Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddle & Handlebar Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Deuter Energy Bag

Deuter Energy Bag

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Deuter Energy Bag
Review 1 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wattie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful bag.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, secure fit
This is a small bag, but used as an addition to pockets on the back of my jersey, it is useful for on-the-go snacking - ideal for a flapjack, some sweets, keys, or money.
There are larger bags available, but I like this as it fits snug and securely to the frame, whilst not getting in the way when you need to come off the saddle (which for me is quite often!).
Can not comment on how weather-proof it is, as not used in the rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
psronan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

perfect

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Well designed & just the right size
Enabling food (jelly babies) to be available throughout the ride
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TonyRH
Country:Spain

PostedMay 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great and cheap producto with good quality. I do recomend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lorlorz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great!

PostedMay 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Lovely little bag, fits neatly on to cross bar. good addition to saddle bag, ideal for phone, energy gels etc. Handy side pocket.
Not much more to say!!! Would recommend, seems better quality than some other makes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
edthelizzard
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but could use some improvements.

PostedApril 2, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: improvable straps
First of all, this was my first purchase with Evans Cycles and it went great, thanks.
On the product itself, not being my first Deuter product, the good quality did not surprise me.
However I have to say that there are two details that I would recommend changing:
The first is adding some sort of padding on the bottom of the bag, I bought this mostly to carry my bike light's battery pack, and since I ride on a carbon frame bike I've already added some custom padding to the bottom for fear of frame damage from it bouncing about from bumps on the pavement.
The other is updating the straps, and I mean all of them. Both in terms of size, shape and materials used. The bag has 4 straps, two on the front to fix the bag against the steering tube and two on the bottom to strap it to the frame's top tube. All of them are too long in length, are made of a material that is too flexible and the strapping system belongs to the stone age. Also, one of the front straps is completely useless unless you use a steerer tube extension. I cannot imagine mounting this on a classic chromoly frame, for the velcro to stick, the bag would just flap about, uselessly. Come on Deuter, you made an otherwise very good bag, what's your excuse for the stone age straps? Think about using some stiffer material, some plastic bits that won't scratch the frame, some updated velcro, only one, more thought out, front strap... and you'll have a 5 star product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rockstar1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

solution to rummaging in pockets

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, does the job!
I don't have a posh cycling jersey with pockets on the back, so had been struggling with some stupid pocket on my sleeve. Got fed up of having to take my winter glove off to be able to open the jacket zip.
This bag, although it doesnt really go with the clean lines look, is incredibly practicle, and makes getting some gel quick and easy. Has a side pocket which I use to poke the empty wrappers in and is easy to wipe the sticky residue out of, rather than gunking up my gear. Super.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tenby467
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Deuter Energy Bag

PostedApril 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The Deuter is a nice medium sized energy bag that can store gels and keys/money etc in seperate zipped areas, which are easily accessible on the move. When attached to the top tube it's size means that it will not catch your inside short legs especially when climbing. It is a closed design, so provides weather proofing for any carried items.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Billyjean2004
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Quality

PostedApril 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I wanted a gel bag for longer rides as i find it hard sometimes to get things out of my jersey pockets. The quality of the item is great, it looks good and is just what I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.