Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe

Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe

Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Review 1 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Renov8
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Comfortable shoe with attractive styling

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is my first pair of cycling specific shoes. Impressed by the difference they make to my cycling experience, pedaling seems much easier. I like the styling, they just look like ordinary trainers. Comfortable and well made.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
tash389

Tough and practical

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I'm not ready to fully clip in and have bought these in preperation for if/when i do.
You can walk normally as the are like a tough walking shoe. I used to cycle in my walking boots.
With thick waterproof thermal socks they are a snug fit, I am a size 7 to 8 and went for a 42. quite wide so overshoes are pretty stretched
With normal sports socks there is pleanty of room.
Nice little colour embelishment to brighten up the black.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tootallpaul67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic Trail Shoe

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought these for my wifes birthday and she thinks they are fantastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Susie51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very Comfortable

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought these shoes as am now suffering from bunions and my traditional road shoes were becoming increasingly uncomfortable where the fit was so snug. These are far more comfortable and with room to wiggle my toes, no longer find my feet get so cold. Have to make sure I lace them tight enough though otherwise when trying to release from SPD find my foot just moves within the shoe
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mistyone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

I really like these shoes.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Before I bought these, I was wearing trainers which I love but which are too flexible for cycling and I kept getting cramp in my feet. These new shoes not only look really great, but feel great too.
First time I wore them I felt my feet slipping on the pedals so I went and bought new pedals which allowed the shoes to grip. Now, shoes and pedals feel secure.
So now, even in the wet, my feet stay where they are supposed to be.
I bought size 38 which is a little on the large size ... shame there isn't a 371/2 available. However, there's room for two pairs of woollen socks which is useful in these cold winter months. Also, I am not aware of them being too big while cycling.
On the whole, very pleased with my Tahoe shoes. Oh, and I haven't had cramp at all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
rmh960786

Very comfortable

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these as an Xmas present for my wife who loves the feel and look of them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Specialspinner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

very happy with purchase

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very comfy, wider than previous pair by same name. Look like ordinary trainers. Have yet to try fitting cleats. That's my new season challenge and the reason I bought these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PurpleTracey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Huge improvement over trainers!

PostedMay 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This was my first pair of proper cycling shoes and I would never go back to trainers again. The support they give is excellent, especially when standing up cycling and the soles grip well on the peddles. They are also fine for walking in.
I ended up buying my usual size (39) which were fine. The size up felt like boats!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
suek17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

Very comfortable, multi-purpose shoes

PostedApril 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought these shoes as my first 'proper' cycling shoes, as my other half felt I would benefit from being able to clip in for hill climbs (I live in Sheffield). I haven't regretted the purchase at all, and they are well worth the price.
They are comfortable for normal walking as well, firm but not too stiff, and this is what I was looking for as we will be doing quite a bit of touring on bikes in the near future.
They look attractive (usually I'm not a fan of pink, but I've had to learn to like it for my fitness endeavours) and do the job well, and I've got on ok learning to use them on the bicycle!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kirkiekat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Comfortable, well made shoe

PostedApril 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Like other reviewers I needed a size larger than I usually wear as the shoes are small made. Look good and perfect for cycling and walking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mary26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect shoes, excellent value

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, breathable
I am very pleased with my purchase as these shoes are extremely comfortable, do improve the quality of my cycling (excellent grip, no more aches in the middle of my feet...), and proved to be breathable yet keeping my feet warm. Exactly what I wanted! They seem to come slightly on the small size, as I had to go 1/2 size up to be really comfortable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sspence22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great fitting shoe, very practical on & off bike

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good balance between lightweight,good support & strongly constructed, easy to walk on various surfaces when off your bike, feels like a training shoe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave6789
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these for the wife for Christmas she is over the moon with them.great fit and looks good ,like how they can be used without SPD pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geejay57
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Product sizing is tricky

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I read all the reviews about going a size up and even have a pair of specialised shoes where the sizing conversions differ from these ones. I take a UK 4.5 in ordinary shoes and originally ordered a size 38 which equates to a uk size 6.5 in the Sonoma style, however on this style the size 38 was too small so I went for a size 40 /UK size 6.5 and in reality they are too big . I really should have had a size 39. Size UK 6.5 means the real size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mackers
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great shoe for all day wear

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought these for commuting and wearing all day at work so that I wouldn't have to carry 'normal' shoes in my back pack. They're really comfortable to wear all day, even with cleats in them, but are stiff enough to be effective on the bike for my short commute. Not waterproof and I daresay they'll be cold in the depths of winter due to the mesh on the upper but I'll just pop my neoprene toe covers on to keep the worst of the cold air and damp out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
AnnieP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Laces are a liability!

PostedAugust 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: laces
These are comfortable to wear both on and off the bike but a fiddle to get on and off. The laces have to be tied and then secured under the tongue and velcro fastening to keep them out of the the way when cycling. Despite all these precautions a lace got caught in my chain today. Fortunately I was going uphill at the time and so not travelling fast. Would go for shoes without laces next time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MoJoJo79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

I want to wear them all the time!

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have been looking at these for ages. Having read the reviews, I bought them in a bigger size. I'm pleased I did, as I hate sending stuff back.
They look great and I found them very comfortable to walk in.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnfMac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great cycling shoes

PostedMay 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are very comfortable shoes, they don't slip at all when you're cycling with them. You can use cleats with them but I haven't used them for this as yet. They look great as well, so if am out and about on my bike for the day I don't mind walking around in them. I find some of the other cycling shoes don't look too great but these do. I'm a 4 but had to change mine for a 5 so I think they're probably a bit small made.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized BG Tahoe Women's MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JC001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

PostedApril 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these for my girlfriend and she absolutely loves them. She especially likes them because she can also wear them without looking like she's got 'special biking shoes' on when pushing the bike or is out shopping having ridden in to town. A great buy...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.