Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS

Garmin Edge 200 GPS

Edge 200 features a high-sensitivity GPS receiver with HotFix satellite prediction to calculate your position faster. That means when you turn it on outdoors, it finds satellites quickly so you can get on with your ride. It also alerts you if you're moving but the timer is not running. Edge 200 has an Auto Pause feature so it will stop the timer when you're not moving, then restart automatically when you're rolling again. You also can set alerts for distance, time or calories to make it easier and more fun to achieve your goals.
Overall rating:
4.723 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(159 reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 159 reviews
5 Stars
122
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
156 out of 159Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
44 Questions | 143 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3WheelsofMan
Country:Isle of Man
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Be confident about buying this product

Posted10 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I'll come clean. Nearly 50 yrs old, a complete and utter technophobe whose 10 year old son has to help his dad with most things computer based.
Birds Twitter, and Facebook drives me up The Wall, so buying a Garmin 'gadget' was a step into the unknown taken with real trepidation.
But it really is THAT easy to use. Easy to set up, easy to read whilst riding, and easy to load data once home. The data uploaded is fantastic to review.
There are probably more souped up expensive Garmins that cook your tea and speak 15 languages, but this little beauty is an absolute star.
YES, I like it - you may have gathered!
+29points
33of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
floss
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to use/fit would highly recommend.

Posted23 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit and use, does exactly what I wanted, avg speed, distance, autopause etc and also useful to keep a record of your rides and set courses. Easy to swap between bikes and comes with two mounts. Overall very impressed and would recommend to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sitronman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

A great little gadget

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Good battery life, and very simple to use.
It would have been nice to have gone for a model with full maps, but couldn't justify the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
runvetbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Perfect for my simple requirements; distance , speed, time and average speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
acorn28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great bit of kit in a small unit.

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Really pleased with this Garmin. Might not have the fancy features of some of the more expensive models, but at this price you cannot fault it. The Garmin software is good, but its also easy to Sync with Strava. If you're considering a GPS in this price bracket you won't be disappointed with Edge 200
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AliaC90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

What a nightmare!

Posted18 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: got itself lost
Initially, I loved this, I recently cycled from Bristol to Paris over three days alone and day one and part one of day 2 was fine, I preprogrammed the journey via strava and it was fine. Then on the second part it struggled to acquire my position even though my arrow was on the line it showed on the screen. It kept saying “off course” trying to direct me into the ocean initially, even though it was showing me as on course and it was following the map so I ignored it and after 5 minutes it said “found location” and kept directing me.
Day three it did it again and because it was a little slow in the uptake the day before I assumed it was doing the same as I had started exactly where I was supposed to and on the screen itself the arrow (me) was following the line and still navigating me once could only assume the “off course” was wrong again as both map and directional arrow said otherwise.
I cycle for 5 hours in the rural French countryside when the arrow starts going a bit mental telling me to turn around when I had been going straight as per instruction and then my position quite simply stopped moving forward on the map. I clicked back into the overview and realised in FIVE HOURS I’d moved barely an inch on the screen, I was in the middle of fields, no idea where I was – quite frankly terrified I was lost in another country as a 24 year old girl and it took going to an old farmhouse, getting a French map and struggling with a couple of cyclists and cycling in the motorway hard shoulder to get to my destination.
If you want a GPS that can’t find its own location – go for the Garmin 200.
If you want to get to where you’re going without getting terribly lost, emotional and with a knee injury having to cycle 10 hours when it only takes 5…I wouldn’t.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gaz69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Posted17 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does what I need it for, mileage, speed time etc without dropping out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shandie
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Has all the functionality I need

Posted17 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, functionality
I bought this for two reasons - As a Strava user my smartphone battery was running out of juice on long journeys and I almost lost one run over 4 hours and secondly I'm going abroad with my bike and wanted a bike computer that is easy to operate and will store multiple journeys. So far the product has met my expectations - simple to use and loading data to Strava is very easy.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good simple product

Posted15 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent product, and simple to use. Straight out the box, one button and you are away. Recorded my route and uploading was easy too.
I'm also happy with the battery life, I was out for four hours and it only went down to 75%
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keithyboy76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product

Posted09 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a great addition and it links straight up to Strava.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RWT50
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pretty Good

Posted13 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Like it, not to complicated with features you don't really need. Sets up in seconds and links with Garmin Connect. Never used either before, up and running in no time.............
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Better Than Expected

Posted13 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Awesome Product..... I have always used a wireless odometer/speedometer and there is no comparison.... Link to PC at home and I see every detail of my ride including calories, elevation, speed etc. Cannot go wrong with getting one of these..... Also researched price and Evans are spot on....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keith52
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Posted12 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Superb value for money, no issues at all, would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mcgee022
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple to use

Posted29 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Power up the battery then follow the instructions to set it up. Put it on your bike, takes a few seconds to acquire satellite signal first time but after that it's very quick. Press to start your ride, come home & download the information, then get addicted to Strava!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ogekuey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple and very useful!

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It's a very useful tool. You can prepare your course using garmin connect and upload it in a sec, and you're ready to ride in places that you've never seen before...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DoddieW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Posted13 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The Edge 200 is easy to set up and swap between bikes. It gives me all the ride data I need and is easily downloaded to and stored on Garmin Connect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sol11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful GPS device

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: rubbish instructions and garmin connect site
This is my first use of a GPS cycle computer. Had it for a few weeks and so far so good. Good set of basic features, seems accurate and generally picks up a signal well and does not drop it. Easy to mount and seems well built.
However the Garmin site is pants. Very buggy on Mac OS and Windows. Instructions are equally useless. You'll find yourself doing what I did which is to google to answer basic questions. Quite shabby all round.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bushmanernie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great product, easy to set up

Posted16 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Really pleased with my Garmin Edge 200GPS. It was easy to set up and use. With Garmin Connect I can transfer details of my ride to my account (in the cloud) and review all the details. Great.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclelanzarote
Country:Spain
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job

Posted15 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this as I had a £10 voucher and decided to treat myself. So easy to set up. Information it gives is good. Does everything I need and I don't think the product is expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phil4150
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great piece of kit

Posted11 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to use
Excellent device that does exactly as promised. Easy to fix to bike and very stable once on. I like the fact that you get two mounts so I use one for road bike, one for mountain bike. Display is clear and easy to read. Saved information is easily downloaded to Garmin Connect, Strava, and Veloviewer. No heart rate or cadence functions but what it does do it does very well and at a very reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>