exposure joystick mk5 with white eye and a couple have hope lights, all of which cost more than twice the amount of this light! We found the tumble and fall was a lot brighter than all of them and works well on the trails, it's easy to fit and easy to charge and lasts more than 3 hours on full brightness!! Great buy, great price!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tumble and Fall Pro1200L Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stu666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Light first class, attachments not

Posted14 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, compact, good illumination
Cons: poor attachemnt system, lamp rotates around handlebars, dubious longevity
I have had this lamp set for 6 months. So far:
Good
Lamp is very good. I use this light for mixed commuting (country lanes, off road and London streets). As mentioned by others, the flashing light can be too bright and I have had motorist complain. However, conversely the main beam is excellent and great for bombing down unlit lanes or off road use. The battery life is perfectly acceptable and you get ample warning of drop off through the colour changes in the LED switch.
Not so good
The Velcro fixing on the battery pack started to come adrift (unstitched) after a few days use and the pack even fell off a couple of times. Better instructions would help here. Also it does not fit retro bikes without A-headsets very well or thin top tubes. Additionally the lamp moves around the handlebars on rough roads or X country and this is exacerbated when it is wet as the water appears to act as a lubricant. More recently I have noticed that the outer casing on the cable to the connector for power pack is splitting where it flexes next to the connector.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tumble and Fall Pro1200L Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jubeman
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

so bright - too bright in fact

Posted01 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, bright as!
Cons: flasher is too bright at night
At 1200 lumens, this light is the brightest light i've ever seen or owned.
At night it absolutely lights up everything in front very brightly and I actually rarely use the full power unless I hit a stretch of road/bike path with no lighting. I could imagine it would blind other cyclists coming the other way, but good thing you can halve the output with one easy press on the big glowing button on the back of the light. The 600L half power is sufficient brightness on it's own.
The full power mode is so bright, even in early dusk conditions, it lights up the distant road signs so brightly, it must freak out the other motorists on the road. I bet off road dudes would love this.
I can't actually use the flashing mode at night as it flashes at 1200L and it just about gives me an epilectic fit. It's just too bright off the road. So I only use this mode during daylight hours on the commute, where I don't notice it, but I'm going to be noticed.
I like the changing colour of the power button, roughly giving an indication of how much power is left, with 4 levels. It can be inconsistent as it shows blue for example with full power on, but green (eg more power left) when on half power. I presume it's estimating how much capacity is left on the level of power used.
I can certainly recommend this if you want make night time like day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tumble and Fall Pro1200L Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
designerphill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

seem good

Posted16 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
not had a chance to properly test this but what i can say is they charge quickly the intelligent charger is compact the only strange thing is the light on the button seems to be always on when the light is connected to the battery simple solution disconnect. even if the rumours are true it been a magic shine it seems fine but only time will tell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tumble and Fall Pro1200L Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Benji90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant light, brilliant price.

Posted11 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, very bright
Very reliable, easy to use, extremely bright and comparably cheap compared to other lights on the market of similar (or lower!) lumen value. Definitely a buy that I (and anyone thinking of buying this light) won't regret!
One additional point worth making to those with other tumble&fall products is that this light is worth the extra cost compared to the lower lumen Tumble & Fall model - as it is a lot brighter!
The only slight downside is that the attachment utilises a rubber o-ring which has a tendency to slip when going over bumps at speed causing the light to slip downwards and thus require constant adjustment - however once again the light is incredible for this value so as the only downslide I would let this one downside slip..
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tumble and Fall Pro1200L Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kiosuku
Country:Japan
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Amazing brightness

Posted08 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I am a Japanese.
Because I am awfully weak in English, I think that a sentence is hard to read, but please draw it up.
This light is splendid in brightness, a light distribution range, waterproofing, lightness.
It will be gone that you feel uneasiness even for a course without the brightness.
The brightness of this 1200 lumen doesn't have to feel uneasiness in brightness at hand immediately even if I light up 30m ahead.
In being surprised, you will feel warmth with the brightness of the light.
The fixation power with the handle doesn't feel uneasiness. The size is compact and is satisfied very much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.