Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS

Garmin Edge 200 GPS

Edge 200 features a high-sensitivity GPS receiver with HotFix satellite prediction to calculate your position faster. That means when you turn it on outdoors, it finds satellites quickly so you can get on with your ride. It also alerts you if you're moving but the timer is not running. Edge 200 has an Auto Pause feature so it will stop the timer when you're not moving, then restart automatically when you're rolling again. You also can set alerts for distance, time or calories to make it easier and more fun to achieve your goals.
Overall rating:
4.716 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(169 reviews) 169
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 169 reviews
5 Stars
129
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
166 out of 169Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
51 Questions | 157 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Isle of Man
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Be confident about buying this product

Posted10 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I'll come clean. Nearly 50 yrs old, a complete and utter technophobe whose 10 year old son has to help his dad with most things computer based.
Birds Twitter, and Facebook drives me up The Wall, so buying a Garmin 'gadget' was a step into the unknown taken with real trepidation.
But it really is THAT easy to use. Easy to set up, easy to read whilst riding, and easy to load data once home. The data uploaded is fantastic to review.
There are probably more souped up expensive Garmins that cook your tea and speak 15 languages, but this little beauty is an absolute star.
YES, I like it - you may have gathered!
+28points
33of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to use/fit would highly recommend.

Posted23 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit and use, does exactly what I wanted, avg speed, distance, autopause etc and also useful to keep a record of your rides and set courses. Easy to swap between bikes and comes with two mounts. Overall very impressed and would recommend to a friend.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Early days yet

Posted27 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, screen display
Cons: Expensive, slow to start, software no good
So far my experience of Garmin has not been too encouraging. I have used it four times now and it seems to take a long time to acquire a signal. I have managed to cycle nearly half a mile before I can start it. I don't really want to stand around waiting for the signal before starting to move. My other issue is that I tried to download the software to my mobile phone - only 4 months old - and I get a message saying device not compatible. No point trying to get the software on my computer operating on Windows XP. Looks like I need to buy a new computer just to download Garmin's software. Strava works fine on my mobile but I am not putting the phone on the handlebars. Not really worth the money in my mind but at least once up and running I can see how fast/far i am going/gone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent bike computer

Posted23 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
an excellent bike computer easy to use,and operate. you can see the computer face easily with just a glance while whipping along the roads
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great little computer

Posted21 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
30 seconds and your position is tracked,so much better than frustrating phone apps which loses signals and burns through your data.more than happy with this product.Bought online discounted so a bonus too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Simple and easy to use.

Posted30 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I bought this product as a way to track my days on the bike, I'm often out for at least 8 hours with stops going all over the city and this has been perfect for finding quicker routes as well as telling me how far I have been current speed, elevation etc. it doesn't tell me the time whilst riding which is possibly it's only fault in my eyes.
The battery seems to last a long time, the unit is waterproof and easy to read in bad weather.
Uploads to Garmin connect and strava as expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Simple, does the job with no other complications.

Posted28 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, simple to use
Cons: not an extensive features list, software not completely intuative
Took this touring with me. Simply stuck it on the bike and pressed go - worked like a charm over the two weeks, great battery life too. Haven't used the maps yet as they weren't too easy to sort out, the Garmin software doesn't seem to have made its mind up what to use yet - it says connect to Garmin express but then express tells you that it's not compatible. This resulted in manual upload of my data - not a massive hassle but a bit less smooth than I would have liked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Alot better i used my i phone before and kept losing signal. Garmin is so easy to use and download onto strava.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Strighforward to fit and use

Posted20 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Only used once so far. Easy to fit onto bike and seems secure. Data presentation clear. Only issues is with garmin site and uploading data. Initially it is not easy to do. Needs some perseverance. However now done and seems ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great value GPS computer

Posted19 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: no blutooth
A cycle computer with all the features i require. The only con would be the lack of blutooth connectivity, very convenient for uploading rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use, just plug & play

Posted05 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Big numerics makes it easy to read the necessary info.
Easy to use, simple setup and did not really have to rely on instructions as the dials were very intuitive.
Simple and secure clip on system and strapped it on handlebar for fuss free cycling around the city in Singapore.
Great stuff, two thumbs up to good price & quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Azerbaijan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product has great features

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
this product is a great computer for cycling . and i absolutly recommended to my friends and online buyers!!! thanks Evans!!! ))))
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

A great little gadget

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Good battery life, and very simple to use.
It would have been nice to have gone for a model with full maps, but couldn't justify the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Perfect for my simple requirements; distance , speed, time and average speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great bit of kit in a small unit.

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Really pleased with this Garmin. Might not have the fancy features of some of the more expensive models, but at this price you cannot fault it. The Garmin software is good, but its also easy to Sync with Strava. If you're considering a GPS in this price bracket you won't be disappointed with Edge 200
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

What a nightmare!

Posted18 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: got itself lost
Initially, I loved this, I recently cycled from Bristol to Paris over three days alone and day one and part one of day 2 was fine, I preprogrammed the journey via strava and it was fine. Then on the second part it struggled to acquire my position even though my arrow was on the line it showed on the screen. It kept saying “off course” trying to direct me into the ocean initially, even though it was showing me as on course and it was following the map so I ignored it and after 5 minutes it said “found location” and kept directing me.
Day three it did it again and because it was a little slow in the uptake the day before I assumed it was doing the same as I had started exactly where I was supposed to and on the screen itself the arrow (me) was following the line and still navigating me once could only assume the “off course” was wrong again as both map and directional arrow said otherwise.
I cycle for 5 hours in the rural French countryside when the arrow starts going a bit mental telling me to turn around when I had been going straight as per instruction and then my position quite simply stopped moving forward on the map. I clicked back into the overview and realised in FIVE HOURS I’d moved barely an inch on the screen, I was in the middle of fields, no idea where I was – quite frankly terrified I was lost in another country as a 24 year old girl and it took going to an old farmhouse, getting a French map and struggling with a couple of cyclists and cycling in the motorway hard shoulder to get to my destination.
If you want a GPS that can’t find its own location – go for the Garmin 200.
If you want to get to where you’re going without getting terribly lost, emotional and with a knee injury having to cycle 10 hours when it only takes 5…I wouldn’t.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MaDR
 
Please wait while more information about MaDR is loaded.
Additional information about MaDR could not be loaded.
Posted 16 July 2015
Interesting story there :) good to know you survived
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Posted17 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does what I need it for, mileage, speed time etc without dropping out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Has all the functionality I need

Posted17 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, functionality
I bought this for two reasons - As a Strava user my smartphone battery was running out of juice on long journeys and I almost lost one run over 4 hours and secondly I'm going abroad with my bike and wanted a bike computer that is easy to operate and will store multiple journeys. So far the product has met my expectations - simple to use and loading data to Strava is very easy.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good simple product

Posted15 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent product, and simple to use. Straight out the box, one button and you are away. Recorded my route and uploading was easy too.
I'm also happy with the battery life, I was out for four hours and it only went down to 75%
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product

Posted09 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a great addition and it links straight up to Strava.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>