Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts

Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts

Overall rating:
4.765 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Review 1 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Badger15
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Snug & comfortable

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
As long as you remember to order one size up from your usual size (usual Italian small sizing), these are excellent shorts. They fit 'snug' but you quickly forget you are wearing them and the pad is fantastic - nothing like the usual discomfort in the sit bones after a 120km ride. Not sure how they'll hold up to wear & washing but doesn't seem to be a problem so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Wiresplitter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent - really comfy

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I am usually a large when I buy shorts and was slightly concerned that large would be too small reading the reviews so ordered both L and XL. both fitted but the large was a lot tighter around my thighs and I had to peel them off instead of pulling them pown like normal shorts. The shoulder straps seemed the same length, after reading the label they are compression type shorts so I chose the large. Rode a sportive 103 mile with them on the saturday and I was really impressed. My legs didn't feel tired like normal and I was comfy all the way round, I have also used them on a couple of 50-/60 mile rides and each time they have felt really good. So yes I would highly reccomend them if you are after a good quality comfy Bib shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
wills001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GREAT BIG SHORTS

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Great bib shorts with an excellent pad (imo the best pad out there) would recommended these to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Chewman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Excellent fit, very comfortable on long rides

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: little expensive
The shorts fit very well and are very comfortable, I tried many in the shop and these fit me the best. I am usually a medium to large size but I needed XXL. Good padding on your bottom, for great comfort, they are a little more than I wanted to pay, but an excellent purchase and addition to my cycling wardrobe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
JonnyB1978
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

stunning quality but the usual snug italian fit

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Beautifully made and snug. It will encourage me to get out on the bike. The pad is excellent and the most comfortable I have ever used. A must for the keen cyclist. It is expensive but as with most things in road cycling you get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luckilee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Great bit of kit

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought these on a price match with wiggle,so got a good price.Wore these on crafted classique 100 miler...and can say they were very comfy!
Im 5ft 8" 11.5 stone 32 waist and large is perfect.
Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
CAAD10Ultegra
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

size faff

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I am 186 cm tall, 84 kg, chest 98 cm, waist 92 cm, hips 101 cm, thighs (top) 56 cm.
The XXL felt slightly loose in thigh. The XL was tight in thigh and shoulder strap. I didn't even try the L. I opted for the XXL after a lot of consideration - so be careful!
The pad is good and worth paying the extra for - the cost evens out over time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gazmoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality AND comfort

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Over the winter have used the Castelli bib knicker which also uses the Progetto pad.
No brainer, that for greater comfort in the summer I'd need Castelli's Aero bib shorts.
NOT disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jerusalem1
Country:Israel
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality will always be quality!

PostedJune 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These shorts are simply the best. After reading about needing to order at least one size up i was a little worried when ordering my normal size large, but the usual sizing is great. The shorts are snug, which is the reason that they feel so good out on a ride. Near to the end of a 3 hour ride i didn't feel the usual muscle fatique and these shorts really act like compression shorts. The quality is as you would expect from Castelli. The new innovation leg grippers are great, the padding is exceptional. Simply put...there is a reason that these bibshorts were voted the best above 18 other top brand shorts. You really do get what you pay for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DavidMac

Great Product and saved me after crashing in the w

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I live in sunny Dubai and it tends not to rain here but last week during my mid week ride it started to rain. I came off on one of the corners and slide down the road on my behind leaving a healthy amount of skin on the surface. If it was not for my new Castelli shorts i would have come off a lot worse. Beautifully made and despite my unexpected slide they are barely marked.
The first pair i ordered was too small. I ordered an XL and i am 5'11" and 86 kg. The XXL fitted a lot better and the straps were more comfortable. Evans were very good and exchanged with no issues.
Highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Randy
Country:Canada
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts

PostedApril 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, the best for the long rides
Cons: Expensive
Excellent product -- Have tried all the better brands of bib shorts out their including Assos, and these are the best by far. Great fit, style, and they really perform on those longer rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfy

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
This is my first bib, and i was great. Still geting used to having the top, but the legs are super comfy...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chale1963
Country:Peru
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This in one off the best bib shorts i used, is very confortable for long rides and so fit to the body.
Its highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Merckx1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Excellent shami

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great shorts and screen printed logo means no shabby looking stick on transfers after 10 washes, sizing on the small size but otherwise a great looking pair of shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HairusBearus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and stylish

PostedJune 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I needed a decent bib-short for on London to Paris to cycle ride so thought I'd splash out. After the first day I was just as sore and aching as I would have been been in my normal £40 gel padded shorts so I switched to them the second day. Well they were even worse so I switched back to the Castelli Free Aero's for the third and fourth days. They were much better but it took a direct comparison to reaslise this. Even though they're a little pricey the comfort and sexy look more than make them worth it. I'm 5'10" and 14st and the XL size fits well although the shoulder straps are a little short as I'm a slightly above medium build.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
apreading

The best bibshorts EVER

PostedJune 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good quality (if sewn up properly)
Cons: Expensive, poor sewing and quality control
I happily cycle 30-40 miles without padding and have no problems whatsoever.
I have cheaper bibshorts which are great but more than 50 miles and they run out of steam.
These are like sitting on a sofa when I am on my bike - I could cycle to the end of the world and would still be comfortable.
The styling is fantastic too - very tasteful unlike many with strange colour schemes but not just boring black either. They oooze quality.
The leg grippers are great - the first ones I have found that work properly and also dont feel like they are pulling at your legs because the grip is distributed over the entire red band which is a big section.
I was really worried about spending this much on shorts and wasnt sure I liked the idea of bibs, but now have bought an extra pair.
The only problem with these is the quality of the stitching. I have found this to affect all Castelli clothing - I returned two pairs of these with poor stitching and several other garments too - until I eventially got some that had been sewn together properly - I jusy hope they last. It is worth this hassle for the comfort though.
I have paid £70-80 for Altura bibshorts & dhb bibshorts and they are nowhere near as comfy as these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Castelli Free Aero Race Team Bib shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pakou

best shorts i've ever had

PostedApril 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
these bibshorts are amazing. Perfect aero fit. Muscular compression helps for long rides. The pad is super!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.