Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS

Garmin Edge 200 GPS

Edge 200 features a high-sensitivity GPS receiver with HotFix satellite prediction to calculate your position faster. That means when you turn it on outdoors, it finds satellites quickly so you can get on with your ride. It also alerts you if you're moving but the timer is not running. Edge 200 has an Auto Pause feature so it will stop the timer when you're not moving, then restart automatically when you're rolling again. You also can set alerts for distance, time or calories to make it easier and more fun to achieve your goals.
Overall rating:
4.741 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(135 reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 135 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
133 out of 135(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
39 Questions | 130 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3WheelsofMan
Country:Isle of Man
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Be confident about buying this product

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I'll come clean. Nearly 50 yrs old, a complete and utter technophobe whose 10 year old son has to help his dad with most things computer based.
Birds Twitter, and Facebook drives me up The Wall, so buying a Garmin 'gadget' was a step into the unknown taken with real trepidation.
But it really is THAT easy to use. Easy to set up, easy to read whilst riding, and easy to load data once home. The data uploaded is fantastic to review.
There are probably more souped up expensive Garmins that cook your tea and speak 15 languages, but this little beauty is an absolute star.
YES, I like it - you may have gathered!
+24points
28of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
floss
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to use/fit would highly recommend.

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit and use, does exactly what I wanted, avg speed, distance, autopause etc and also useful to keep a record of your rides and set courses. Easy to swap between bikes and comes with two mounts. Overall very impressed and would recommend to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
meek
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kendal

all you need from a cycle computer

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Brilliant bit of kit. Basic and easy to use with two mounts for multiple bikes. Easy to upload info to garmin express and link with strava if your into reviewing rides. I also use it for running. Not a gadget person but love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sebk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

great purchase

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
wasn't sure which gps to choose, in the end went for cheap gps option and it was one of the best buys. garmin 200 may be cheap but has all i need. the most practical function for me is ability to create routes, upload them to the device and follow basic but clear enough directions from garmin 200. doesn't have maps and heart monitors etc. but if you not racing you probably don't need it. the second best thing i like about it is size - it is very compact, doesn't take much space and screen is clear and big enough to read all usual: speed, distance etc.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seasidhornet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great value

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this for my son but it spends as much time on my bike as it does on his. Downloading your ride is very quick and easy and provides all the data you'll ever need. I was after a touch screen version but glad I saved my money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
mikeinhove
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

OK but complicated.

PostedNovember 8, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: difficult to set up
I'm not happy with this device.
It is difficult to set up on one's computer and seems unnecessarily complicated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
haychmtb
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One cycle computer for all your bikes

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
While riding the Garmin 200 is just like a normal 6 function cycle computer. But when you get home and upload your data to Garmin Connect or Strava it's great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chin
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I strongly recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a cycle computer. It display all the necessary data on the screen and it is also very user friendly. It also allow me to use it on my other bikes without any fuss. The backlight is really great for night cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Georgec27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Brilliant

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, connects fast
The GPS works brilliantly. It never takes more than a few seconds to connect to GPS when outside and It hasn't once lost connection on a ride. It lacks some features like HR monitor connectivity but I'm not interested in that so its not a problem. Setting a course to do is easy and being able to set targets such as pace is really useful. Garmin connect is pretty good for analysing the ride but it can be set of automatically sync to Strava which is brilliant. I have absolutely not complaints on this at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Finland
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for training

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought the Garmin 200 to help me train for sportives and I'm very happy with it. It gives me the required data to help me reach my goals and it's good value for money. I was thinking about buying a Garmin for ages but wasn't sure if I really needed one as Strava can give you the same data. After deciding to buy the Garmin 200 I would recommend it without hesitation. It's nice to have the live data in front of you instead of stopping and checking it on your mobile. It doesn't have the features of the more expensive models but it's fine for the average rider. It really does help you to set realistic goals when taking part in Sportives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dazzak
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Its a great device for the price

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have been pleased with this. It doesn't have too many functions, yet records journeys easily, accurately and efficiently. With great battery life. I have been really pleased with it, and would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shawdogg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Recommended "budget" GPS

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Okay so £80 may not be exactly budget, but compared to the higher end GPS options it is pretty reasonable. Does everything I need for my daily commute and occasional longer weekend rides. Nice visible screen, battery life seems decent. Uploading to Garmin / Strava is a synch too once you have installed the relevant software. No 5 stars as the GPS lock is not always amazingly fast, it has taken up to a minute on a couple of occasions, although to be fair it is usually locked within 20 seconds. IF you don't need all the extra features of the higher end stuff this is perfectly adequate and accurate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nomad711
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Easy to set up and extremely easy to use.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I was after a reasonably cheap good quality GPS that had just the basic features - this fit the bill perfectly.
It was easy to set up and configure, a 2 second job to attach to my bike.
Connecting to Garmin Connect was no problem either.
Very satisfied with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buckfusby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great computer

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought the Edge 200 as a way to track and record my rides, in this it works great. The ability to upload the ride data to Garmin connect and Strava works brilliantly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rich40
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great All Round

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Looks great on bike light and easy to use.
I particularly like the calories burnt info, always good to know how much effort i'm putting into a ride. would definitely recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Andyrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

good value

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
this maybe the basic level Garmin, but it still has a lot of features & is easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jonno4002
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Garmin Edge 200 logs your rides

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
What I like about the 200 for the price:
On the bike it is an excellent bike computer, displays speed, average speed, time, even elevation.
Off the bike you can download your rides to a computer to see your route overlay-ed onto a map. It also gives data for your ride including elevation changes/climbs, average speed, max speed, duration, calories, etc.
What I dont like is it can display a route on the Garmnins display, but its too tiny to read and be of any use. But you will need to spend hundereds more on na 800 to get this feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
djmcd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Simple, entry level GPS

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Easy to set up, simple to use, good synchronicity with fitness apps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Changers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Excellent performance and good value.

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent entry level GPS, giving essential data in a clear display. The data updates quickly with no obvious lag. It definitely enhances my ride experience, and loading the data up to GarminConnect allows me to review my rides at leisure. My only niggle is that the current time is not displayed with the ride data; it is temporarily available by going back to the start page but this is a bit inconvenient. I strongly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
charliewhoosh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great little gadget

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: does not like wet weather
great little gadget for training, I am not a speed or hill freak, though have seen definite improvements across board since i started monitoring progress through strava.
easy set up and use, stuttered in very wet conditions thus only 4 star
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>