Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for GT Avalanche 4 2012 Mountain Bike

GT Avalanche 4 2012 Mountain Bike

Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(5 reviews) 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 5 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
5 out of 5(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for GT Avalanche 4 2012 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for GT Avalanche 4 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandcastle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Fantastic

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my first bike in a long time, I got this GT from the Kendal store,and I cant say enough about the help i got.
The bike i wanted was out of stock and the GT was in the store and as well spec'd if not better than the bike i was originally looking at.
The bike was ordered with a jacket, hat and a small set of lights all to be delivered to my home address as the Kendal store being my closest was still 35 Miles from home.
The bike is used for commuting to and from work and also some light off road use round some of the fire trails round our wonderful lake-district.
I have been using my bike for 3/4 weeks now and so far so good with nothing to report.
All in all i am enjoying cycling to and from work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GT Avalanche 4 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smithy1401
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great all round performer

Posted24 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have bought the bike through the ride to work scheme and have used to commute daily to work. I plan to use it off road to having 2 kids who love the fun and adventure of riding rough.
Overall I am very pleased with the bike, everything about it is great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GT Avalanche 4 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Damian09
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gt review

Posted10 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
This is a good looking well built cycle, which was good value for money.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GT Avalanche 4 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tommyb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great on road, awesome off road

Posted09 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Since purchasing this bike has had three different 50 mile trips, all with a mixture of road and off road tracks.
The main problem I have found with mountain bikes in the past has been problems with the gears, however this bike has none of those issues.
Another thing I like about the bike is the ability to be able to lockout the suspension when you want, so that when you are on the road your energy is not being soaked up by the sus.
This is a lot of bike for the price - very pleased I got one
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
suspension lockout
Posted 26 March 2013
How to you lockout the suspension ?
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for GT Avalanche 4 2012 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bavalaar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Must have in my opinion!

Posted07 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Not found a single thing to complain about on this bike yet. Gears, brakes suspension, everything is working great. Been on a few 25 mile + bike rides and rides brilliantly. Not been off road much but the few bumpy trails that i have tried it has dealt with them without any problems. the lock out works a treat.
Very attractive bike in my opinion. Before this bike i have never spent more than £300 on a bike. I now know why people spend more.
everywhere else seem to offer this bike at £469 so at £399 i think its worth every penny.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
charliethebiker
Lancashire
 
Please wait while more information about charliethebiker is loaded.
Additional information about charliethebiker could not be loaded.
It feels ergonomic
Posted 09 July 2014
I had an Avalanche 3 which was getting battered and so I sold it to buy a friends Saracen Mantra which was mint, I hated the Saracen the ride was awful. I managed to sell it and bought an Avalanche 4 which seems very similar to the 3 other than the addition of lock down forks, this is a fantastic addition, with good brakes and gears I would advise anyone to test drive this budget machine.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)