Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS

Garmin Edge 200 GPS

Edge 200 features a high-sensitivity GPS receiver with HotFix satellite prediction to calculate your position faster. That means when you turn it on outdoors, it finds satellites quickly so you can get on with your ride. It also alerts you if you're moving but the timer is not running. Edge 200 has an Auto Pause feature so it will stop the timer when you're not moving, then restart automatically when you're rolling again. You also can set alerts for distance, time or calories to make it easier and more fun to achieve your goals.
Overall rating:
4.767 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(86 reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
69
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
85 out of 86(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 118 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3WheelsofMan
Country:Isle of Man
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Be confident about buying this product

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I'll come clean. Nearly 50 yrs old, a complete and utter technophobe whose 10 year old son has to help his dad with most things computer based.
Birds Twitter, and Facebook drives me up The Wall, so buying a Garmin 'gadget' was a step into the unknown taken with real trepidation.
But it really is THAT easy to use. Easy to set up, easy to read whilst riding, and easy to load data once home. The data uploaded is fantastic to review.
There are probably more souped up expensive Garmins that cook your tea and speak 15 languages, but this little beauty is an absolute star.
YES, I like it - you may have gathered!
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
floss
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to use/fit would highly recommend.

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit and use, does exactly what I wanted, avg speed, distance, autopause etc and also useful to keep a record of your rides and set courses. Easy to swap between bikes and comes with two mounts. Overall very impressed and would recommend to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Markydrum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great value for money

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first gps and very happy with it, easy to use and set up straight out of the box and when connected to Garmin Connect online is a very good piece of kit for any cyclist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kenny23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent for the Money

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Simple to set up and get going straight from the box. 2 mounts included allowing quick swapping between bikes and no hassle with sensors/magnets and working out wheel circumferences. Several friends have cycle GPS and this allows me to easily see their routes and compare our times - no cheating! Garmin Connect website is easy to use and simple to upload routes to. Just as easy with Strava too. No clock on this device, and it is not able to tell you your location, but for the money it is perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malcolm9
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Great value GPS system

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very simple set up. 5 mins max. GPS is accurate and links very quickly. Would definitely recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peanut22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Although entry level Garmin very easy to use for any age and abilities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

more than enough for most riders....

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Unless you are aiming for the top and want to amass as much data as you can then this is perfect. It is simple to fit and use. After the ride simply plug it in and see enough data to keep you going for hours.
Great price and excellent quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pdc2506
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great piece of kit

PostedApril 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
It doesn't have the ability to use a heart or cadence monitor, like the 500 or 800 series; however, what it does is record the essentials of distance, time, average mph and for amateur riders who want a GPS computer primarily to record their training milage; it's a great piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scobie0511
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Small, but gives so much

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I went from using an iphone to the Garmin Edge 200 and what a difference. Size being the first, discreet and no need for additional covers, no need to fumble with passwords etc... It's on all the time and gives you all the information you need. Easily removed for safe keeping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
serg
Country:Croatia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Garmin Edge 200

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: it would be good to see the watch on display
"Great beginners GPS, the display while riding is minimalist and useful, while the uploaded / online service gives some great input to your ride. Online maps are accurate, and could not think of any more information they could provide. Cons, have heard they are fragile - no issues after a month, but not one to drop electronic gadgets."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Badger66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

A lot of cycle computer/GPS for the money

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use, simple to set up
Cons: basic functionality
I was in search of a GPS which would allow me to plan and save routes. I had a (very) limited budget which meant that it was going to be a choice between Garmins Edge 200 and the Edge 500.
Both GPS' offered the basic functionality which I wanted. The Edge 500 had a wireless Heart Rate Monitor but I already own a HRM and I am very happy wearing it whilst cycling. The reviews on Bike Radar steered me towards the Edge 200 with a suggestion and my discussion with the staff in Evans confirmed that this was a good choice.
I have used the Edge 200 every day for two weeks and I have been really pleased with it. It is easy to configure and very easy to use. Uploading routes is very simple and uploading data after a ride is also simple. By using Garmini Connect, it is easy to effectively analyse your performance.
For the money I spent, the Edge 200 is an excellent GPS and I would happily recommend it to those with a limited budget and who may need less scientific analysis of their rides. However, if you are a serious cyclist with a bigger budget, you may wish to consider other Garmin models.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jaygo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Uncomplicated accurate recording activity

