Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer

Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer

Overall rating:
4.412 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Review 1 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beans74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Very helpful for training

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
We recently purchased the Tacx Booster turbo trainer. I was very good value for the quality of build and range of functions. It's a very simple device to assemble and use. It is a great addition to regular training enabling you to be very targeted in your training. It's particularly good in developing strength/sprint speed as these are harder to do in a city setting. a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spike1962
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well worth the money

PostedJune 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very good Trainer , and very quiet, easy to fold and put away the only downer is the resitence lever and cable, it does give you a headache making sure its put away safe other than that a very good product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Danny86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Great trainer - Robust and quieter than expected

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I managed to set this up within 30 minutes. Locked in the back wheel and then I was away.
The changeable resistance levels are great. Just be careful as changing down to a lower resistance requires a bit of pressure on a plastic lever. I haven't been further than the 4th (out of 10) so plenty more range to go.
The noise is no where near as bad as I expected, I have mine on the living room rug on top of a towel and you can still hear the TV fine. Even without the trainer tyre.
I would definitely recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoneTrainer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Early days but impressed so far

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this on Monday. Had read comments about assembly so pleasantly surprised that it was assembled and in use within 20 mins of me getting home. Must agree the instructions are pretty poor but its quite intuitive to put together anyway. Agree with other comments about the resistance change lever, ok changing up but reducing resistance is awkward - minor issue though. Today I downloaded a couple of routes from the TACX website (9 euros each) just to see what it was like trying to manually recreate the route on the trainer whilst watching the video. I found zeroing the distance on my speedo and then making sure the distance travelled on the video and the distance on my speedo where roughly in sync enabled me to make the resistance settings align with climbs etc. Really enjoyed it, first time i've ever done anything like that and the km's flew by. A bit difficult keeping up with some resistance changes that flip-flopped over a couple of seconds but was able to judge changes that would last more than a few seconds. Noise levels change with resistance setting and cadence (lowest resistance and spinning at high cadence the nosiest) but I'm out in the shed so it doesn't matter!
A long review but really impressed with this piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sooz24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent static trainer

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Very happy with this Tacx trainer.
It was bought to replace an old exercise bike that was uncomfortable to use and took up a lot of space. The trainer tidies away very neatly when not in use and is a much better solution for keeping fit in a cold, wet winter.
Forewarned by other reviews that it was difficult to assemble, we didn't in the end find it hard to do. The only change that was required was to change the wheel size setting from a 2 to a 1, as the rear tyre didn't engage fully with the rear roller - perhaps because it's a mountain bike.
The unit is somewhat noisy, but for us that isn't an issue.
Like other users we have fixed the resistance in the middle and are using the bike gears to alter our workload.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JRVanillaBear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good product, few niggles.

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy setup
Cons: poor gear mechanism, instructions are unclear
Product is simple to setup, instructions could be a little clearer but only took around 30 minutes to have it ready.
Getting the bike on and off is easy, took a couple of goes the first time but now I have the hang of it.
Only bad point is the gear changer. It is useless, you knock it and it changes up two gears. Going up gears is as easy as that, going down requires more force than can really be applied whilst trying to cycle. I just leave it on the floor and use the bike gears.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
iwf67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Quality Turbo

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: noisy
I like this turbo trainer which is my first and hopefully last. I did not want to go for a base model option as I take my training seriously and am aware how limited some cheaper models can be.
I do find it a little noisy, not a problem for me as I like to take advantage of listening to tunes that you can't do on the road; I'm a little worried for the neighbours though.
The resistance control works well but I don't feel the need to connect it to the handlebars, preferring instead to set it at the start and use the bike's gears.
I purchased this through Evans for convenience, they matched the price offered elsewhere. I think that the price is about right, I wouldn't want to pay much more but have already got some use out of it, so I'm sure it will pay for itself throughout the winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dan6210
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but could be better!

