Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mountain Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Rocky Mountain Element 50 2012 Mountain Bike

Rocky Mountain Element 50 2012 Mountain Bike

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(5 reviews) 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 5 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
5 out of 5(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Rocky Mountain Element 50 2012 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Rocky Mountain Element 50 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ElevenEleven
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Much better looking in the flesh...

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: bars and stem not right
This bike is stunning! I have just picked it up today from the NCC store and I can't stop looking at it as it's so beautiful. I've taken it for a ride tonight and rides like a dream, really smooth suspension, gear changes.
The finish in the flesh is way better than it looks on the site. It really is a head turner and is a little bit different than the usual Trek, Specialised, etc.
The only thing I would change though is the bars are very wide. Much too wide for my preference of riding so I am going to have to cut them down or get some different ones. I also think the 90mm stem is too short so am changing it for a 120mm. This is only personal preference though as I prefer a more aggressive straight down XC position with narrow bars (a nod to my old school XC days).
It really is an awesome bike. The spec is very good with the XT drivetrain and DT Swiss wheelset.
Overall a fabulous bike and one that will keep me smiling for a long time.
The service at Evans was also very good, even though the store at that time was very busy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ElevenEleven
 
Please wait while more information about ElevenEleven is loaded.
Additional information about ElevenEleven could not be loaded.
P.S
Posted January 8, 2014
One thing I forgot to say is that I agree with one of the other comment in that the paint chips easily. Make sure you get a Crud Catcher asap and a chainstay protector as both of these will help protect the frame.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Rocky Mountain Element 50 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
whatisthisfor

agile & accurate

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very capable at high speed / descents and exceptional slow speed manoeuvrability. The bike comes well spec’d but not with components which will be ridiculously expensive to replace. I initially thought that the tyres would be unsuitable for mud/wet but I was not let down by loss of traction (no more than my riding partners with mud specific tyres). It is not built heavy (no beefy axles, moderate travel, etc.) but does not leave you wanting more. I’m 179cm and would not recommend an 18” for anyone taller. It could be lighter and come with better bits; but I could say that about myself as well.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rocky Mountain Element 50 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hughsie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good alround bike

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I had a couple of initial problems with this which Evans sorted out satisfactly.
Overall the bike is good value for money with good responsive gearing.
Wheels seem a little flimsy as they buckled slightly with only light use on the road but seem to be holding up after a few off road trips after a few months use now so maybe just the bedding in process.
Overall a good bike which also looks good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rocky Mountain Element 50 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scouti
Country:France
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A versatile bike

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
The rocky mountain element 50 is a good value overall.
It pedals very efficiently and that's all the more apreciable when you are climbing. It is very comfortable and descends well.
The cons are that the steering is quite reactive and it's sometimes tricky when you are climbing steeply at very low speed.
The wheels are not the lightests but are very efficient and seems reasonably strong.
Rocky Mountain has made a good choice with a front disc in 180mm.
Rocky Moutain does not handbuilt it's bikes anymore but they are still quite expensive in regard with the equipment it offers. At the price on Evans cycle website it's a good bargain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rocky Mountain Element 50 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RitchieW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Fantastic Bike

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Had for about 6 weeks - absolutley love it, climbs really well, descends really well, great spec for the price, only issue is paint finish, seems to chip really easy, 2 chips in the frame and I havent dropped it yet.
Other than the paint finish over the moon with the bike - only real complaint is that Evans dont have a demo that can be taken out prior to purchasing.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.