Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre

Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre

Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kingofmolehills
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Get some road speed

Posted02 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, fast
Reckon I saved myself several hundred pounds buying these tyres to replace the bobbly off-road ones on my current bike. It's now transformed into a road racer, and I can put thoughts of a shiny new road bike to the back of my mind for a bit (they'll inevitably return). The bike handles a little bit differently (not better or worse, just more deflection than fatter tyres), but the real difference is the speed: downhill is much faster, and uphill is much easier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TonyJ64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great for a rear tyre

Posted16 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Bought this with my purchase of a turbo trainer to fit on my mountain bike as the previous tyre was 'knobbly'. Has made a big difference. Smooth and quiet. Obviously i can't tell you how it is on the road but its great in this role. There is no wear yet but haven't done many miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DavidJ58
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What I expected

Posted28 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought these tyres to replace the original design, second set of nimbus 26 x 1.4 I had worn out, so you could say I am a fan of this particular tyre. If this new design tread pattern lasts and performs as well as the previous model then I will be satisfied. I'm using them on a MTB converted for road/canal towpath use. They are reasonably fast, yet comfortable at 1.5 wide and you can run them at 35-65psi. I did not suffer many punctuers with the old design tyre, however only had these a month, so early days yet. They do appear to be a little thinner than the original design Nimbus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rhodes
Country:United Kingdom

Good tyres

Posted19 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought these for a trip down the Avenue Verte from Dieppe to Paris. On road test rides they certainly roll well and will see how they perform in France! Good buy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cardiobeats
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

First Road Tyres on MTB

Posted19 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
As i have signed up for some charity bike rides for The Christie, i needed to loose the treds, and go for some road friendly tyres, and these have fitted the bill perfectly. A really good solid tyre for the price, instant results and have smashed a lot of my personal best times on Strava :-) .. Increase in speed +3 - 5MPH, also great and fast, smooth on gravel trails, not tested in the mud yet, but there not really meant for that are they, Conclusion very Happy so far 10/10
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ohgrowup2001

Solid puncture-proof tyre

Posted30 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
My morning commute from Hammersmith to Heathrow takes me down the Great Western Road, through a dirty and debris filled bike lane, making my tyres a target for blowouts. The Nimbus has been rolling for a few weeks now after my last flat and performs great. Although the tread is a bit slick, the sturdy rubber gives a good ride and is resilient to the terrain I ride though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sntntn
Country:Italy
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

this product is important

Posted26 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
this product is very important to do long travel without any problem
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoneRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

No punctures

Posted23 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought a set of these tyres for my Corratec Miss C as I was getting more and more into riding on the road. I've been riding these for almost a year and about 3000 miles without a puncture. They also travel well on lightly packed NCN paths.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moggridge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5 tryes do the job perfectly

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, high performance
Popped these on my MB for harder flatter surfaces instead of the cycling through glue feel of 2.5 MB tyres. Having used them for routes consisting of Canal side slightly slippy tracks/railway paths with puddles and hard tarmac they have proved to be an excellent hybrid compromise.
The diagonal slit tread displaces water very well so have not induced slippage on wet hard surfaces and they have also performed well in more gluey conditions after rain by the canal bank.
Very impressed with performance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Andy248
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

GOOOOOD TYRE

Posted16 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These tyres now live on my commuting MTB. Like many others I made the transition from standard knobbly tyres and the difference is immediate. You get faster rolling, less noise and overall all quicker performance, which you expect from these tyres. But they're also very robust and solid. Touch wood no punctures as of yet.
They work well in wet conditions, cornering is still good. I have had a battle with lose ground and the ground won. Wouldn't advise any off road use.
Overall a great tyre.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryPW
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very Nice

Posted05 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I cover around 20 miles a day commuting and the big old chunky tyres were becoming a drag, even the noise of them made me feel effort was being wasted. So a switch to a more road friendly tyre was in order, these fellows were chosen for price, tread pattern and hopefully quality.
Nice and easy to fit no hard work there, they look really good and the most important thing they roll that little bit easier than the knobbly tyres.
So all positive, no downside or moans to mention.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Npearson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre & good value

Posted17 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought these for my Mountain bike as I'm doing a long distance road ride, having covered about 200 miles I think they are excellent and I'm very pleased, not for the mud though but that's what the proper mountain bike tyres are for!
As expected a great service from Evans Cycles.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" x 1.5" Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarinIndianFire
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres

Posted29 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I recently fitted a pair of Specialized Nimbus Sport 26" tyres to my bike as I now only use it for road cycling from my flat to the bus station. I would recommend these tyres to anyone as they are very good quality, look great and have enhanced the overall performance of my bike. Compared to fully slick tyres, Nimbus Sport offer more grip when cycling in wet conditions. Compared to my previous mountain bike tyres, my journey time is so much quicker! If there is a downside, they did cost a bit more than I originally intended to spend but I believe it's worth paying more for the quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Georgij
 
Please wait while more information about Georgij is loaded.
Additional information about Georgij could not be loaded.
Posted 12 October 2014
It is not the first time I'm buying the "nimbus". Previous tire lasted me for three years(on the rear wheel, the front is still serving me for more than five) and offered a good protection against punctures, a good grip on wet surfaces (even grass or metal) and an easy ride. Good value for money. Definitely will go for it again.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)