Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack

Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack

CamelBak's mission is to continuously reinvent and forever change the way people hydrate and perform. They'll not stop pushing the limits of hydration, so you can continue to push your own.
Overall rating:
4.875 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Review 1 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jotappina
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My best Camelbak Ever!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I've been using Camelbak gears for almost 20 years, mainly Mule or similar models. But this one is the best ever! Plenty of water load, not much space but it's spot on for everything you need. A pump, a spare tube, a mini-tool, phone, mini-lube tube, and of course gels and bars on the side pockets that are easily reached. TOP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I got the purple backpack and couldn't be happier.
It is exactly as shown on pictures.
This is the ideal hydration pack for hiking and trails here in Brazil.
With camelbak you can't go wrong. Super quality stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
martino
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome pack five stars!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great hydration pack for running or cycling, had purchased a cheaper brand but wasted my money Camelbaks reputation is well earned! Everything is in the right place and high quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SalaciuosCrumb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Camelback Octane XCT 3L

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect for a long ride, 3L of water, mesh pockets for some mule bars and repair kit also a long zip at the back for my mid size pump, and spare tube also has a very handy elastic cargo system for securing a rain jacket.
Very comfortable and with all the usual straps and clips keeps the hose in easy reach.
My best Camelback to date!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Burrd
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So much in a little package

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poor documentation
First up: I'm not a biker, I bought the pack for hiking. I am also new to these new fandanggles.
The XCT achieves in the superlative what it sets out to do: a lightweight hydration pack. The build quality is up there with the industry's best. Some of the padding in the back area and harness seem lacking in firmness or insulation, but in no way does it seem lacking in robustness. After a trip which included multiple chest deep river crossing, I found a lot of debris caught in the honeycomb padding. It took a lot of time and effort to remove them, but there was no damage to the padding.
The fit and adjustment is fantastic, but I can only speak from the perspective of a person with average physique. The length adjustments of the straps were easy to use and held their position well. I realise that this model is primarily for bikers, but it does sit well against the back even during jarring trail-running. One minor omission is a convenient way to re-tension to maintain pressure on the bladder. Perhaps this is less of an issue for bikers.
The two side pockets (zipped) and one on the harness are the main reasons I chose this pack. Quick access to snacks, gloves, buff, towel, camera, etc without removing the pack is priceless. I keep my waterproof camera on the harness pocket, with the camera's strap looped through the sternum strap. I grin each time I see fellow hikers swing their packs to the front just to get something small.
The bladder itself works wonderfully well. Filling and cleaning is simple and no longer a chore. One minor drawback. If you only fill the bladder half full, you would have thought that the upper portion of the pack can be used to store some other gear. However, the rigid handle severely restricts this.
The bladder includes wonderful features I love. Integrated into the opening is a pair of swing out arms which can be deployed to "puff" the bladder open for drying. And when the tube is removed, a valve prevents leakage. Fantastic inclusions. I don't know if these are common features, but they are new to me.
This brings me to my major gripe: lack of documentation, either printed or online. It took me more than a week before finding out about these two features, and a few hours of googling to boot. The drying arms were so well integrated that I never noticed them. And I only learnt about the valve when I filled the bladder without attaching the tube. I thought the packed was going to be isotonic-soaked. At least it was a pleasant surprise.
The pack's harness also has a safety whistle. It has a little bungee cord, so I assume it can be detached. I have tried pulling, sliding, pinching and shouting at it, but for the life of me i just can't detached it. Needless to say, there's no user manual to show me how to do it!
The bladder tube can be routed on either harness. There is also a clip on the harness to snap the tube to so it won't be flapping about. However, the clip is only on one harness. There are also small access holes on either side of the pack about midway down. They may be alternative routing for the tube, but I can't figure them out. I wonder which page of the user manual explains this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jarvsta
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great for trail riding

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Probably a bit small for anything longer than 3-4 hours. However a great bag for half lady rides.
I manage to squeeze in a pump, inner tube, pocket tools and some chic bars.
The side pockets are great for phone, keys and wallet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reppit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, good fit.

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fantastic. Worn recently on a 15 mile trail run, lightweight and a good fit, without causing any chafing. 2 pockets either side of the waist for energy gels, bars, hat,gloves etc.and a middle pocket at the back for a lightweight jacket and the 3ltr water capacity is more than enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anouk
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent for long distance running and cycling

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The bag fits perfectly and is comfortable for running not to mention cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
milner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very stylish and comfortable

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, not bulky
I'm very impressed with this product. It's comfortable, has a decent capacity for fluids and some really useful pockets added in around the bag for energy bars etc. It's pretty small for the capacity and isn't bulky while I'm cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
okahn22
Country:Spain
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value, great quality.

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, water capacity
I have been looking for hydratation packs for a long time and I have always wanted to buy a Camelbak. I finally found a good deal at Evans Cycles and I got it. The pack is amazing and fits everything you need for a long MTB ride: tools, inner tube, phone, money... and 3 L of water!
Also you can feel the quality of the product from the first contact. The water system is amazing and the materials look good and cool.
There is four exits for the valve, so you can adapt it to your needs and the two hooks fix the bag perfectly to your back during the ride.
I can not find any con for this product at this point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toastrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Puts the love handles to good use!!

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good storage
Apart from the price, the greatest appeal was the storage on the waistband. If set up right, it sits nicely on the top of the hips (or love handles) and is ideal to store your gels and tools. The elastics provided make it easy to store a waterproof. The bladder is easily removable for cleaning.
On a long ride, you can quite easily forget you're carrying it!
You won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EdNZ
Country:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very happy

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I use this for running and riding. Thus far I am very happy with it, it does not bounce around too much, and it has enough space for light lunch, extra layers, cell phone and keys. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use and good storage space

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Low profile, easy to clean inside and out without much effort. Looks great and not uncomfortable to wear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2frogs
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, small

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
When I received this pack, I became aware that for riding, some prefer that the torso length of the pack is longer than a pack made for running. Camelbak sell the Octane XCT as a running and riding pack, so it has a shorter torso length. Camelbak's pure riding packs generally have a longer torso length. With the shoulders-forward and outwardly-curved lower back stance on a bike, it is more comfortable to have heavier loads in rucsacs that reach down to the top of the pelvis. A pack with a short torso length will carry the weight in the lower back, which can cause extreme back discomfort after hours on the bike.
Does this matter? If you are a taller rider, consider carefully whether to get a pack with a longer torso. The specs are on the Camelbak website. At 5'10'' I found this pack to be comfortable over a long day, but anyone taller may not.
My first ride with this was a 9 hour there-and-back MTB epic of the six foot track near Sydney. I had 2 litres in the pack (supplementing two big frame-mounted bottles), along with food and clothing.
The pack was comfortable and carried very well. Overall it is superbly specified with all sorts of "gizmo" features and adjustments. I liked the large pockets on the hip belt, as I could grab food without taking the pack off.
The pack has very little storage space, particularly if starting out with the full 3 litres. Even with this pack, I put all my spares and tools in a saddle bag.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great combination of price, quality & performance

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The camelback is comfortable to wear, easy to use and is built to a high quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Camelbak Octane XCT 3L Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
walkerjohn
Country:Czech Republic
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent hydration backpack for running n bikes

PostedMay 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Completely satisfied.
I chose camelbak as they are the most experienced producers of bladder bags:) no problem here, the bladder is 3litres with large opening and detachable tube with big bite valve.
I am 190cm tall 98kg and i barely notice having it on. of course my back is more wet but i sweat a lot so i am used to it.
Smartly placed pockets and a rubber netting to attach a windjacket or a mac or so.
Just great i say...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.