Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set

Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set

Overall rating:
3.546 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Review 1 for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chewy1876
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for safety

Posted11 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: none
This is a good addition to a town or city cyclist's bike. The front & rear facing LED's provide good light to warn cars & pedestrians of your whereabouts. The indicator function is also a very good addition to hand signals. They are easy to fit & the quality feels good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
CyclingWanderer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice idea - poor quality product

Posted04 November 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, poor fit, poor light illumination
First of all let me say I cannot fault the service from Evans Cycles
Unfortunately whilst the product is great in theory, in practice the implementation is awful.
Before ordering I checked and double checked that this would fit my handlebars, well it doesn't :(
The light and battery will go inside the handlebar fine, however the plastic holder only fits 1/3rd of the way. Be aware you will need (like mine) a minimum of a 20mm handlebar interior clearance.
Want to return and get my moneyback on these, again not EC fault, but a horribly poor product which shouldn't be sold !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
tom1976
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Nice idea, poor implementation

Posted29 October 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I have two drop-handlebar bikes and this item fitted neither of them, and I managed to break the mounting tube while trying to fit it. I will attempt to jerry-rig using some Sugru or something.
The switches are flakey. After switching off it can take multiple presses to get the light to come back on again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LMB68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

The Brighter the Better

Posted09 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I included these lights in to my CycleScheme package so as to have them pre-fitted. I love them. Although you can't replace a good headlamp the feeling of extra visibility is so reassuring. I also get a lot of glances from both cyclists and motorists. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
biggbiggbigg
Country:Hong Kong

Posted05 September 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
the switches not operate very well. I cannot switch off the light when I was pressing the switch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent design.

Posted02 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The Lumos is a brilliant design for a road bike to have "emergency" lights, for those days when you are caught out without full headlamps. They are small and lightweight. They even come with a cap, so that if you need to lighten-up you can take off the light, and plug the hole in the end of your drops. But even complete they are pretty light, as they only take a single AA cell, which hides inside the bar-end.
I would even argue that as an emergency light, where the main objective is to be seen, a pair of these could be split over two bikes (which I am going to try on a tour this month, for backup).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
oldgit1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

only fit handle bars of the correct diamter

Posted09 July 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
look likes a good product only find out don t fit handle bar after taken out of box will work well if i could fit them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TobyB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great lights for a little extra safety

Posted27 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I've had these lights for about a week now and have noticed a reduction in cars that pull out in front of me from side streets. They're not that bright so you still need a main beam but great so cars can see where there edges of your bike are. I think a couple of the Evans staff at Manchester were even considering buying some after seeing them fitted on my bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pina
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice and Affordable

Posted08 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Just installed this 2 weeks ago. Product well made and I was surprised that I could use it as left or right turn amber indicators (the advert blurb was entirely clear). Switch to change modes a bit stiff, but I attributed that to a robust construction rather than design flaw. Installation took 5 minutes. Recommended if you ride very early in the AM like me, or at night.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Contador
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great additional lights

Posted16 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The lights are only good for adding additional visibility to other road users. Surprisingly the front lights are quite dazzling for their size, the rear lights would benefit from being a bit brighter though but overall good. They were easy to fit onto my Specialized road bike and have given me no problems so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tacx Lumos Front and Rear Handlebar LED Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
adeh
Country:United Kingdom

Decent backup lights

Posted20 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Unattractive
These fit in the bar ends and offer a relatively weak forward light and a rear light. The indicators are gimmicky and I never use them. I use them as additional commuting lights - I don't think they'd cut it as your only set of lights
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.