Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddle & Handlebar Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Deuter Energy Bag

Deuter Energy Bag

Overall rating:
4.471 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Deuter Energy Bag
Review 1 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wattie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful bag.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, secure fit
This is a small bag, but used as an addition to pockets on the back of my jersey, it is useful for on-the-go snacking - ideal for a flapjack, some sweets, keys, or money.
There are larger bags available, but I like this as it fits snug and securely to the frame, whilst not getting in the way when you need to come off the saddle (which for me is quite often!).
Can not comment on how weather-proof it is, as not used in the rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BassoGirl
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

low profile design that fits everything you need

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had a bigger bag that i wanted to replace for a more subtle one and this one caught my eye. It fits gels, bars, half banana in the main compertment, and the side is good for a key, lip balm or coins.
Sits snug on the bar without being too intrusive. Easy to access whilst riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
laceypa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Good product, but quite small

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: small
Bought this as i was doing my first sportive this year and wanted something to carry extra provisions on the ride. This little bag is very easy to fit and remove. Has a small zip pocket to the side that can hold a credit card and a bit of cash.
the actual capacity of the bag itself is very small, so it will only hold say half a dozen gel packs, or fewer bars. A combination of this and stuffing my shirt pockets for the ride saw me easily through my first 100 mile sportive with no need to rely on the organised hubs for food (but obviously did for drinks!). However it really is quite weeny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sioux305
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very good bag - if it fits your bike

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Useful size, I wanted a bag to put my phone and keys in that was where I could see it. This small bag does that but I can only attach it with two straps, the third underneath strap not being long enough to go around the top tubes that come together where they meet the upright (Trek Cali). Having said that, it is stable and held on using just two straps but I will need to replace the third strap with a longer Velcro strap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul999

Perfect for feeding on the move

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought this just before Ride London 100. Easy to fit, does not move about. It holds 4 gels and an energy bar and makes them easy to reach without stopping. Enough energy for a long ride. Stored some money in the side pocket. It is not waterproof but does not claim to be. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MadDick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Small but sweet

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
It's meant for energy gels, but unless yiou're the type that need a dozen or so, there's room for a couple of clementines as well as the car keys in the zip pocket at the side. You don't really need anything bigger otherwise you would be banging it with your knees when you're standing in the pedals.
The velcro fastening holds it secure albeit the straps are bit long for my skinny steel frame - be a better fit on a carbon frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonny29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Good fit, good price

PostedJune 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this to supplement an 'under saddle bag' on my road bike. Fits well on frame, doesn't get in the way when riding, velcro straps hold it firmly in place. Large enough for an iPhone, keys and a couple of gels, with a zipped side pocket which takes a bit of cash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Koga
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality and fits well

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Perfect bag for some small items. It is not big but fits mobile phone, keys and if you wish gels.
Fits well on the bike and does not move at all.
Separate zip is handy for some cash or credit card.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KeithJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Ideal size for carrying snacks

PostedJune 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this product as I was planning to do a cycling challenge which meant spending most days riding. Last year I stuffed bars & bananas in my jersey pockets but found they became warm or melted. I saw this bag and thought that for around £11 what would be the harm. The bag fits in seconds, I've used it on my road and hybrid bikes. It can carry around 4 normal sized snack bars & has a handy side pocket for loose change. It proved quite good at being water resistant although if I was putting a mobile phone in there I'd probably put it in a plastic bag first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
danbird14115
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what is needed

PostedJune 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Small compact and well made. Big enough for energy gels or small snacks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
psronan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

perfect

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Well designed & just the right size
Enabling food (jelly babies) to be available throughout the ride
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TonyRH
Country:Spain

PostedMay 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great and cheap producto with good quality. I do recomend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lorlorz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great!

PostedMay 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Lovely little bag, fits neatly on to cross bar. good addition to saddle bag, ideal for phone, energy gels etc. Handy side pocket.
Not much more to say!!! Would recommend, seems better quality than some other makes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
edthelizzard
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but could use some improvements.

PostedApril 2, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: improvable straps
First of all, this was my first purchase with Evans Cycles and it went great, thanks.
On the product itself, not being my first Deuter product, the good quality did not surprise me.
However I have to say that there are two details that I would recommend changing:
The first is adding some sort of padding on the bottom of the bag, I bought this mostly to carry my bike light's battery pack, and since I ride on a carbon frame bike I've already added some custom padding to the bottom for fear of frame damage from it bouncing about from bumps on the pavement.
The other is updating the straps, and I mean all of them. Both in terms of size, shape and materials used. The bag has 4 straps, two on the front to fix the bag against the steering tube and two on the bottom to strap it to the frame's top tube. All of them are too long in length, are made of a material that is too flexible and the strapping system belongs to the stone age. Also, one of the front straps is completely useless unless you use a steerer tube extension. I cannot imagine mounting this on a classic chromoly frame, for the velcro to stick, the bag would just flap about, uselessly. Come on Deuter, you made an otherwise very good bag, what's your excuse for the stone age straps? Think about using some stiffer material, some plastic bits that won't scratch the frame, some updated velcro, only one, more thought out, front strap... and you'll have a 5 star product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rockstar1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

solution to rummaging in pockets

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, does the job!
I don't have a posh cycling jersey with pockets on the back, so had been struggling with some stupid pocket on my sleeve. Got fed up of having to take my winter glove off to be able to open the jacket zip.
This bag, although it doesnt really go with the clean lines look, is incredibly practicle, and makes getting some gel quick and easy. Has a side pocket which I use to poke the empty wrappers in and is easy to wipe the sticky residue out of, rather than gunking up my gear. Super.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tenby467
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Deuter Energy Bag

PostedApril 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The Deuter is a nice medium sized energy bag that can store gels and keys/money etc in seperate zipped areas, which are easily accessible on the move. When attached to the top tube it's size means that it will not catch your inside short legs especially when climbing. It is a closed design, so provides weather proofing for any carried items.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Deuter Energy Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Billyjean2004
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Quality

PostedApril 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I wanted a gel bag for longer rides as i find it hard sometimes to get things out of my jersey pockets. The quality of the item is great, it looks good and is just what I wanted.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.