Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike

Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike

Overall rating:
4.426 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
59 out of 61(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer reviews for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Review 1 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bigwill79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

A very good buy

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Got this bike on the ride to work scheme and have as yet not found any fault with it. it's very comfortable and easy to use. Relatively quick too! Gears work well and make the commute an ready one for me.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigManonWeeBike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good Sturdy Folding Bike

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought this bike for commuting a few miles each way from work rather than sit in the car trying to get out of the estate where i work at 5pm.
I'm 6ft 3in with a 34 inside leg at this bike fits me though seat and handle bar height are at the maximum points.
I find it comfortable to ride and it feels very sturdy and i can get up a decent rate of speed.
When folded it fits in the boot of my Dacia Duster though there is not to much room for much else though you could fit a couple of bags of shopping.
I was dubious about buying a bike like this in relation to my height but this thought soon popped out my head when i was whizzing past all the cars that were sitting waititng to leave the estate where i work.
The Bike is a little heavy so i dont know how it would be to carry it on a train or bus but at the moment that is not a concern for me so i give the bike 5 stars and it is worth the £320 i paid for it plus have the added bonus of the 6 week free service check up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Bike

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Perfect, easy to fold and unfold and rides really well, would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AlanBG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent for commuting

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, needs a clip for folding
This is my first small-wheeled bicycle, bought for those days when I might need to opt-out of cycling home in the rain, but don't want to wait to leave the office until 7pm, after which I can take a full-sized bike.
It does that very well. It's a bit heavier than I would like. I have taken it down the escalators at North Greenwich tube station (and up those at Westminster): that is doable but uncomfortable (yes, I know, there are lifts I could use). The magnets which supposedly hold the bike in its folded position is far too weak. A clip would have been better, and I've bought a bungee cord.
But it's good, and I'm using it for commuting virtually every day -- not the whole way, but a good chunk of it, and that's healthier than just taking the train.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
themandypo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great folding bike

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Loving my first folding bike - really useful for getting to and from the tube station, which is about a mile at each end for me.
Less good for longer rides - the high gear doesn't feel high enough but I can do my 5 mile commute comfortably.
It's still quite big when folded but fits in the boot of my car easily. Not particularly easy to fold and the magnet isn't great.
It came with mudguards fitted.
For the price, this is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
carolina82

Fantastic bicycle

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I'm very pleased with my Tern Link C7. It folds up very easily, are super comfortable to ride and suprisingly fast.
I can't recommend it enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CanuckInFinland
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Need a second Tern so husband stops taking mine!

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, it turns heads!
Cons: may require tuning after assembly
It's true, so far my husband has found several "good excuses" to take this bike :)
Preface: This bike replaces my 25 year old, 3-speed, steel city bike. It's a dream and so light weight in comparison. Let me take you through my new owner experience:
The bike arrived in fine condition, with all parts, in the standard EvansCycles bike box.
I put the bike together using the EvansCycles multitool (thanks!) and following the instruction manuals. It went together quickly and I noticed that some of the complaints in earlier reviews were addressed (plastic pad where the frame may scratch when folded).
I agree with one complaint - the magnets don't always hold the bike when folded, but since I plan on using a carry strap it's no problem. Experiment with grips for holding the bike.
The registration with Tern was also quick, if you know where to find the Service Tag (the manual explains where).
I was surprised at how solid and big this bike feels. I'm 5'10" and my husband is 6'2" and we are both comfortable on it. The seat and handle bars have incredible range. The small wheels and frame style give the bike a slightly top heavy feeling, but the sensation goes away with use.
Now for my two complaints, neither of which would prevent me from buying another Tern or buying from EvansCycles:
Complaint to Tern: While setting up the bike, I knocked the front logo, the plastic plate broke off the bike, the logo fell off the plate and I'm left with two threaded holes :( I'll fix it myself, but I like the logo! It's nice!
Complaint to the world at large: After a few minutes of riding, the spokes settled and the front tire began aggressively rubbing against the brakes. After oiling the brakes, adjusting the brake and wheel, and tweaking the spokes it was OK and is rock solid, A+, top notch. I think a less competent bike user would have freaked out. Maybe increase testing to include a short ride by a heavier person?
Summary: Excellent. Would buy again. Need a second one at home already. We're sold on Tern / EvansCycles. Have a nice day :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Perfect starting folding bike

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Thinking about getting a folding bike?
Get this - saves you loads of money, folds nicely, wheels are just big enough for it to get to a good speed.
Better for your health! Good fun, a great bike.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Jonno07
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

terrible!

PostedJune 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy
I had hoped that despite this bike not being top of the range it would still be reliable as it's not cheap!
Since day one the bike's handle bars have squeaked due the way in which it's designed, which is infuriating! Also the peddle snapped off mid ride. However these pale into insignificance when considering the poor quality of the bike as a whole.
I recently booked it for a service and having had it for only a year and riding only a couple of miles a day I expected it would require just a few minor tweaks. However, I was faced with a bill for £190 to fix a long list of problems.
My advice is to save up and spend more on a higher quality folding bike, it will be cheaper in the long run.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMMM
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

great ride, pretty heavy to carry

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This is an excellent bike for commuting. I travel about 7 miles each way - and the Terninator handles potholes and hills well. It doesn't keep up with the racing bikes, but it keeps up with everyone else.
It folds into a size roughly a third bigger than a folded Brompton. It is slightly unwieldy and heavy to carry (not wanting to squash chains / mudguards) - but I am 5.2ft - and wouldn't present a problem for a man or larger woman to hold it away from self. However, not having to lug heavy D lock and wire around more than makes up for stumbling inside with folded bike.
It is super fun and very good value for money. Also my 6ft husband has borrowed it and found it comfortable.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ReaddyEddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great basic low cost folding bike.

