Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike

Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike

Overall rating:
4.516 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 31(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Review 1 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

I am very pleased with this buy

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this bike a month ago in order to commute, involving a train journey. The bike is great for cycling around, although my ride to the station iunvolves a steep enough hill for me not yet to be able to cycle up it in the lowest gear - you may wish to consider your journey and your fitness levels! The bike folds easily and stows into the end of carriage luggage area. so far, I think this bike is good value for money
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ahbee23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value folding bike

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, steady and sturdy
Very pleased with this bike which I use for my commute to and from work, including a train journey. Not the smallest folder when collapsed but still pretty compact and extremely quick and easy to fold/unfold. Slightly larger size means that it's a dream to ride - nice and stable, with a good selection of gears - though probably best if you don't have to lug it far when it's folded as it's not the lightest (but not punishingly heavy, either!) Altogether, a great buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
troubleshooter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great overall but

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
For a folding bike it was a shame that they couldn't get the design of the magnetic catch right. Every time you fold it it just pops undone again as the magnet is just not strong enough.
A real shame as otherwise the bike performs like a full size machine, is easy to use, comfortable and not too heavy and not bad value for a folder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Elephantcastle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality and value

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
More than suitable for my short commute into work. Decent speed to peddling ratio. Folds easily. Not light enough to be carrying around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nick56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

A great bike

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first bike in a few years having had a Marin mountain bike previously. My concerns about small wheels and frame soon disappeared as I passed many other cyclists and without trying. It carries me, 15 st, and gear easily. It's comfortable and I feel in control. I almost forgot I bought it because its folds which it does quickly.
I'm really pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stevie3599
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

this bike is exactly as expected. great value.

PostedJune 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, comes with mudguards and rack fitted
Been followinging Tern and Evans websites for a while so new all about the spec off this bike.
Already own another folding bike so I had a good idea what to expect. This has better specification . Needed more gears for hills .Have ridden Mountain Bikes , Hybrids and road bikes over 20 years . Folding bikes are now my bike of choice . Number one selling point has to be being able to get it in your car easily . Or on public transport . This model fitted all my requirements . very good gear range. A rack is always very handy . No need to lug rucksacks with waterproofs and other paraphernalia . If you've never ridden a folder go for a test ride . There is little difference in feel from a so called 'proper bike' .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Readjon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent folding commuter bike

PostedJune 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
An excellent folding commuter bike. Weighs just over 12kg which makes it a reasonable weight - not the lightest but not the heaviest. The 8 gears provide a useful range with all gears provided being useful and none are a waste.
The included klickfix rack on the rear is great but what would be better is more klickfix bags of suitable sizes for commuters with laptops.
I added the luggage truss and the kanga and this works really well, holding an additional bag on the front with a very quick and easy release from the bike.
All in all it is a great package for the price - to me it seems a better price/quality/spec ratio than the other more expensive makes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happypotato
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Perfect in so many ways

PostedJune 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, aluminium frame, ultra cheap, reinforced brackets
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy, Expensive, Unattractive, Uncomfortable
It was love at first sight. Why this bike is the champ;
Much faster than a brompt0n because it has bigger wheels & half the price, It folds within 5 seconds and is small enough to take on public transport. Very light easily carry-able. Better than the tern link C7 as has reinforced brackets & better gears with a much larger range & feels more comfortable to ride. This is a wonderful bike. you will not regret buying it. the magnetic clip is not an issue. I often find myself overtaking many of the large bikes on the road. AMAZING THE BEST OPTION !
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brumbear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Far better than I believed

PostedMay 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, quick, fast and easy fold
Cons: steerer clamp easy to catch, sponges v brakes
I've given this four stars, because there's always room for improvement.
In the case of this bike though not much. First off let me make it clear. I am a club cyclist with years of experience and my bike stable includes. Two carbon road bikes both Campagnolo equipped.one is a T.T. bike. A track bike ( I race) and. High end Commencal MTB.
I bought the Tern, because I am commuting to London and its easier ( and lest costly to damage) on the train. I had the mickey taken by all my club mates, but I defend this little thing to the hilt.
I think Bromptons are way overpriced for what they are and are slower, less stable and heavier than my Tern. The Tern doesn't fold up as small as a Brompton but so what? It still fits in luggage racks on all trains.
It's aluminium which sets it way ahead of the Brompton as its lighter and won't rust. It also has 20" wheels which make it faster too. Couple that to an 8 speed SRAM grip shift derailleur ( which is actually on a proper cassette) and you have quite a sophisticated nippy machine. I checked on my gearing chart and the top gear gives me 88" of travel for one turn of the cranks......that's about as heavy as I like to use on the track ( not the road admittedly) but for a folding commuter....bloody excellent.
Folding it down normally takes me about 5 seconds.
Disadvantages? Two and only two. When stopping at traffic lights etc. remember to keep your knee clear of the clamp on the steering tube. I nearly had a couple of scary moments until I got used to it. Second. I've never been a fan of V brakes. They feel like I'm squeezing a bathroom sponge, but I'm going to set them up better this weekend.
Don't hesitate to buy. Far better than the cachet of riding a poncey Brompton. The staff at Holborn where I bought mine could not have been more helpful and friendly
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
somewheresilver
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Gender:Female

