Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike

Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike

All-new, super light A1 Premium Aluminium fully-manipulated frame offers a great ride and versatility with rack/mudguard mounts and wide tyre clearance. Straight blade steel fork with mudguard mounts gives you all the durability you need to manage potholes and rough roads. Sirrus double-wall, machined rims for strength and reliable braking; plus alloy, sealed cassette hub with stainless spokes. Flak Jacket protection and a grooved tread make the Specialized Nimbus tyres perfect for city or open road use. Shimano triple crankset plus 8-speed drivetrain for wide-range gearing and spot-on shifting; plus chainguard for peace of mind. Body Geometry Targa gel grips alleviate hand pain and tingling fingers for all-day riding comfort. Body Geometry Targa Sport fitness saddle is sporty, light, and comfortable for all types of riding.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
40 out of 42(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jenko72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Specialized Sirrus...

PostedApril 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this bike as a present for my girlfriend and she is very happy with it. The build quality feels great but still feels light carrying it up to our first floor flat.
It was simple enough to get it from box to road and only took 5-10 minutes to sort out. Delivery was impeccable too. Well done Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bumblebod

Very good, with only minor gripes

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: useless saddle
Had this bike for about 2 years (mine looks identical to this 2013 version). Overall very good. I paid £400 (plus mudguards) which was ok, but at £300 it becomes a bargain.
Positives
The bike feels very light and fast for a basic commuter. Gears & brakes very slick and reliable. Despite being heavier, the steel fork on this base model is actually an advantage for me - survived a car accident which ruined the front wheel and, unlike aluminium or carbon, I know it will not suddenly fail. Apparently steel has more flex (therefore comfort) also.
Negatives
Had to replace the rear wheel due to buckling. Saddle was very uncomfortable so was replaced ('Body Geometry' my ar*e!). Tyres ok, but not puncture resistant in the least - I have suffered a huge number of punctures. Runs through brake pads fairly quickly (could just be my riding style though). The only possibly major gripe here is the rear wheel buckling, but then I did ride over some rough stuff, so cant be sure its not just me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Code1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Light, comfortable and stable

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great bike - For the past 5-6 years I kept buying the cheapest bike on the market (mountain bikes under £100). I commute 5 days a week in London (12.5km each way) and found that these bikes lasted me 2years max each (irreparable broken pedal twice or ruined crank).
This new bike is a completely new experience - 35mins instead of 40-45mins travel time to work, light , easy to manoeuvre, gears are very smooth, easy to accelerate, stable. Saddle could be more comfortable.
It's been only a few weeks, so no view yet on the key question of durability.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ed49
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

A great, solid machine.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: needs a softer seat!!
I have found this bike very solid on the road and at the same time surprisingly light along paths and tracks.
Nice looking too!!
Quite ergonomically comfortable - I believe that the sales person's size suggestion was perfect.
Overall it was a good value buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leagle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

A good and fast hybrid for the price

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The bike is very light and fast, though narrower tyres should have been fitted, to give it speed.
Specialised have compromised on quality by fitting the cheapest pedals and hand grips. Also,I had to fork out an extra £80 on backpack and mud-guards, which increased the price substantially, so it is not a cheap bike for what you get.
The grey colour is rather bland and lets down the great shape of the bike.
Overall a good little runner.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
beebee11

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: gears keep jumping
The staff were very good, the bike is light and easy to use however the gears keep jumping out, during riding this is happening regularly I will be taking the bike back for the free safety check.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
darmadillo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Good communter

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: cheapo bell
I've had this bike for 3 weeks and done abbout 60 miles on London streets. Pretty much set up straight from the shop in Mortimer St, just had to adjust the saddle a little. No problems, and seems sturdy enough and quick enough for my needs. One gripe so far - the cheap bell fell off after a week while I was riding in heavy traffic so I couldn't retrieve it; seems a shame it couldn't come with something better for the sake of a quid or two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ana1234
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent touring bike, very confortable.

