Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Backpacks & Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack

Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack

Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Review 1 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
doniall
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wonderful bag

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, ingenious
So many zips and compartments! It's brilliant!
This bag is extremely comfortable to wear and full of little features that keep on surprising me!
Everything about it has been well designed and thought out. One fine example of this level of detail is the top chest buckle. This evening I noticed a little bump on it, and after investigating I found that it was also a safety whistle! Another example is how the bottom compartment can be merged with the largest compartment for when you need that extra space!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
samikins

Brilliant multi-functional bag

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
If you are a person who appreciates compartments, then this is the bag for you! I particularly like the compartment at the bottom for safe storage and the zippered pockets on the straps. It's the small details that make this bag brilliant! I researched many Osprey bags before purchasing this one but found this had the most features- similar to the momentum bag in many ways but with a much more comfortable back.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Faisal007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very durable .. Excellent quality..

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I got this bag to pack for an overnight bike camp trip. The bag has got lots of useful features and very roomy, key clips, great zippers. Only thing is it doesn't come with a hydration bladder but that wasn't an issue as I have another osprey hydration bladder. You will need to buy the magnetic clip separately though. You can also use it as a gym bag if you cycle to the gym. Very happy with the product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
51adam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Leaks after 30-40 uses

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, awful customer service from osprey
The bladder leaked through the seams after 30-40 uses. Osprey said they would not replace it since it was two months outside the warranty period. Very poor product and dreadful customer service from Osprey.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linus
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great backpack

PostedMay 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
I've been searching for the optimal backpack for years. I have bought so many that I have not been 100% pleased with. My wife told me that this is it - this is your last, no more backpacks after this one!
So far, I must say it is the best. Very close to being optimal! :)
I use it mainly for serious bike commuting with a full set of change (incl shoes). More space than I expected but the excellent fit and the low weight makes it a very nice bag!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bikejunkie
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good quality with a few glitches

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, great back vent
Cons: small locks
Good design, quality and details.
Very good back ventilation.
The locks are small and fiddly.
Good looks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
aha00
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Best backpack I have had

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This backpack is great, I was looking for a good day sack that I could use on the weekends and during the week for my daily commute. It holds everything I need, laptop, change of clothes, cycle tools, spare innertube etc.... Can all be organised into the different compartments, and I love the helmet attachement - beats it hanging off the bottom of my bag and hitting off my legs.
It is very comfortable and easily ajustable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SamiS
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great backpack!

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Feels great on your back, even packed fully! Money well spent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great bag with everything I need.

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
As a cyclist who commutes around 50 minutes a day I need a bag that's got everything. And this bag is great. Easy to reach pockets for essentials, waterproof compartments, rain-cover and large inside, it almost feels intuitive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tonnoman

Great product!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Very good for any situation. I'm very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IainAhh

Quality bag - Does the job well

PostedMay 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this bag as a replacement for an older pack.
I am glad I went for the biggest size as I use it for commuting and working away from home. It is not too bulky and fine as a walk around day bag. I like the supported formed back which spreads the weight well. Even with a heavy load. It will take a large 15" laptop with the main compartment opened up. The top and front pockets are useful and you can still get into them even when the main bag is full. Built in rain cover was a must for me, it works fine. I like the subtle but effective reflectors. The osprey helmet carrier idea is really good. The adjustable back is good too. It is well made and all the clips etc work well. Only draw back i can think of is there are no straps on the outside to carry extra stuff, but that does keep it neat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reefy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A fantastic pack, light, comfortable & practical

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I needed a backpack that could carry the usual commuting necessities. Laptop, wash bag, etc. but most importantly I needed something that was comfortable and non intrusive on my journey (it's a 22mile commute one way). The Osprey escapist series ticks all my boxes and more. Even when it's rammed and bordering on silly heavy, it's design and load bearing strap system mean the weight is evenly distributed across your back to the point you barely know you're wearing it.
A fantastic backpack I use for road & mountain biking with equal success and practicality.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Osprey Escapist 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boardio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Rucksack

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Really well thought out rucksack with plenty of pockets. I'm using for commuting and the 30l capacity is ideal, fitting in a 13 inch laptop easily in the main compartment and I'm pretty sure could go to 15/17. In addition has enough space for a weeks worth of clothes. Now using as a football bag with the bottom section to keep wet and dirty clothes separate. The separate pocket for the rain cover is also good meaning a dirty cover needn't mess other bits up.
The air flow to the back seems really good and the pack feels light even when full due to the comfortable hip belt.
It's replacing a North Face Borealis and it is a far better biking bag, although might not be able to hold quite as much.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.