Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS

Garmin Edge 200 GPS

Edge 200 features a high-sensitivity GPS receiver with HotFix satellite prediction to calculate your position faster. That means when you turn it on outdoors, it finds satellites quickly so you can get on with your ride. It also alerts you if you're moving but the timer is not running. Edge 200 has an Auto Pause feature so it will stop the timer when you're not moving, then restart automatically when you're rolling again. You also can set alerts for distance, time or calories to make it easier and more fun to achieve your goals.
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(175 reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 175 reviews
5 Stars
133
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
172 out of 175Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
54 Questions | 161 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Isle of Man
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Be confident about buying this product

Posted10 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I'll come clean. Nearly 50 yrs old, a complete and utter technophobe whose 10 year old son has to help his dad with most things computer based.
Birds Twitter, and Facebook drives me up The Wall, so buying a Garmin 'gadget' was a step into the unknown taken with real trepidation.
But it really is THAT easy to use. Easy to set up, easy to read whilst riding, and easy to load data once home. The data uploaded is fantastic to review.
There are probably more souped up expensive Garmins that cook your tea and speak 15 languages, but this little beauty is an absolute star.
YES, I like it - you may have gathered!
+28points
33of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to use/fit would highly recommend.

Posted23 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit and use, does exactly what I wanted, avg speed, distance, autopause etc and also useful to keep a record of your rides and set courses. Easy to swap between bikes and comes with two mounts. Overall very impressed and would recommend to a friend.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Great budget GPS

Posted16 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, great battery life, easy to use
Cons: not as many features as more expensive versions
Easy to use and great battery life - much better than using my phone to record direct to Strava. Syncs well with my Mac - just plug in, launch Garmin's software and it syncs directly to Garmin Connect without me needing to do anything (and GC then syncs to Strava automatically too).
Loading new route files onto the device is similarly easy - drag and drop tcx/gpx files to the NewFiles folder on the device, and when you power the device on, the route is waiting for you in the Courses menu.
Of course, it doesn't sync to my phone to give me Strava Live Segments, or have actual maps (just a breadcrumb line to follow) - but those are just nice bonuses really. If all you want is a speedo and basic route function, like I do, this is perfect. No need to spend hundreds. Highly recommended - grab one while you still can!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Garmin Edge 200

Posted28 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I have always been a little anti riding with a computer but a friend had bought a Garmin Edge 200. He persuaded me to try one and that was it ,I was sold on it. This is so easy to set up and operate .I love the information it feeds me . How did I manage so long with out it. Very highly recommended !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Online

Nice

Posted19 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Nice. Just wanted to say 'Nice' but it requires more characters in the review to be in the draw to win a voucher, job done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Easy set up and go

Posted15 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Very simple to charge set up and go.
Love that you can recall the route.
Gives you a more accurate calorie expenditure as it looks at age weight geight as well as the height/distance/speed calculation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted13 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, simple to operate
Bought this for my husband's birthday. He's a bit technophobic but even he can manage to work this. It's simple to operate and really clear to read. He's even managed to plug it into the computer and read the data! Great product that gives you all the important data you need.He loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:South Africa
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GREAT PRODUCT

Posted11 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is a really good GPS computer. It is accurate, easy to read and use.
I have been using it in some serious downpours so can state that it is waterproof !
For the serious weekend warrior and club rider this is all you'l ever need. Great price, great computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Early days yet

Posted27 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, screen display
Cons: Expensive, slow to start, software no good
So far my experience of Garmin has not been too encouraging. I have used it four times now and it seems to take a long time to acquire a signal. I have managed to cycle nearly half a mile before I can start it. I don't really want to stand around waiting for the signal before starting to move. My other issue is that I tried to download the software to my mobile phone - only 4 months old - and I get a message saying device not compatible. No point trying to get the software on my computer operating on Windows XP. Looks like I need to buy a new computer just to download Garmin's software. Strava works fine on my mobile but I am not putting the phone on the handlebars. Not really worth the money in my mind but at least once up and running I can see how fast/far i am going/gone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent bike computer

Posted23 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
an excellent bike computer easy to use,and operate. you can see the computer face easily with just a glance while whipping along the roads
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great little computer

Posted21 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
30 seconds and your position is tracked,so much better than frustrating phone apps which loses signals and burns through your data.more than happy with this product.Bought online discounted so a bonus too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Simple and easy to use.

Posted30 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I bought this product as a way to track my days on the bike, I'm often out for at least 8 hours with stops going all over the city and this has been perfect for finding quicker routes as well as telling me how far I have been current speed, elevation etc. it doesn't tell me the time whilst riding which is possibly it's only fault in my eyes.
The battery seems to last a long time, the unit is waterproof and easy to read in bad weather.
Uploads to Garmin connect and strava as expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Simple, does the job with no other complications.

Posted28 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, simple to use
Cons: not an extensive features list, software not completely intuative
Took this touring with me. Simply stuck it on the bike and pressed go - worked like a charm over the two weeks, great battery life too. Haven't used the maps yet as they weren't too easy to sort out, the Garmin software doesn't seem to have made its mind up what to use yet - it says connect to Garmin express but then express tells you that it's not compatible. This resulted in manual upload of my data - not a massive hassle but a bit less smooth than I would have liked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Alot better i used my i phone before and kept losing signal. Garmin is so easy to use and download onto strava.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Strighforward to fit and use

Posted20 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Only used once so far. Easy to fit onto bike and seems secure. Data presentation clear. Only issues is with garmin site and uploading data. Initially it is not easy to do. Needs some perseverance. However now done and seems ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great value GPS computer

Posted19 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: no blutooth
A cycle computer with all the features i require. The only con would be the lack of blutooth connectivity, very convenient for uploading rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use, just plug & play

Posted05 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Big numerics makes it easy to read the necessary info.
Easy to use, simple setup and did not really have to rely on instructions as the dials were very intuitive.
Simple and secure clip on system and strapped it on handlebar for fuss free cycling around the city in Singapore.
Great stuff, two thumbs up to good price & quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Azerbaijan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product has great features

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
this product is a great computer for cycling . and i absolutly recommended to my friends and online buyers!!! thanks Evans!!! ))))
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

A great little gadget

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Good battery life, and very simple to use.
It would have been nice to have gone for a model with full maps, but couldn't justify the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Perfect for my simple requirements; distance , speed, time and average speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>