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, 5 stars
Cons: no con from me
I had tried a very cheap (non GPS) system that didn't seem too accurate and wanted something that could record my activity accurately on my PC, thanks to the other reviews this little uncomplicated unit fit the bill perfectly. Not only does it record distances, time etc it also takes into account your height weight calories burned amongst others. The Garmin PC/MAC plugin works automatically when you connect it to your workstation via USB, (lead and charger included), It comes with 2 mounts so you can swap between bikes.You can review all this data and map via Garmin connect .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Massimo
Country:Italy
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, use simple
Easy to utizzare and complete the basic functions to be used in racing
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chivs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use and fit

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: could be easy to steal if you forget to remove it
Bought this yesterday, charged it up fitted the bike mount yesterday and used it today and it's very easy to use. The display is nice and clear and a plus for me is it's back lit so if you do ride at night or are riding through shaded areas you can still read the info. I didn't need anything with a HRM or anything else. I've connected this to Strava easy enough too. I like the fact you can set it to Auto pause if you're at traffic lights and also alerts for distances etc.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lemmington
Country:Singapore
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Intuitive, cheap and cool lil gadget

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, good enough features
Cons: could be cheaper, charger head is a little too bulky.
The Garmin 200 is surprisingly accurate. Not only that, it took less than 5 seconds for it to lock on to the GPS signal, this was when I was under some trees. It tracks pretty well, only for one time when it went haywire and posted a max speed of 118kph!
Has nifty things like alerts and auto scroll, which I really appreciate
Easy to upload on to Garmin connect or strava. Charges real fast too. Ideal for those who want a basic gps unit , or don't want to use their phone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Xander101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Simple, easy to use and kind to the wallet

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
New to the GPS world, I thought going basic and entering at the lower end of the price bracket would be a good start. So far, so great! No problems, good battery life, and very easy to use, even for a techno reluctant type! 4 buttons, easy to read display! Mounts easily, simple and effective.
The one oversight that I think lets it down is the lack of a clock. I know its nice to get away on the bike and forget about time etc, but sometimes its handy to know exactly what time it is rather than working it out from when you set off and your ride time. The attachment could probs be better, but no problems as yet, so Im not complaining ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
VSCC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Slight disappointment

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
The Garmin 200 looks great and is easy to use, however like most of you I'm sure we all bought it for one main reason? Strava! However the down side to this gadget is pretty much everything. I tend to go on rides with my club, however when upload my ride I end up with ridiculously slow average speeds and slower segments then people I beat. I also end up with km's missing and big chunks of climbing meters gone. The other riders use phones and 510's or 810's. Would not recommend if you can spend a bit more and get a 510!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gordy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent kit

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Quick & easy to set up and a doddle to use on the road. No mucking about with wires or calibrating wheel size and the second mount makes for easy transfer.
The race feature makes those regular routes that bit more interesting. Good support from the Garmin website to help you plan new routes onto the device and download all those stats.
Now...if only this rain would stop long enough to use it more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twinsel
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Gps simple and handy

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am switching to garmin gps for the first time and it's user friendly. No time wasted to check sensors like my old cycling computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paco84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Simple, Reliable, Precise and Geat Price!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The Garmin 200 is an excellent product. It is excellent to record your progress is very easy to use, adapt to the bike and configure. It is a glory!
Definitely not for professional cyclists who want to measure their power and heart rate, but excellent for enthusiasts of the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>