Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Mavic Aksium Wheel Set

Mavic Aksium Wheel Set

Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Mavic Aksium Wheel Set
Review 1 for Mavic Aksium Wheel Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BOSC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Nothing special & not upgrade wheels

PostedAugust 2, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought these on the recommendation of Evans staff as an uprgade on the wheels that came with my 8 speed bottom of the range Specialized Allez.
After fitting my exisiting tyres to the Mavics the weight 'saving' over the original wheels was neglibable.
My first ride with them was an 80 mile sportive with a bout 5,000 feet of climbing. I didn't notice any difference between these and my original wheels. Either in terms of feel, handling, rolling ability or speed.
If you're looking to upgrade your wheels then these aren't good enough. I guess you need to spend say £500+ to notice any difference. If you're simply looking for what I presume is a well built quality wheel simply as a replacement for say a worn out or damaged stock wheel then these will probably be woth looking at.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mavic Aksium Wheel Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ears
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
an excellent set of budget wheels, complete with tyres. This is the second set I have bought, and I have had no problems with either. Used mainly on my training bikes or for club runs, including a little off-road
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mavic Aksium Wheel Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colesy79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great value for above entry level wheel

PostedMay 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Great product for my level of riding which is 3 times a week c100 miles a week. I wanted an improvement on my Bontrager wheels hat came with my Trek and had a budget, these filled the gap and I'm happy with them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mavic Aksium Wheel Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ciro
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

better than Shimano standard wheel

PostedApril 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
appears to be a bit better than Shimano standard wheel, however considerably more expensive. Time will tell whether this statement will be true since i had a good run on my Shimano R500 wheel. Commuting for 4 years without any issues.
Enjoy your ride!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mavic Aksium Wheel Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nmwcricket

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
these are bomb proof, i would definitely recommend to everyone. Evans did a price match which was ideal for me
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mavic Aksium Wheel Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Desgos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice smooth bearings. Tyres fit nicely.

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Really good quality you'ld expect from Mavic at a great price. Tyres are a good fit and make a good all round package.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mavic Aksium Wheel Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BenM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good quality wheels at a sensible price

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Purchased as replacement wheels on my Trek. Given they are at the value end of the price range, I have been very impressed with the comfort and handling of the bike with these.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mavic Aksium Wheel Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DB77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Wheely Great!

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
during a recent LEJOG ride, I smashed my back wheel hitting a pot hole on a downhill section and popped a few spokes. Managed to limp over the finish using a spare wheel the organisers lent me but knew that I needed to upgrade to something stronger and lighter when I returned home. These Mavic's were perfect, really great price and superb quality. They ride really well, smooth transition of power and run well at high speeds. The also look great - will probably upgrade the tyres they came with, but 100% happy with my choice!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mavic Aksium Wheel Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
titaniumfox
from england
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Good value wheels with good hubs for the money, not light but are strong and well built.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.