Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike

Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike

Overall rating:
4.435 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer reviews for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Review 1 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SjCc
Country:United Kingdom

Terrific full size bike for city dwellers

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, folding
A very versitle bike, comfortable ride, incredibly easy folding mechanism. Perfect for any flat dwellers, train riders or people without a car bike rack who still want full size bike that can cope with city roads and trail paths
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kili
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Full-sized bicycle, but foldable

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This is a full-size bicycle, that feels like riding a normal bike for every day commute. But when it rains, it is possible to take it into the bus or tube, because it is technically foldable, but still large. This is ideal for London: You can take it into the Central Line if necessary.
It is still very large, slightly expensive and heavy. Also, only the higher gears are really necessary: It is not a mountain bike, and the lower gears are too low. Before I had a Dahon Jack D7, with 7 gears, which was lighter, also full-size, and the 7 gears were more useful than the 21 gears on the Tern Joe. However, the breaks on this bicycle are better, and the tires are better for breaking, which is important. The Dahon Jack has a middle-bar, which makes it better for lifting - when carrying this bycicle up stairs, two hands are always required. However, overall the Tern Joe feels like a better, more stable bicycle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nickname312839828970
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no mudguards
I havnt got to use this bike properly as a day in day out commuter yet but Ive had a few long scenic trips on it and I really like this bike. Its fast and comfortable but they could have provided mud guards. It folds down really easily and looks great. I would recommend this bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Adam527
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great folding Bike

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Good quality parts, comfortable ride and perfect for communting or sunday cycling. Super easy to fold/unfold. perfect for storing at home, or work or throwing in the back of the car for day trips.
Though not the lightest bike out there, it was about 5lbs lighter then my previous bike (old non-folding mountain bike, 10+ years old).
I have a really steep hill near my house that I have to climb everyday. The lightness of the gears and weight make climbing it much less daunting.
The front derailer does tend to touch the chain at the lower and higher ranges. My last bike allowed me to make minor changes to the derailer position using the thumb leavers, so I was a little disappointed that the Tern gears couldn't do the same.
Overall really happy with the bike, just a couple of niggles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigBigAl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great full size folder

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After 2 years on a 20" I was desperate for a decent full size and very glad I went for this. Its a joy to ride and feels like a "proper" bike you can forget you're on a folding bike and does become a leisure bike you can use full time. I can now use the same bike for work and taking the kids out. Also works with a tag along trail gator too.
Its very light to carry up and down steps etc. There is a stand that does reduce your clearance though. Folding is very quick and I take this on the overground everyday. It wont stand up on its own on a train when folded and its not that small so if its very crowded its awkward... If you have a busy route get an 16" I guess. But when folded it is tidy so not much bigger than a standard 20" fold up and I would take this on the tube when not packed. Rolling the bike when folded isnt too slick though so this bike can be a bit clumsy when compared to a brompton.
Tern says its not for offroad use yet style it like a mountain bike especially with fat wheels. My next upgrade will be to replace the wheels and tyres for something lighter and quicker. Despite the offroad notice the bike is fine on forest tracks etc, the tyres are a bit slippy in mud though.
The handle bars feel oversized and considering it has to fold these seem to get in the way. Tern expect you to undo a nut on the stem and put the bar on at 90 degrees. This is fine for a car journey but not much fun on a train platform and doesn't really save much space when on a train. I'd think a folding stem would be more useful and probably will replace the stem and bars at some point depending on patience of rush hour travellers. The bike folds really well for a car boot still leaving space for other stuff!!
This is a great bike and very happy with its folding and ride-ability. I think if anyone buying this is using it for a very specific reason and therefore making modifications will be part of the course (So far I've added folding pedals and mudguards and will be changing the reflectors and adding seatpost rack for storage and looking into thinner wheels and smaller folding handlebar).
The Reading store staff were great at sorting this out too so very happy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chris22o
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Solid full size folder!