Very versatile, enjoyable ride

PostedMay 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Having not ridden in several years I was a little unsure how I would get on with a folding bike, however I need not have worried. I have found the D8 to be a very versatile bike for the various commuting leisure trips I make; with a luggage rack it is a very practical bike and the folding mechanism is easy to use. My only complaint about the ride was the saddle, though that was easily replaced.
Although I would not want to carry it a great distance when folded due to the size and weight (I am fairly small) it is not unmanageable once you get the hang of it, and does fit in a Mini - that was the decider for me! I would definitely recommend a bike bag however otherwise you will end up with marks from the chain on your trousers when carrying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fionntan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value for the price

PostedMay 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: somewhat weak magnetic catch
As someone who dabbled in folding bikes in the early 00's, my enduring impression of them was not good: I remember them being unreasonably heavy, hard to ride, uncomfortable and complicated to fold (resulting in plenty of bruised fingers). But, since moving to London, I've found myself once again in need of one. And so it was with some trepidation that I picked up the Tern Link D8.
Thankfully, my preconceptions could not have been more wrong!
Not only is the D8 great value for money, but it's much closer to the experience of riding a full sized bike than the folding bikes I remember. The body is sturdy and well made, and while not exactly lightweight (you wouldn't want to be carrying it over long distances), it's certainly folds down into a compact, easy to manage package. The folding joints are likewise well made, and make use of a great quick-lock/release system. It should also be said that the wheel size (20 inch) is a good compromise between portability and rideability.
One of the problems I always had with folding bikes was the tendency of the seat post to slip down when riding over rough surfaces. Again, this is another problem that seems to have been solved: the seat feels secure and I haven't had it slip down on me yet. Indeed, the whole bike feels sturdy and rides comfortably even though, at 6'2 and 230lbs, I'm close to the max rider dimensions. So don't be afraid to give this bike a try big guys!
There are a couple of minor issues: The handlebar folding joint has a little flex in it and tends to become quite creaky, though in truth it doesn't appear to be in danger of wearing out, and the noise can be stopped by adding a little grease to the joint; also the magnetic catch that secures the wheels together when the bike is folded is a little weak for my liking, though you probably won't be carrrying it for much of a distance.
The general advantages to a folding bike are numerous: easy to store, easy to bring with you on a car or on public transport and less likely to be stolen as you can keep it with you inside at home and at work. To this the D8 adds value for money, attractive design, a relatively comfortable riding experience and good performance and durability even when compared to a regular bike. All in all, a real winner!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bartsmart
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Quite good

PostedMay 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not as fast as full size bikes
My first bike after 20 years, bught for daily commuting to/from work.
As a pro I would highlight the way how it is folding nicely - I can put it under my desk and it takes minimum time. Build quality is also on the high, I love how the tyres allow me to go into bents thanks to great grip.
Also bike is quite zippy and has decent breakes, SRAM shifter is pretty good too.
Easily the fastest from the lights and not the slowest on the strights :)
Had to buy a new saddle - a more padded version and luckily nothing else so far.
In first week I visited the shop twice, first time with the rear derailler shifting on its own and on the next day went with some strange squeeks from the head tube - both times had to wait a little bit in the shop and sorted.
People at work like the look of it and also least expensive from the selection of folding bikes so if you are thinging about it dont hesitate. This bike has some great videos on Youtube so go and have a look if you want.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hyreil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Flexible usage

PostedMay 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Quick delivery with excellent condition. Very fast assemble and easy to store. Used by my wife and I for leisure. Good product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bebax75
Country:Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

this bike is superb, the right option for me!

