Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike

Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike

The geometry of Scott Cyclocross bikes provides a balance of quickness and stability while still leaving the rider adequate space to shoulder the bike. The cable stops are placed to facilitate comfortable carrying, while generous tire to frame clearance lessens mud build up in sloppy conditions.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike
Review 1 for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chris57
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

what a nice bike

Posted21 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
Light comfortable great top speed,, good strong frame with a good finish, great for every day fast commute with just a tyre change to 700x25 road tyres. All in all a very capable bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matt21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great looking bike, light and comfy.

Posted21 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After looking at loads of diffrent bikes, I settled on the Scott CX Comp. I tend to ride on a lots of paths and gravelly tracks which wasn't doing my road bike any favours, so I took the leap with a Cyclocross bike, For me it's fantastic, I'm as quick on it as my road bike, I can fly down tracks/paths with out worrying about my wheels etc, its light and comfy, more relaxed geometry than a road bike. It has off road tyres which give great grip on the tracks and paths and I am going to invest in some slicks for when I do some longer distance road rides.
The Scott CX Comp is a great bike, lighter than I thought it would be. I also think its great looking too and oozes quality which you would expect from a Scott product, the attention to detail always has me having a good look round it when I go in the garage!
To sum up I would highly recommend this bike. If your thinking of delving into the cyclocross world, I'm sure you wouldn't be disappointed at all with the Scott.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TyredTommy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Good value crosscycle bike with good components

Posted11 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this bike to commute to work which takes in all kinds of terrain,tarmac roads ,cinder paths,uneven promenade,dirt track ,grass paths and hills.It handles most of this territory but not without discomfort.It is essentially a road bike with chunky tyres but it serves my purpose well enough as it eats up the hills and gets to places I couldn't go in an all out road bike.And it cuts commuting time in half in comparison to my hybrid bike.The only thing is the amount of vibration on hitting uneven surfaces which I guess a front suspension hybrid would be a better bet.I had a mudguard fitted but there is not much clearance with the chunky tyres and this can clog up ,probably best without mudguards,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stevie4beds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Lovely bike but brake shudder

Posted05 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: brake judder
Moved from mountain bike to cyclocross. The Scott is a lovely bike to look at and ride. Noticeably easier to pedal than my mountain bike even with semi slick tyres on the MTB. My main problem is that of the brakes and forks shuddering on occasion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jaosef

Awesome commuter

Posted04 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Using this bike mainly for commuting but also training. I put on some 700x32c slick race tyres, pumped them up to 110 psi and it is just phenomenal! Goes like a road/race bike on asphalt and can still handle gravel roads and trails. The difference between this bike and my last ("normal/classic") bike is really dramatic.
Overall quality is very nice; everything is easy to set up and adjust.
I had trouble finding information about holes in the front/back fork for mudguard-installation, but I can confirm that there are indeed mounting holes.
Added (removable) mudguards, u-lock with frame mount, lights, bell and a saddle bag with spare tube - with these additions it is pretty close to the ultimate commuter. It also doesn't hurt that it looks as good as it does. Would definitely recommend this bike to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightspark98
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Scott cx comp - Simply Superb

Posted09 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I love this bike, as it says in the title, simply superb. It goes anywhere, is lightweight, responsive and fast. Great for cinder track and equally at home on the road. Only problem I have found is slight judder from front forks under heavy braking. I would recommend without hesitation.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Eanlife
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid and quick

Posted08 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
great bike, makes the hills easy and very quick on the downhill
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Popester69er
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing bike for the money

Posted12 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I was hesitant to enter the cyclocross market as previously all i had ridden was mountain bikes. Originally i was going to have a hybrid but after reading several forums i took the plunge with a cx. When searching for a cx it was all about value for money and when you see a solid brand like scott you know you are on a winner. After a few weeks riding now im more than happy with my purchase and cant find any fault with the bike.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jayanay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

A good solid bike for light touring

Posted27 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Have equipped this bike mainly for light touring - rack / raceblade mudguards. Changed tyres for Continental Tourides and find it handles well both on road and on tracks. This will leave my Hybrid for the more challenging off road conditions. I am 5' 5'' / Female and found the size 52 frame ideal. Overall a well specced rugged bike.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scott CX Comp 2012 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
boddle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

excellent spec on components v price v other makes

Posted27 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, additional braking available
Cons: better quality tyres
Having looked around for a number of weeks and having reviewed other bikes and types of bikes I decided on a cyclocross. Great decision, very easy commuting bike, the gears are brill and the 105 set-up is a dream. I opted for additional braking,this allows me to easily change my seating position when required. The staff at Evans were very helpful and professional in all areas of the sale and the choice available was second to non.....if you are looking for this type of bike then the Scott is perfect.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.