PostedJune 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: a bit on the heavy side
Great bike, upgraded from a smaller 20" wheeled folder and was worried that I would have trouble getting on the train but have had no worries yet. I can either leave it whole and put it in the designated place or fold it when busy and even just stand over it if train is rammed. Bike rides well, good components and you wouldnt think it was a folder when in use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JohnnyHo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Full size folder

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I was after a full size folder and so far haven't been disappointed. The Tern folds very quickly and is easily stored in my outside shed. The quality is good.
The only two items I'm considering changing are the pedals for something more robust and foldable plus possibly the tyres as I commute partly off road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lainey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Sheffield

A great set of folding wheels that does the job!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I already have a MTB but I bought this bike because it folds and fits nicely into the boot of my little car and is therefore more suitable for when I want a quick blast on the Pennine Trail. Unlike the Montague it is not too heavy to lift and folds in one piece. I really like the way the handle bars adjust both for riding and folding. I initially looked at the D24 but went for this one because of the sportier design and disc brakes. Excellent bike just what I was looking for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
J812
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good option for folding bike with large wheels

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, folds easily
I wanted a folding bike with full size wheels, and this the only one I've found that comes with great disk brakes. Been out on it 6 times on hilly and rough Welsh roads and compared to my old 271/4 ins road bike it feels comfortable and a bit quicker. Folds readily, strong looking hinge and will go in the large Tern stow bag once you get the technique right.
Not 5 stars because no guidance on getting pannier rack or mudguards to fit, though this is possible, and it arrived set up with the front forks the wrong way round.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SGAngel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Was a bit hesitant at first, what with the fold directly in the middle of the frame. However the solid construction of the plates that make up the hinge make it a very solid bike when riding. The folding mechanism is very easy. The tyres make for a very fast ride, bit can be a bit unstable leaning into a corner and hitting wet leaves.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elente
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid bike, feels like a non folder

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: accessories difficult to find
I used to own a Dahon Jack and looking for a replacement I came to know Tern and the Joe Model (basically a spin-off company from Dahon, same family and all).
I really loved my Jack and the Joe didn't disappoint me at all. The same lighting fast mechanism allows you to fold or unfold the bike in just 5 secs. I just love that feature.
I decided to go for the higher spec (disc brakes) model Joe after reading some reviews and don't regret it a bit.
Solid construction, a good ride, and it gives you all the advantages of a folding, namely:
- Take it on the tube/bus/overground (although if it´s rush hours or it´s too packed you'll get bad looks, or even TFL staff might ask you not to take it in)
- Take it on a black CAB! It might look frivolous, but a couple times it saved my life: 1) I was completely lost, exhausted and in a rush -so I said skew it let's take a cab- 2) I had a puncture at night
- Take it to a friends house and put it anywhere
- Take it home even if you live in a small flat.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windfarmer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Folding Workhorse

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Folds easily. Really like the tyres. I found the saddle a bit uncomfortable for first 20 miles but found it to be fine on a 75 mile ride. Good long distance bike for mixture of tracks and roads.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
borusa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

A good compromise between foldability and riding

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, stiff sturdy frame
Cons: bigger folded footprint
This is my 5th folding bike and my first with 26 inch wheels.
I have had problems with replacement rims on my 20inch Dahon and wanted a mount with robustness and standardised components.
I ride everywhere in town daily and my bikes tend to be pretty hammered after four years or so.
It can fold for train journeys although you need to stand with it and it is clearly too big for tubes or buses.
It is pleasant to ride and the Shwalbe Marathon Supreme tyres cope with irregularities on London roads admirably.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Duxy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Folding down the bike is easy !