PostedMay 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: there isn't easy wheels similar to brompton bikes!
Tern Link D8 Folding Bike is an amazing bike. I've been cycling to work and I am doing around 60 miles per week (both cycle lane and carriageways).
It is sturdy, lightweight and confy. It is smooth and looks great due to the design and well-equipped items coming with it.
Recently, I went for a ride with my my miss on the countryside and many locals and pro-cyclists were gob-smacked to see us riding up and down with our D8 folding bikes. We put a smile on their faces and we were the focus of attention in every village we crossed or stopped by!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hels67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

PostedMay 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This bike is heavy and quite bulky for a fold up bike but it does the job. There is a pannier rack with bungees to strap my bag on. It seems as if I'm going nowhere when I ride this bike yet I am consistently riding faster every day. When you get into top gear, you can fly. Apart from the times when I have to carry this, I'm thoroughly enjoying my new bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
winnit2305
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well built, stylish and very good value for money

PostedApril 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I needed a fold up bike that could be used for family outings and then stored away in a cupboard. The Tern D8 fits my needs perfectly. It also looks a stylish package with the black seat and steering posts and feels solid without any suggestion of flex in the frame or steering post.
I'm not a fan of twist grip gear changers but the SRAM components are light and easy to use, so no complaints. The folding mechanisms are well designed look good and work superbly.
If I wanted to commute on a train then maybe the D8 wouldn't score quite as good then as its fairly heavy and like many makes the chain is on the outside, but for a stylish, space saving run around that won't break the bank it's perfect!
The bike was ordered on-line and arrived in perfect order, Thanks Evans Cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dpm23
Country:United Kingdom

Expectations Honoured

PostedApril 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The only reason I don't give this bike 5 stars is because this is the first time I've done a review ! I found the on-line reviews helpful in narrowing down what we were looking for and this bike fills our particular brief. We were looking for something 'for the weekend' to throw in the back of the car or take on a train or plane NOT a Brompton style commuter. I'm amazed just how stiff it is even out of the saddle - so that with the decent gear range means it can take on a bit more incline than I expected. The price for that is something that I wouldn't want to have to carry for any great distance as the M-fold is a bit fussy and the magnet catches are of more use to stop the front and rear stays from scratching than to hold the fold in. Looked at various other folders before deciding to go with the Terns ( a bit of a leap of faith when you're a Dawes die-hard!). Among the Terns D7i seemed bit extravagant for our purposes and couldn't justify the extra dough for Q/R hubs and an extra gear on the P9. We'll use the money saved buying 2 of them for a saddle upgrade and a weekend away ! Anyone looking for a weekend leisure bike could do worse than get one of these. ( If it helps I have a Galaxy for touring/camping and a hard-tail for kicking about towns and tracks.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FreeSpirit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

This bike looks and feels like the real deal.

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Originally went for the C7, but changed my mind for the C8. When it was delivered was very pleased with the change. C8 came with a rear carrier, mudguards and prop stand. Quality of the engineering looks very good as is the finish. Look forward to riding bike when the weather permits.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JAlex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Highly recommended for the price (£350)

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This bike was a very good deal: £350 shipped, mudguards, rack, kickstand all included!
Its immediate rival is Dahon Mu P8 which I don't have but think is a better and nicer bike for more money. I do have the Dahon Eco C7 though, that I love, which competes against the lower end Tern Link C7.
This Link D8 boasts very nice joints and the "N" folding system, on the minus side it seems a sloppier put together than the Dahons. By the way Evans, it arrived slightly scratched, with a damaged saddle plus I had to adjust the derailer myself! The included spanner and bike tool was a nice touch though..
I really don't like the cheesy Sram shifter-numbers are hard to read compared to the clean and uncluttered Microshift shifter from my Eco.
I got the matte black, nice but it shows every scratch!
Mudguards are SKS, shiny easy to scratch black plastic, I do prefer Dahon's again here.
The stock saddle is completely garbage, went straight to the lanfill-which is OK as I use a Brooks Flyer (£60 from Amazon) anyway (got a Brooks 67 for my Eco which came with quite a decend saddle).
It takes a while to get used with the derailler-shifter system (rapid rise), it works the opposite way than a regular one. To be honest, I always wanted a hub gear but it's been too expensive for me.
Overall, I am happy, for this budget get one, I did!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tern Link D8 2012 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adopar

Great bike for the city

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This Tern bicicle has proven to be a great investment. Works great, easy to fold and get the job done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>