Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts

Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts

Overall rating:
4.808 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 26(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Review 1 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Edvard
Country:Slovenia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Excellent bib shorts

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
When i thought that nothing can beat my Skins bib shorts i realized that this Castelli Aero race bib shorts with its padding are excellent. After 3 hours on the bike i felt excellent without any pain on my buttocks.
This progetto X2 padding is really excellent. Like sitting on my sofa.
I am 1,75 high and 70 kg with waist 84 cm and M size fits perfect.
I have Skins bibs size S that fits perfect too. So take normal size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Christo33
Country:Australia
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great nicks but sizing is a shade small

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: sizing
These were a great buy and the quality is noticeably better than others of comparable price (they were on special). The sizing however is on the small size, and while I normally were Medium, I should have gone a size larger with these. Oh well, never mind the fit, feel the style, ha, ha.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Serdar
Country:Turkey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent pad, very comfortable bib short

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great quality product. Definitely most comfortable bibshort I have ever had. I rode 180km about 6 hours and I was totally satisfied. But choosing the correct size may be problematic. I wear L in Pearl Izumi & Altura, XL in Santini but for Castelli XXL fitted well. Before you purchase try it in a store or go one size up. If you failed don't worry Evans is good to exchange.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nathand20

Comfortable

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
A little pricey, but you get what you pay for. Very happy with the quality as expected from Castelli
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ken46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Quality Bib Shorts

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
It's no coincidence why these shorts receive top reviews time and time again, Castelli have simply produced a great product. Yes they are expensive but I find the extra comfort a small price to pay over most of the cheaper shorts I have tried.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pd77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Probably the best shorts I've brought. I'm 5ft 9, and 10st 5 and the medium fits perfect. Used these on over 100 mile rides with no problem at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Chris156
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High Quality. Great Fit. Rides fast.

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Material quality is excellent. Fit is really good. Leg grips very effective. Colours and stitching make appealing look.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
RowdyinOZ
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic bibshorts - aggresive sizing

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I spent some time researching the reviews around before selecting my size, and fortunately got it bang on. I'm 6ft (184cm) and 72kg which means the Castelli Large fits me perfectly and snuggly. I've worn these on 150km rides in 40+ degC and they've been fantastically comfortable. The leg trim feels really comfortable and the chamois is great.
The look good and make you feel good. Quality is really good and the fabric feels really nice.
No complaints. Would purchase again definitely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Cookie2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfy and great looking bib shorts

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Some might think they are a bit flashy but I really like the look of them.
Most importantly though is that they are super comfy - no discomfort after a 120km ride last weekend. Only done one ride in them so cannot comment on durability.
Size up - I'm 180cm, 76kgs and XL was spot on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Badger15
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Snug & comfortable

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
As long as you remember to order one size up from your usual size (usual Italian small sizing), these are excellent shorts. They fit 'snug' but you quickly forget you are wearing them and the pad is fantastic - nothing like the usual discomfort in the sit bones after a 120km ride. Not sure how they'll hold up to wear & washing but doesn't seem to be a problem so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Wiresplitter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent - really comfy

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I am usually a large when I buy shorts and was slightly concerned that large would be too small reading the reviews so ordered both L and XL. both fitted but the large was a lot tighter around my thighs and I had to peel them off instead of pulling them pown like normal shorts. The shoulder straps seemed the same length, after reading the label they are compression type shorts so I chose the large. Rode a sportive 103 mile with them on the saturday and I was really impressed. My legs didn't feel tired like normal and I was comfy all the way round, I have also used them on a couple of 50-/60 mile rides and each time they have felt really good. So yes I would highly reccomend them if you are after a good quality comfy Bib shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
wills001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GREAT BIG SHORTS

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Great bib shorts with an excellent pad (imo the best pad out there) would recommended these to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Chewman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Excellent fit, very comfortable on long rides

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: little expensive
The shorts fit very well and are very comfortable, I tried many in the shop and these fit me the best. I am usually a medium to large size but I needed XXL. Good padding on your bottom, for great comfort, they are a little more than I wanted to pay, but an excellent purchase and addition to my cycling wardrobe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
JonnyB1978
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

stunning quality but the usual snug italian fit

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Beautifully made and snug. It will encourage me to get out on the bike. The pad is excellent and the most comfortable I have ever used. A must for the keen cyclist. It is expensive but as with most things in road cycling you get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luckilee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Great bit of kit

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought these on a price match with wiggle,so got a good price.Wore these on crafted classique 100 miler...and can say they were very comfy!
Im 5ft 8" 11.5 stone 32 waist and large is perfect.
Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
CAAD10Ultegra
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

size faff

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I am 186 cm tall, 84 kg, chest 98 cm, waist 92 cm, hips 101 cm, thighs (top) 56 cm.
The XXL felt slightly loose in thigh. The XL was tight in thigh and shoulder strap. I didn't even try the L. I opted for the XXL after a lot of consideration - so be careful!
The pad is good and worth paying the extra for - the cost evens out over time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gazmoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality AND comfort

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Over the winter have used the Castelli bib knicker which also uses the Progetto pad.
No brainer, that for greater comfort in the summer I'd need Castelli's Aero bib shorts.
NOT disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jerusalem1
Country:Israel
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality will always be quality!

PostedJune 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These shorts are simply the best. After reading about needing to order at least one size up i was a little worried when ordering my normal size large, but the usual sizing is great. The shorts are snug, which is the reason that they feel so good out on a ride. Near to the end of a 3 hour ride i didn't feel the usual muscle fatique and these shorts really act like compression shorts. The quality is as you would expect from Castelli. The new innovation leg grippers are great, the padding is exceptional. Simply put...there is a reason that these bibshorts were voted the best above 18 other top brand shorts. You really do get what you pay for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DavidMac

Great Product and saved me after crashing in the w

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I live in sunny Dubai and it tends not to rain here but last week during my mid week ride it started to rain. I came off on one of the corners and slide down the road on my behind leaving a healthy amount of skin on the surface. If it was not for my new Castelli shorts i would have come off a lot worse. Beautifully made and despite my unexpected slide they are barely marked.
The first pair i ordered was too small. I ordered an XL and i am 5'11" and 86 kg. The XXL fitted a lot better and the straps were more comfortable. Evans were very good and exchanged with no issues.
Highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Randy
Country:Canada
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts

PostedApril 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, the best for the long rides
Cons: Expensive
Excellent product -- Have tried all the better brands of bib shorts out their including Assos, and these are the best by far. Great fit, style, and they really perform on those longer rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>