Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe

Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe

Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Review 1 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
BenjiTlse
Country:France
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good product

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great MTB shoes: very comfortable, easy to use, with a very efficient lacing + scratch
Weight is average - , price is a bit high but worthy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
TallMark
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

If the shoe fits, and this does

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great shoes, I would recommend these tried lots of others before I decided these are the ones. Have used them now for a couple of weeks and the adjustment on the cleats has been great now have a great peddle position. The materials also cope with the wet and mud easy to clean and keep dry. I would have these again against the other shoes I have bought. Great service in the shop too in getting the correct shoe for me and the cycling I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pawsybear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoe

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great reasonably priced shoe. I've use these on and off road
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Truegrid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

First impressions, great product

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good safety reflective detailing
Cons: Expensive, cleat grounds when walking on uneven surfaces.
Bought these today. First time in SPDs and I think these shoes will suit my general purpose. The sole is not the severely deep MTB tread, more like a cross trainer made of renowned Vibram, stiff enough of course for the cycling function but i expect you could wear these all day and walk more comfortably than in an out and out MTB shoe. Also because the tread is not deep you could use these on flat non SPD pedals so would probably be good if you use dual sided pedals. The reflective detailing looks great and should add to safety if you dont have reflective pedals.
So far the only downside I can see is that the cleats touch ground on uneven surfaces when walking. This is because the tread is not quite deep enough and I anticipate this will get worse as the tread wears down through walikng, although in my experience of Vibram on walking boots, is that it is tough and shouldnt wear too quickly. it's surprising that Specialized didnt forsee this at design stage as the problem could easily be overcome by deepening the tread by just a millimeter or two without detracting from this shoe's intended market.
Im a sze 9 (43) shoe and bought 44(9.5) to give room for slightly thicker sock and for feet to expand when cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lazise
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Opinion from a novice rider

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is written from the perspective of a completely novice rider. I wanted a cycle shoe but wasn't comfortable at the idea of having my feet 'locked' into a pedal. The options I had were the cheaper specialized version of this and the Shimano equivalent. Of the three this shoe is the lightest and that alone swung it for me. The shoes stick well to the pedals except when the soles get wet, then they get a little slippery. They are good for walking in as well if you need to get off the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NidseyJnr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Crackin' pair!

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A real good, lightweight shoe. Easily adaptable too if you want to click them into your pedals. Even through the rain, they dry quickly, don't smell too and have breathable holes which help.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OHbiWan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

The first cycle shoe I could happily wear all day

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Very comfortable shoe, light and flexible enough to wear all day whether cycling or not. Good for walking and cycling. Cleat attachment sufficiently recessed that I didn't scratch the wooden floor (in conjunction with crank bros egg beater cleats).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
WozH1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good shoes but beware fault on cleat fitting

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: fault on rhs shoe
Good aspects are that the shoes are very comfortable to wear and walk in and multi use, not just on the bike. Also good fit for my feet, which are slightly narrow.
However, there was a bad fault on the RHS shoe in my pair whereby when a cleat was fitted it could not click into the SPD holder as the clear was recessed too far - but oddly only on one side. So I had to take back to Evans, who all credit fitted washers just to one side of the cleat to get it level with the general shoe so would fit into the SPDs ok. And has been fine to cycle with thereafter, but a surprisingly bad manufactiring fault from Specialised who are normally very good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TurraOldboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I can feel the difference.

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
First time I have owned a pair of specific MTB shoes, I always wore trainers before. The solid sole ensure that far more energy is transferred directly to the pedals rather than being absorbed by the sole in my trainers. Make life easier which is great as I'm over 50!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Psilosopher
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Enjoying my new Tahoe's!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
My old pair were incredibly hard-wearing and I expect this new pair tobe even better!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cfcace
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These shoes have really helped with foot numbness without the need for clips. Glad I bought them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
philw123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for Commuting

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I replaced an older pair of Specialized SPD shoes with these, which I use for every day commuting.
The lacing system works well enough, with little bags at the top to tidy the laces out of the way. You can get them on and off just using the velcro closure straps once you have the laces set right.
The cleats fit well and don't clatter when you walk, although experience with previous similar shoes suggests that'll change once the soles become worn.
They're well ventilated, so you'll get wet feet when it rains.
They don't look particularly like bike shoes, so they tend to pass unremarked in the office. Plenty of reflective bits all help at night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
STAKOMP
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
It's a good, nice looking shoe, but a little uncomfortable without pedal
clipless. It's also a little expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anthony01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Comfortable all purpose cycling shoe

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these with a set of Shimano A520 SPD Touring Pedals. My usual business shoe size is a 42 EEE. The 44 was the most comfortable and a 43 was definitely too small in length.
I am new to bike shoes so I went into Evans (Chiswick) rather than buy online to make sure the shoe was correctly matched to the pedal. It took them about 15 minutes to get the shoe set and the pedals swapped over so it would have cost me an evening. Out of the box the plastic cover under the shoe needs to be cut out so some "assembly" is required if you buy online.
Customer service was excellent as always and the advice was based on first asking me question about what I wanted to achieve. They also had me spend time in the shop clicking my shoe in/out before I headed out on to the road. It took a few minutes to get the technique right and it has only got easier since. The also set the spring load for me and showed me how to tighten when/if needed and adjust the angle of the cleat in the shoe.
The result - shoe is comfortable, light, the rigid sole is better than trainers when pushing hard, you notice the increase in available power when accelerating due to the ability to pull as you push. Walking is very good for a dual purpose shoe.
My riding is both social and fitness so I like that the shoe's casual design is such that I can ride to say a musuem / park and than spend an hour or so walking around.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bmwonder
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Good allrounders

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Not really a full-on MTB shoe. Bought these for commuting as my MTB shoes were a bit over-the-top. Good quality, nice and light. Not as stiff as a race or MTB shoe but perfect as a more casual SPD shoe. Easy for walking in. The lace cover is a nice quality touch too. Ventilation is very good, but I think that they might be a bit cold in winter. Sizing is correct, so for your normal size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crowborough
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Top quality and good fit

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Top quality, good fitting and light weight. Good for summer (if it arrives). Excellent for walking and 'bikey hikey' bits. I use for general cross country.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Selly1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these on recommendation from Evans as a good starter shoe for long distance riding, whilst appearing like a normal pair of trainers.
I used them for a 100KM charity ride, and the people at Evans were absolutely right. They are comfortable, water resistant, and a all round good pair of shoes.
Thanks Evans
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Normg002
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight, comfortable shoe.

PostedJune 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Great shoe, so far. Lightweight, comfortable. Nice and stiff, but ok for walking in. Well thought out, and clearly thought has gone into the design, for example, the little pouch on the tongue to tuck laces away. Not a bad looking shoe either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized BG Tahoe Sport MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pinkpopgirl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

my first shoe and it's very good

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Went down to evans at the trafford centre and the guy there showed me a selection of shoes for me. I wanted a spinning shoe for size 10
this shoe was the most comfortable (size 45) then the cheaper/alternate ones. so i bought them, with the cleates. tried them on the spinning machine and they (de)attached well after a 1hr session. I checked the price on them and evans had the same price as otheres so in summary i got a good deal with a very good shoe.
I'd have given it a 5 if the guy would have knocked something off the price of the shoe/cleates , as they do with the cleates/pedal. Very good, but only had 1 session to rate them. If i remember i'll update you in 1 month.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.