Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate

Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate

Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate
Review 1 for Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orangemishy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

solid break pads

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
solid set of break pads and easy enough to replace without being a bike mechanic expert.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Remedy111
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Not installed these yet but should be fine

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've not had the chance to install these brake pads yet on my Avid ELixir 5's; but having read good reviews I went in and bought them in my local Nottingham Evans and got a 10% reduction with my CTC membership card.
Metal sintered should last longer than organic resin for muddy sandy trails. Watch this space for an update in a few months (if I remember) regarding ease of installation, long term performance, and durability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MTBRick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Good pads as expected from original manufacturer

PostedMay 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having read reviews of pads not made by Avid, I decided to replace my trashed pads with originals from the manufacturer. They are simple to fit and work great. They replaced a set that had lasted well over 1200 miles and finally got trashed in an epic muddy MTB ride over the North Downs. Good value as I was able to price match - you get what you pay for and I prefer to replace my stuff with the equivalent or better of what was there before!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ShaunD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin!

PostedMay 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Put these in your bike, pull the brake levers, and it stops - just like magic. Amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
steplewie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Work well but wear fast

PostedApril 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: work
Cons: wear
these pads are easy to fit, stop the bike well but last a about two-three months in winter. Yet to experience a summer with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisP69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Brake pads

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The last set of these lasted 12 months. Very good product and not too expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saunders
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superior stopping power.

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Quality product, well made and most importantly...Work !!
I use these all year round and theyve never let me down. Rain or shine, Lee Quarry or Llandegla they always give consistant reliable braking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigBlueSky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good replacement brake pads

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Impressed, easy to fit to my Giant Trance X4. 2 types of retaining pin provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Avid Elixir Disc Brake Pads Sintered Compound Steel Backplate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichieB666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these to replace the existing pads on my Trek Superfly AL 29er. The original brakes screeched like crazy but so far these replacements are very quiet and smooth and more importantly they work too !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.