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Excellent touring bike, very confortable. Very nice gearing. Overall a well priced do it all touring bike or a fun commuter bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
drewc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

good overall hybrid

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Have had this bike now for coming up to 3 weeks . I have been using it for pleasure and for a 12 mile commute to work . Overall i can find only i really niggling fault and that is the rather cheap pedals . They are of a rather nasty plastic design and although the bike is not the top end of this model. I would have thought they would have been better made . But i really cannot fault the bike and am very happy with it .I chose this model after speaking to a cycling journo whose wife was still using her 2011 model and could not fault it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BiluBrazil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Light and fast

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After using a folding bike for a few months I decided to go for the Specialised Sirrus. I would highly recommend it to anyone for the money. I commute 10 miles a day and the difference between this and a the folding bike on road is enormous. I can go faster, longer, steeper for the same amount of effort.
Build quality and value for money are outstanding.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SiMadDog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Excellent value Hybrid, more road than mountain

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After using an old mountain bike for many years the Specialised Sirrus is a revelation. Faster, smoother quicker and easier. Build quality is superb, gears easy to use and able to handle anything. I would highly recomment it to anyone for the money. As a casual cyclist the difference between this and a mountain bike on raod is enormous. I can go faster, longer, steeper for the same amount of effort.
Build quality and value for money are outstanding.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great commuter!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, great all-rounder, great riding position
I purchased this bike as a second bike for my commute to work. It's a great all rounder that copes well with the multi-terrain route to work. Great all rounder on the road and swift and reliable on the tow path and bridle way. Even across the hard, bumpy, uneven, grassed 'footpath' it copes much better than expected. Swift gear changes and the sturdy feel to the frame make this a great alrounder. At 5'10' I plumped for the 56cm frame and it was a great choice. You can't go wrong for the money!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thomo84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

Feels well made, solid but light to ride

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This bike is a joy to ride and has cut quite a bit of time off my commuting time. It feels very well made but is light to ride. The only downside for me is when on no-smooth or bumpy roads it is a hard ride, and towpaths are not great. But the rest makes up for that.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chatzicat

All good, except from the bottom bracket

PostedJune 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: faulty bottom bracket
Very good bicycle for its price; light weight and good peripherals. BUT...
..only one disadvantage - it has really poor bottom bracket. I suppose specialized decided to cut down some money from there... I started getting a squeaking noise from this part after just a couple of weeks. And I am neither a heavy nor an advanced cyclist; I am using the bicycle for medium distances and not even every day.
Note: This cannot be an exception only for this specific bicycle - I bought exactly the same model but for women for my partner (Specialized Vita 2013 Women's Hybrid Bike), and she is experiencing exactly the same issue.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark1977
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

I love this bike it is great

PostedMay 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This bike is very good value for money and rides very well.I am very happy with it and if you are looking for a great all round bike I would buy this
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ulisses
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bicycle

PostedMay 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am really enjoying it so far. I was a bit worried about its weight since I couldn't find it anywhere before buying it. But I didn't find it heavy at all (for its price range). I am riding roughly 20 miles per day and it seems that the bicycle its well prepared for that. Comfortable and reliable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tommo72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

A great purchase

PostedApril 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I have been very pleased with this purchase. I was after a well made and light-weight hybrid bike which could easily handle some off-road cycling, but be equally comfortable on roads. This ticks every box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GrayFox
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall quality is excellent

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After spending most of my life riding mountain bikes i decided to switch to a hybrid. The only regret i have is i didn't do it sooner as this bike is much lighter and more responsive than my previous bikes, it's also knocked fifteen minutes off my usual 45 minute commute.
I have covered around 200 miles and so far everything runs as smooth as it did on my first ride, so as long as you don't intend to ride off road and this bike is within your budget then i would definitely recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sodha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent overall quality

PostedApril 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The overall quality of a this bike is excellent and I would certainly recommend it. As someone who has only recently started cycling regularly to work I can say I've had no issues at all. In certain gears there are some clicking sounds but I am assured this is more to do with lubrication and conditions as well as the was I have shifted gears (will talk to the mechanic when I go for the 6-8 week free checkup.
Other than that I am very impressed and happy with my choice. For £400 I will make the petrol money back in no time and it's also great daily exercise.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Sirrus 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brian64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

A light and responsive good looking bike

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no tool kit, cheap plastic pedals
This is a great looking bike if you are after a good quality bike at a reasonable price this is for you, very comfortable to ride good gearing and handlebar grips are specialized BG grips also very comfortable, I have bought the specialized BG gel mitts to go with the handlebar grips this has helped with vibration and numbness in my hands, if you are after a good quality mid range commuter you can’t go wrong with this bike, my only gripe would be no tool kit and shrader valves and cheap plastic pedals.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>