Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe

Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe

Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paxo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Very impressed!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought the Shimano MT43 shoes together with the M530 pedals, a first time 'clipped-on' experience as a casual MTB/hybrid cyclist. Both shoes and pedals were easy to set up and the bonding between shoe and pedal is crisp and definite. The shoes are very comfortable and once off the bike feel like normal trainers. Initially, I had some trepidation regarding dismounting, but a small sideways twist of the foot disengages them easily. My only regret is not purchasing the Shimano shoes/pedals earlier! :-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Starr3126
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Brilliant shoes

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I did some research after my Specialized SPD's broke this week. These looked good shoes and a bit different to my last pair. Wiggle were selling them with 40% off. True to their word Evans Price Matched them. Not worn them yet but great value for money, great customer service. You can't ask for more than that. (Bristol Store)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JKay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Nice Commuter/Leisure shoe

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: not waterproof
Great shoe, suitable for walking around when off the bike. Works well with the M530 pedals I bought at the same time. Good strong rigid sole works really well on the pedals. Wanted something that looked like a regular trainer, these fit the bill.
Only slight niggles are they are quite low backed on the heal so slip a little when walking, and being designed as breathable, they readily let in water in anything heavier than a light shower.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gonzo69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Good comfortable cycling shoe

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Tried them on, perfect fit, comfortable when cycling. Very firm so not really designed for walking distances in. Laces tuck in under Velcro strap so they don't get caught in the pedals. Haven't got them soaked yet so can't comment on their waterproof ability.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bob70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

right shoe for the purpose

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Shimano is well known for good product and strange shoe sizing: both valid for this product. Good quality, robust SPD MTB shoe, easy to clean and keep airflow well. A bit heavy but still ok; check the size before buying - my regular size is 9-9 1/2, I had to buy a 10 1/2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BennoBoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good quality.

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Comfortable on long rides. I purchased these for use with my Specialized hybrid as they have the cleats already fitted. They are heavier than your usual road bike shoes but, walking around in them is not awkward, unlike with the lighter road bike foot wear, as they just act as a pair of trainers due to the sunken clips.
Not too expensive either. Good for starters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SpikeJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Comfortable and roomy

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I will wite a longer review after 2 weeks of cycling in France but my first day's cycling was a pleasure. I have been using specialised for 5 years and find teh Shimano MT43 a wider fit and more comfortable. I need to adjust the SPDs as my foot kept popping out while pulling up, perhaps new non worn out pedals might help
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hawkinsjones
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good all round shoe

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
My first venture into SPD pedals. Reasonable price and look nice. Needed a shoe that manage a 20 mile commute. Needed them to look a normal shoe and be able to walk about for short distances in between. So far these shoes fit the bill.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
teapot
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well worth looking at these shoes.

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice clean looking shoe with a drop out for the fitting of cleats making it easier. Cleat is set in so walking around does not sound like you are playing maraccas.
I had seen these cheaper on wiggle so Evans price matched discounting £17 so overall a bargain.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kully
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Comfortable

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
They are comfortable on and off the bike and the fit is good. Buying them in-store was good as I got to try different sizes / makes - in the end I went for a size bigger than my usual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SebbieJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great cheap SPD shoe

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought these as my first set of SPD shoes, having used them on a few 10-30 mile bike rides, I've found them really comfortable on and off the bike. Having come from using a set of Vans Rowley XLT skate shoes on some flat pedals, I'm really liking the security these shoes offer. No more bouncing off the pedals over rocky sections! Also the ability to pull up on the pedals to get much more powerful acceleration is great.
I think one little niggle I have with it, is that the shoes are quite stiff around the bottom area of the laces, so it's hard to tighten them up as much as I'd want there, but having the laces and Velcro strap makes up for this, as my foot does feel nice and secure in them.
They offer lots of grip also for when I've got to walk up steep sections!
I'd recommend them, definitely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WelchWay

Awesome shoes

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great set of shoes, solid cleats, very comfy on and off the bike. Walking in them is the same as any other trainer and on the bike they fit well with a good connection to the pedal (Shimano M530 SPD Trail Pedals in my case).
The mesh on the shoes helps keep your feet cool in the summer but they can be a bit chilly when you first set off in colder weather and thin socks.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bollard999

A shoe-fire winner.

PostedMay 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Er well, it is an averagely styled shoe. You won't win any fashion competitions. However, they are very comfortable and do exactly what it says on the tin! I love that the cleats screw into the sole flat making walking in them completely normal. However, make sure you check the tightness of the cleats after your first ride, as one of mine came loose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Will25

PostedMay 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
Very comfortable shoes, easy to use. Styling could be better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bob64
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good bye

PostedApril 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
only the first day : I bought these shoes along with Shimano M424 SPD MTB Pedals. I've only worn them once and that was on a 17km trail. It was a mixed day, mainly sunny and warm with several showers. The shoes worked out very well. No problems with soaked or sweaty feet. I saw on a previous review to order a size up, which I did. I normally wear 46 but got 47. This worked perfectly for me. 46 would have been a tad too small. The shoe/pedal combination is good. I'm a complete noobie to mtb so will have to get the hang of de-cleating more competently as I had a few incidents on the trail. Will loosen the tension of cleats more before next trip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SureHave
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
With the Shimano M780 XT SPD XC Race Pedals. I ride with more power and confident. Over all good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lee33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Seem ok so far.

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
They are a nice shoe and you can walk normally in them with cleats attached. You have to adjust where you put the cleats though forward or back, but this is a good thing for personal preference. The laces happily sit under the velcro tab. Wear water proof or wind proof socks if you are riding in the cold though as your toes will get very cold on a winters morning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Youngy14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good shoes

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I purchased a pair of these shoes at the same time as a set of Shimano's M530 SPD Trail pedals as a first time clipless pedal user. I have to say I wish I had done it sooner as I am really enjoying the security, control and improved power delivery on the bike. The shoes are probably not the lightest MTB specific shoe out there and from a design perspective they are quite subdued, although when they're covered in mud bright colours would be brown anyway! I have found them to be comfortable, supportive, grippy when scrabbling up hills to check a line or in most cases - try again! The upper is synthetic so cleaning is very easy, a wipe with a wet cloth or brush will shift mud and grime, with a bit more effort to clean the mesh inserts, which do a good job of providing ventilation, with the obvious penalty being water/mud going in when it's seriously wet. That said, they are relatively quick drying so your feet won't be squelchy for too long unless they get repetitve dunkings! Fit wise I would describe them as standard. I would say that I have a wide foot (UK11) and there is plenty of adjustment to tighten or loosen the laces as required. A solid lockdown can then be provided by the midfoot velcro strap, which also does a good job of holding the laces out of harms way. SPD cleats are easy to fit and they come with a sticker to put over the slots to help keep water and grime out. I would not hesitate in recommending these shoes to a beginner, like myself or a seasoned rider who wants a sturdy shoe at a good price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A111
Country:Switzerland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoes

PostedJune 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Comfortable, good size as advertised, great when you need to walk as well as cycle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano MT43 MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stumpy21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Shoes

PostedApril 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I purchased these to replace a pair of shoes that had lasted me 20+ years. They are comfortable to wear when not on the bike and are easy to set up and ride with.
I good all round shoe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.