Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike

Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike

All-new, super light, women's A1 Premium Aluminium fully manipulated frame with fitness geometry and integrated headset offers a great ride and versatility with rack/mudguard mounts, and wide tyre clearance. Straight blade steel fork with mudguard mounts gives you all the durability you need to manage potholes and rough roads. Sirrus double-wall, machined rims for strength and reliable braking; plus alloy, sealed cassette hub with stainless spokes. Flak Jacket protection and a grooved tread make the Specialized Nimbus tyres perfect for city or open road use. Shimano triple crankset plus 8-speed rear derailleur for wide-range gearing and spot-on shifting; plus chainguard for peace of mind. Flat aluminium handlebars with 6-degree bend add comfort and confidence to your ride. Body Geometry Riva women's saddle features generous padding for all-day performance and comfort.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BekDoc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Rides like a dream!!

Posted22 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent bike - feels like i have ridden it for years. Beautiful gears, light weight and goregous design!
I cannot recommend this bike highly enough!!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nightmail
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Specialised Step-through Hybrid

Posted15 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Jane wanted a step-through hybrid for her birthday and after searching through other websites and many & various cycles I chose this one for her from Evans.
It has an excellent spec and is well finished and put together by their team. Ridden straight out of the box on the day it was delivered and she was delighted with it!
As always the service and communications and deliveries from Evans are first class and reach a standard other shops don't even get near!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SarahR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Birmingham

Posted28 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I had a mountain bike for years and used to cycle a maximum of 8 miles every now and again along the canal or the road. I then tried a hybrid when on holiday in Germany and realised how heavy my mountain bike was on the road. Like one of the other reviewers, I wanted to be able to use this bike for getting to work. It is very light and easy to fit on the train and carry up the stairs at the station. It is a joy to ride (although I have had the saddle changed to a larger one, had mud guards it on and a basket). In fact, I cycled 26 miles on it in my first week and loved every second. I can honestly say it is one of the best purchases I have made. The cross bar is low enough to cycle in a skirt (in fact, I haven't cycled in anything else yet). I also get comments from other cyclists about how great it looks.
Put simply, this bike rides like a dream, feels really well built and looks fantastic. I would not hesitate to recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StephBike

Now thoroughly enjoy my 24km commute everyday!

Posted26 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The bike is just what I was after, very light but strong and durable. I really enjoy my commute to work, and it's actually a lot faster than taking the tube to work!
Great bike for long fun cycles also, and weekends out. Would thoroughly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LukeH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Bought for girlfriend and very impressed

Posted25 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
This was a gift for my girlfriend, and it's an impressive bike for the money. I've owned Specialized's before, so was expecting quality, and that's what this is.
Very capable on- or off-road, and with a good riding position, I would highly recommend for those looking for a capable all rounder that won't break the bank but doesn't scrimp on build quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bunny666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

An excellent women's hybrid bike.

Posted11 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This hybrid is lightweight and rides very well on roads. The saddle has been sufficiently comfortable on short rides so far. The brakes work well in dry conditions. The gears shift easily now, although I had to take this bike to my nearest Evans shop to get the gears adjusted initially. When the bike arrived, the first test ride Showed that the chain was catching on the guard in certain gears and it didn't shift well between 2 of the cogs. On a positive note - the staff at Evans in York fixed it while I waited .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glowworm

Idea for an Leisure all round ride

Posted13 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Hubby has a road bike and i was fine keeping up with him, the bike does the work as long as you use the gears correctly. Not cycles any distant in 15 yrs but did a 22 mile ride no problem...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lyngh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

Love my new bike

Posted10 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Would highly recommend this bike...it rides well and looks great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
linda23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Notting Hill

Posted07 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am very very happy with my new bike! I would recommend it to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great ride

Posted16 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A nice light bike which is comfortable, quick and looks great, even with a basket!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baird71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

Brilliant

Posted15 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My husband replaced my old bike with this fabulous Specialized Vita Step Through and I couldn't be happier. I have my son on the back of my bike and having more that 3 working gears is brilliant. I am constantly chanting "I love my bike, I love my bike" because it is such a breeze to ride. We are now going on family bike riding holidays which is great fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alexandra57
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

Light bike and looks great

Posted04 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm so pleased I bought this bike. I was looking for a lightweight bike with a slightly more upright riding position to use mostly around town. I also wanted a frame that I could easily step through, for ease and extra stability when getting on and off. This bike feels solid and yet its very lightweight, the frame is perfect and I love the overall look of the bike. So far I have also found the bike very comfortable. I was a bit worried about the seat when I bought it as I am used to a wider seat. But the seat on the vita was fine for a day's cycling last weekend. I also really like the design of the grips on the handlebars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alexandra123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:St Paul's

The perfect commuting bike

Posted28 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this bike as my other specialised was just too heavy for commuting. This bike is so light and rides like a dream. I just used it for my triathlon and it was perfect. Would highly recommend this bike if you do a lot of commuting.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
s003
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great cycle

Posted22 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
rides very well: light, fast, and comfortable. Good value so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fnf23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

Great value

Posted14 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
As a novice at a rather mature age I have been dlighted with my bike! Smooth riding, easy gears and comfort. Great design value for money and quality. Handles well on the road yet to be tried off road. Looks good with the added extras I purchased too.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Vita Step Through 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AshJade
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Holborn

Still riding it with a big stupid grin on my face

Posted09 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, all purpose
After my old Ridgeback Speed was stolen, I was looking for a new bike. I use my bike for a lot of different activities - Ideally I would have more than one bike but space and money constraints mean I can't. I need a light weight bike for speed & carrying up to my office, decent tires for the potholes - I also cycle on dirt tracks occasionally. I will also go on long-ish rides from London-Brighton. I also insist on cycling with a pannier rack as I hate wearing backpacks to cycle. The biggest challenge it seemed though, is that I wanted a step-through as at the weekends I will cycle in a skirt.
It came down to a decision between this bike and the Trek 7.2. I'm so happy with the decision I made. This bike is lovely to ride. it ticks every box. And in the words of a friend of mine "It suits your personality far more than your old bike". I've now also added mud guards and bar ends tor further riding comfort.
The guys in the shop were also very nice and patient with me whilst I made my decisions on the bike, pannier rack and replacement locks. Thanks to the staff at Holborn!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.