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, folds flat for storage
Cons: Expensive, poor design of resistance adjuster
Bought this for my daughter as an alternative to spinning at the gym. The assembly and set up directions could be easier to follow, although admittedly its easy once the penny drops. Mounting the bike was easy and the trainer provides a stable platform. The attachment of the resistance adjuster leaves something to be desired, not ideally suited to mounting on the oversized bars on her Specialized hybrid, it moves about too much and the adjuster isn't very precise, jumps between settings. For the price paid these sort of issues shouldn't really exist, a simple case of poor design. Over all impression is it's a reasonable piece of kit that will provide you with a good workout in the comfort of your own home, it just suffers from a few design flaws that if ironed out would make it a whole lot better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Killerquads
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great leg buster!

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, makes your legs sore
Cons: makes your legs sore
Fantastic resistance available on this turbo. Hard to avoid tyre slip on the heaviest resistance when going for it in a shorter sprint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liam4

PostedMay 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Excellent product, actually really easy to assemble and the resistance feature works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigfella3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

don't let the unreliable weather stop you riding!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I originally purchased the Tacx Galaxia Rollers but couldn't get on with it; in theory it all made sense but in practise it's a little dangerous if you don't have your own space and you have kids around.
Purchased the Taxc Booster and loving it so far! This version is also child safe as all the workings are encased so no risk of any burns from the heat generated after a long work out.
The item is as described and the resistance levels will definitely give you a hard work out although you do have the option to work your gears also once you set your gradience.
All in all very happy with the purchase and well needed with the unreliable weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simon712
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

this is a great product for bike training

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
this is a great purchase at the price works great is stable and does what is says trains you really well excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Honest2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Nightmare to put together _ appauling instructions

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: construction
I should have learnt from reading the other views . This product is a nightmare to out together and we eventually had to take to shop. Save yourself time and money get Evans to construct for you and don't order via the web!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gaz748
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product , easy to assemble,

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this product to maintain my fitness levels through the winter. This product is smooth with very little slip from the back wheel. I would definitely advise that you buy a trainer tyre to go with it as this trainer has mullered my schwalbe ultremo tyre. I would also buy a "bike thong" (you heard me right) as the sweat that pours off you is unreal!
This product is great, there are more expensive products in the tacx range, but if you're after a trainer to improve fitness and power, then look no further. This is ace!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tony05
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is a great piece of kit

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This trainer is very sturdy and easy to set up. I have been using it 3 times a week in my garage and have had a varied quality workout each time. Ideal piece of kit for the dark cold winter evenings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SpagettiLegs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smooth and stable platform for a reasonable outlay

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: setting control a tad fiddly
Feels substantial and stable even when giving a blast on the higher settings. Folds down to comact unit that stores easily in the garage or shed. Only niggle is the bar mounted control. It can be tricky to get it into the power setting you want, as the notches are close together and the lever is stiff (particularly if your legs are screaming and the sweat is pumping off you like a good thing)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tacx Booster Ultra High Power Folding Magnetic Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yarny
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: handlebar clamp could be improved
We live in Singapore and both have busy lives so fitting in training in our busy schedule can be difficult which is why we bought the TACX Booster. The price Evans quoted was cheaper than anything quoted in Singapore and it was delivered in under 10 days. Set up was simple with some adjustment required for the friction device to the rear wheel. Attaching the bike is straightforward. Standard rear Skewer out, Tacx Skewer in, clamp bike in foldable stand, fix friction selector to handlebars and settle front wheel in its support and you are good to go. The support from TACX is excellant with generic training plans and inspirational videos available on line. It is a very thorough workout as there is no rest, freewheeling etc. I thought it might get boring but you work too hard for that, you will need a fan and I recommend the TACX Sweat Protector and gym / TACX Mat to keep the sweat from your bike / floor. If you use it a lot rear tyre wear could be an issue. On the negative side the front friction device is difficult to secure firmly to your handlebars and could do with a bigger thumbscrew which would make it easier to tighten, it tends to rotate around the handle bars when you are moving the lever. You also need to have a cadence and speed sensor already fitted to your bike if you want to be objective about your training. In short, it's brilliant for a one hour workout when you don't have the time for a longer ride, easy to fit and dis-assemble, we like it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.