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this very much as a distress purchase to use on a multi train stage commute. It's proved very versatile for both the commute and short local rides to the shops and so forth. I've ridden 10 miles a day with it for several weeks now and had no issues. I've taken it on inter city as well as local trains and on couple of occasions the fold has been crucial to getting on the train. If you're considering a move back to cycling after a break of a few years it's also got benefits as the riding position is not as extreme either a hybrid or true road bike. Finally the 20 inch wheel is a better comprise between manoeuvrability, stability, and cost than other models achieve. I've added MKS EZY pedals, a front truss and will add a rear rack. If I'd had a bigger budget more gears would have been good. The front truss fitting matched an existing bag of some vintage.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gbenga1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Classical 7

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this bike to commute from house to train station and very glad I did.....Very difficult to fault this tern link C7,folds nicely,reasonably light and smooth gearing.
I will recommend this bike
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
smifaye
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Good fold up bike for great value

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, medium sized wheels
Cons: large fold, requires maintenance
I bought this bike in the summer to speed up my commute to work every day and I wanted to ride a bike again. I was living in a 2nd floor flat at the time and buying a standard bike like a hybrid or something just wasn't feasbile. I decided to go for a fold up bike. Of course I started looking for Bromptons and soon found out that I would never be able to justify the price of one. I stumbled across Terns just browsing and was impressed by the price but was not too sure of what the quality would be like.
One thing that is good about this bike is the size of the wheels, they are slightly larger than a brompton and most other fold ups. They are still fairly small in comparison to standard bikes but what is good about this is that acceleration away from junctions is actually really good and you can beat those trendy's with their fixies ;). The larger wheel also makes it look a little more like a standard bike which is something I like.
The folding mechanism for this bike is a little bit tricky to get used to and I had to re-align the magnets on the wheels to ensure that it would lock together but once you’ve got it sorted you can unfold and fold in about 10 to 15 seconds. It is a lot more bulky than a Brompton and you couldn’t fit it in a luggage rack on the train, but I haven’t needed to do this as I don’t catch the train. I have seen other people keep it by the door of trains and they don’t get in the way very much.
One thing to note is that after a while the lock mechanism for the seat comes lose after a while. Especially if you are going over speed bumps. You definitely can’t abuse this bike as it will cry out in pain after a few trips back and forth to work. It is very easy to re-tighten the locking mechanism with a little twist but can be quite annoying when the seat falls down mid ride. Another mechanical thing that needs a bit of attention is the brakes. After just a couple of months they were already worn out and depressing them all the way doesn’t really do much.
Overall I would recommend this bike to anyone that doesn’t have the space for a full size bike and doesn’t need the small folding size of a Brompton. It is great value for money and good fun to ride. It has got me back into cycling but now I’ve moved flat I am buying a Scott Sub Speed 40 2014 as I can fit that in my flat and I don’t have to go up any stairs.
Also I got it in black as the white would get really dirty!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cag01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

excellent quality

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great little bike. Good to ride and has been used to commute partway since purchase. A little unweildy when folded but I will get a bag for it before using the train.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
future
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Does the job!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Wanted a folding bike to ride from where I park the car, to the office - about a mile and 1/2. I didn't want to spend a fortune on a Brompton and the Tern seemed the best alternative. Used it now for a month and it's ideal. Doesn't fold up as small as a Brompton but fits well into a VW Golf boot.
Easy to fold though does take a couple of go's to get the right steps. Well made and rides well - especially as I'm 6 foot 2.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
farrarons
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great small bike. I use it to go to work and is just perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JeffH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great value for money

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Only had this bike for 2 weeks but I am very impressed. It does everything I want from a folding bike. Covered 20 odd miles yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed it.
All the bits seem reasonably made and I hope that it proves reliable in the long term. Height adjustable steering is a big plus for a 6 footer.
The only downside for me is that I would like the higher gears beefing up a bit but I guess that wouldn't suit everyone. I may look into a gear upgrade.
Overall very happy so far and good value for money at £300
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erl1
Country:Norway
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love it!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I use the Link C7 on my commute to work every day and absolutely love it. It's well-built, looks good and folding it gets really easy after having done it a few times.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reginaldo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great ride, great price.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought my Tern Link C7 on impulse thinking it might be fun to keep in the car so I can take the odd ride when I'm out and about, but without the fuss of fitting the cycle rack.
I'm absolutely delighted with it. It's reasonably light, quick and easy to put up, rides beautifully and is just as easy to stow away. And I particularly like the twist grip gear change. The seven speed gearing is a bit limited if you're looking at top speeds and serious hills but it's ideal for tootling about or commuting.
One slight problem I found is that the seat pillar tends to drop very slowly as you ride, but I fixed this by putting a bit of plastic tape around it at the point where it enters the seat tube, which also serves to show the correct position when putting it up. All in all the C7 is a fantastic buy which also looks great. Love it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tern Link C7 2013 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ragemart
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great for the price.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: bulky when folded, a bit bumpy
While this isn't the best bike in the world, it's really great for the price. I use it for a ~4 mile commute and it's fine for that.
I bought it so that I could fit it in my tiny flat - the folding ability really helps, but the folded-up bike is still quite bulky so it might not be good for people who need to take it on the train/fit it under desks/in the car boot etc.
The ride is a lot bumpier than my old mountain bike, but I'm told that actually the bumpiness is worse with more expensive folding bikes as they are lighter, although I haven't tried any out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>