Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike

Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike

Evaporite Three specification features Shimano Ultegra gearing with a compact 50/34T FSA Energy hollow-arm BB30 chainset. Light, shallow-drop FSA Wing Pro Compact AL7050 bars let you use the drops more often. The Cole C24 wheelset is light, fast and reliable.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike
Review 1 for Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wobbles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

First Roadbike is a dream

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: name
Ok... After a lot of shopping around and being left dazed by the wide choice out there, I bought the bike about 6 weeks ago from MK (great team). I've only managed 40 miles or so, due to the snow/ice/arctic gales this "spring" (yes I'm a wuss).
But the 40 miles so far (15 in a torrential downpour) have proved my first road bike purchase was a good one. Previously only used to my hybrid so the lightness of the Evaporite was a real surprise. As was the acceleration, even up hills. Comfortable and surprisingly stable ride, even when hitting "stealth" potholes. The Kenda tyres worked really well in the rain, despite my nervousness at their tiny footprint on the road.
Not everyone will like the black on black with black highlights - bare carbon design, but I love it.
Negative??? The name? But what's in a name?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DougEFresh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Surprisingly good - eats the miles!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
When I got this bike home I couldn't wait to get out on it, on my first ride of the year I did 30 miles, then when i got off the bike it didn't feel anything like 30 miles, so i got back on and did another 30 miles.
This bike just eats the miles, it wants to keep going on and on, its so light and responsive you just want to keep going all day on it.
The carbon really helps, my last bike only had carbon forks but this new one seems to absorb much more of the vibration from teh road making it very comfortable over long distances.
I'd recommend this bike to anyone thinking of this level of spec/full carbon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grimmy83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great zippy ride

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I recently purchased an evaporite three as my first road bike, the ride has been zippy and with the attachment of some spd pedals I have so far broken a couple of my own speed records. This looks to be my best purchase of a bike ever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kickerlicker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great Quality

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A fabulous extremely lightweight bike that has really increased my overall speed both on the flat and up hills you just can't wait to get out on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lee73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Amazing bike!!!

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
If you are like I was and trying to find a good road bike for up to £1000 all I can say is find another £500 and buy this one it's amazing!
Previous to purchasing this bike I had not ridden a bike for 25 years but after my first outing I covered 20 miles on a very hilly route and at the end of it I felt as fresh as I did before the ride, this bike seems to do all the work for you!
I could go on forever praising this bike but at the end of the day the proof of the pudding is in the eating so all I can say is get down to your local Evans cycle store and take it for a ride and see for yourself!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davel75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

light, stiff, engaging

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Comfortable, all day performance. Not fully race-aggressive riding position but agile and open enough riding position to get the power down when you want to.
Compared very well with a Medone 3.2 in weight, speed of acceleration and line holding through the corners.
Ultegra kit is a joy to use and getting it in the sale made it extremely good value for money.
Colour scheme (or rather, lack of it) needs a bit of work but I'm being picky.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
keiro
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Just go and buy it!!!

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Brilliant bike I urge you to go give it a test ride and then just buy it. I don't want to bore you with a long and tedious review so I'll be quick and just say having had a few different road bikes over the years this is the best I've had. Like I said just go down to your local evans and give it a try and see for yourself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OlDirtyCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Excellent!

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I went into my local Evans to ask about another model of road bike and they had the Evaporite Three on display. We were going to use the Evaporite simply for sizing as I have only ridden MTB's recently. However I was hooked on the Evaporite the moment I sat in the saddle and left the store half an hour later having ordered the Evaporite. With the 25% discount and £100 of free accessories it would have been madness not to but the bike there and then.
The riding posture feels aggressive, getting you closer to the frame and that makes it great for zipping in and out of traffic. This is a very quick bike, with what seems to me to be a massive large chainring cranking out the speed without you even realising how fast you are going.
Best way to sum it up how quick this bike is would be to say that it shaved five minutes off the12.5k commute I do on my MTB without me even noticing it while cycling along.
Uphill though is where I did notice the difference. The Evaporite is so lightweight it just flies along without any effort, devouring hills and inclines with a very smooth motion.
I love this bike. True, there are flasher looking carbon bikes out there but if you want a road bike capable of devouring the miles at a serious pace then this bike is perfect. The stripped down look and feel adds to the appeal of this bike. It is eyecatching without being gaudy, aggeessive and the Ultegra group set works like a dream.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Evaporite Three 2012 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hump1893
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

An absolute stunner!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, exciting, different
I absolutely love this bike! I rode so many others on test rides, read hundreds of reviews, worried about which is the right bike to buy. But it's actually all about which bike is right for you - and this one got my pulse racing like nothing else. Yes, other bikes with bigger brand names had plusher rides, slightly better finishes maybe. None of that matters - all you need from a bike is that when you're sitting in the kitchen looking at it (i) you can't take your eyes off it and (ii) you want to jump on it and ride for miles. I had the biggest grin on my face after I test rode this - I felt sixteen again. It's so light, about 7.5kg, it just flies up the hills. It has been written elsewhere that the ride is harsh - totally untrue, it's very comfortable, just not plush - but it is exciting! If you want very plush and no excitement, there are other bikes to try. But if you want to fall in love with your bike, get down to Evans right now and test ride this one. And you will do just as well on the One and Two, if you're not bothered about having Ultegra.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.