PostedJune 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Just moved into a upstairs flat with no garage so only had limited space in my front porch .So started looking for a folding bike that would fit never knew you could get a 26" folding bike till i see the tern joe p24 on the evans website it looked great and phoned up my local store to book a test ride they ordered me one in straight away and i went the next week to try it out.I was very impressed with the look and ride of the bike you would not think you where on a folding bike. The only thing that i did was change the bars and added red grips might even put some red pedals on it in the future .Folding the bike down is very easy and only takes seconds :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

A great looking folder

PostedJune 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: no folding pedals as standard, good luck finding front mudguard
After moving flat, I needed a bike which takes up less space. I couldn't bear the idea of a Brompton-sized bike. There isn't a lot of choice in full-size folders but thankfully the Joe P24 isn't a compromise. It looks Cool and rides well. Changed the pedals for MKS-FD7 - why folding pedals aren't included is a mystery. Front mudguards are tricky to find and I had to visit another store as Evans did not appear to stock anything that would fit. Creaks a bit and have encountered the issue of the front disc brake making a noise as one pad doesn't seem to disengage. Some adjustments required I think. Overall very happy with the bike
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stivlo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Full size folding bike

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, folding
Cons: Heavy
It's a folding bike, but full sized. I am happy with it and I can store between the two entrance doors. I've a chain and d-lock fixed with a bracket under the saddle, but I've to remove them to be able to fold the bike. It rides well, even if the saddle is hard and I had to get used to it (painful in the beginning).
The front wheel brake was noisy for the first two days (not only when braking but all the time), but the noise went then away, so maybe is just a kind of initial adjustment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lutijen

Great value for money

PostedMay 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bought this wonderful bike a few weeks ago and it has been serving well. It accelerates quickly, gears and discs work smoothly and it is stable. I'd recommend this product to all 'entry' enthusiasts.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dominicall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

A great bike for commuting and training rides

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I decided to get back into cycling but needed a folding bike to bring on the train into London every day.
After a bit of research I decided on the Tern Joe P24 and I haven't been disappointed. In fact, quite the opposite. I love it.
From the commuting perspective it folds quickly and easily which makes it perfect. It doesn't fold down as small as a Brompton - but then it never would with 26" wheels.
From a training perspective it's heavier than a road bike but I don't see this as too much of a problem - it helps generate the strength and power :-)
I ordered the Shimano M324 SPD Pedals pedals to replace the standard ones as recommended in another review. When it comes to replacing the tyres I'll probably put some smaller tyres on (1.5s rather than the supplied 1.9s) but otherwise I'm very happy.
As an all rounder it's a great bike for those that need a folder to take on the train but would like something to train on as well.
Oh, and I often get admiring glances (for the bike obviously) which is cool.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ReadingPete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

At last a big-wheel folder at a sensible price!

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Having looked at Airnimal bikes for years and been put off by the price, here's a great alternative for someone looking for some commuting iron but not wanting to pay the earth.
If you can get away with a simple fold - to put in the back of a car, say - then this bike is ideal. And of course big-wheel ride and handling is so much better than 16s or 20s.
My mods were -
1. changed the rear cassette for a road one - no hills on my ride to work
2. got some cheap mudguards that seem to keep the worst of the muck off
3. changed the fat 1.9in Schwalbes for some better-sized Vittoria 1.5in tyres - makes a lot of difference to the ride
4. clipless pedals and saddle from my old small-wheel folder
So, if you only need to be able to get the bike in the back of a car then consider this bike - it fits EASILY in our Focus estate, but you'd need the back seats down in a hatch. If you're doing a train-commute, then I'd stick with a small-wheeler - this bike doesn't fold that small and isn't so easy to handle when folded.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tern Joe P24 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NunzioC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Good commuting bike

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: could be lighter, junk pedals
I have been commuting about 25 km per day on this bike from west to central London for more than two weeks. I am very satisfied with the performance of the bike so far. It is not the lightest nor the fastest, but it is an agile urban commuting bike, and easy to to store (in my city-size dwelling). Other than the cheap pedals (which have been replaced with SPD ones), everything else on this bike are of decent quality. I believe this bike is good value for those who commute medium distances and live in urban settings with limited storage space.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>