Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light

Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light

Overall rating:
4.704 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 27(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Review 1 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
timetogo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light for for a pitch black road

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, bright enough for a pitch black ride
Cons: turns to flash mode when battery low
A definite step up from my current 240 lumens (nominal) front light making it much easier to spot potholes etc.
The only real caution is that the light switches from continuously on to flash mode when the battery is low without warning. So takea backup front light unless you want to ride by strobe.
I would recommend this light for anyone doing night time rides. The beam profile is quite wide and could be improved but overall this is a fantastic light..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CrispyBacon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Very bright for the size and money

PostedMay 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice Aluminium body, understated design and functional hood over the light to stop you blinding yourself when leaning over the bars.
Very bright, white light. Had a play in the garden for a while, showed every detail.
mounting clip and be a bit fiddly when attaching the unit to the clip but im sure this will come with practice.
For less than £100, awesome light.
Just buy one. Or two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LincsCommuter
from Lincs, UK
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent torch. Very bright.

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This torch is perfect for the 22mi commute to and from work each day.
The 3 intensity levels allow me to adjust the light required for the different sections of my ride. Low power for pavements alongside an unlit road, and high for the offroad portions.
Battery life is suitable for my purposes (50mins in each direction), and love the fact that I can charge the battery using a USB lead..
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rosco
from East Lothian
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Can't fault this light

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, handy recharging
I use this light for night-time road rides and on full beam (450 lumens) it is more than enough for dark back roads. Very visible to drivers judging by the early dipping headlights and some flashes from those motorists that find cyclists with bright lights offensive.
It's also small and light enough to put in a rear jersey or jacket pocket.
Excellent quality for £99.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yashica
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super Drive

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I commute to and from work a 50k round trip down canals and then country lanes, all in the pitch dark. I spent £20 on a light and I would have been better burning the £20, it would have given off more light than the one I bought!. So I invested in a Super Drive instead and I have to say I am totally impressed by this light. The power off this light is fantastic, in fact the first time I used it I knocked 4 mins off my PB time! Good quality build as well. Charges with USB which is handy! For the money this is an absolute bargain!! And Evans delivered this in two days which is also great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nh2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb unit

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is a fantastic light if you are riding in the pitch dark. It is not cheap, but well wroth the money if you want to see where you are going!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
blakielad
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

an excellent light

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
decent beam, in distance, range of light and brightness, real added bonus that it can be charged via a USB (so can charge at work through the day ready for the dark trip home at night). I have mainly had to road from Bolton to Manchester city centre in the dark nights, which is airy in the wet and dark nights, with this baby i can off road along the river paths all year long and minimise my road exposure
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Burtie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent light throw

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This product gives a fantastic light throw for the price from an integral battery. My only minor complaint is that the USB charging port is a bit fiddly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mrguillemot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really great light

PostedApril 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, strong beam
This is the second one that I have purchased, but this time for my wife's bike. Very strong beam, esp when chlose behind another rider (they think its a car light). Not used on a long ride yet so not sure of full battery life.
Really easy to fit and very secure.
Fairly expensive product but would definitely recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonomc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Expensive - but your life is worth it!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I had spent four of the last 6 months unable to ride – this was partly due to a (non-cycling related) broken rib and also a lot due to the fact that I had been t-boned at 25mph buy a car making a right turn.
Between the above, and the fact that in September last year a driver made a left turn into me whilst I was cycling down a dedicated bus (cycle) lane, and you can see why I feel slightly more cautious on the road – this lead to me purchasing these lights as one of my safety improvements.
So why did I choose this light? Well there was 450 reasons for this purchase, namely 450 lumens.
450 lumens = one bright light that gets you seen, it is bright enough to cause a pause in the thinking of any driver pulling out from a side road, that delay means they are less likely to think they can chance pulling out in front of you, requiring you to slam on the anchors and curse to no one in particular about what an idiot the driver is. In essence - bright light means you get treated with more respect. This has certainly been what I have noticed. The light is also bright enough to give you plenty
450 lumens does not come cheap though – the retail recommended price for this baby is £89.99 with the Evans discount. This is a lot of cash to pay for a light (but there is a lot less bright and more expensive out there) certainly the people in my office think I am a little crazy paying so much for a single light. But really how much of a price are you willing to pay to avoid an accident or severe damage to your bike? In terms of lights of this high quality it is about mid price range.
The size – this is about 6 inches long and pen like – well a thick pen. But it is definitely not too bulky for the handlebars. It is quite heavy when compared to the cheaper plastic lights you can buy – but this is down to having a metal surround (therefore strong) and a very large lithium ion battery. What I really didn’t want was a separate battery pack (too much fuss) so although not featherweight this is still acceptable given its performance and the weight is down to having high quality and strong case. The case itself comes in either black or silver.
The light has 4 settings High, Medium, low and medium flashing. Being that I don’t tend to ride off road much – I tend to use this light only on Medium flashing setting. In this setting the battery seems to last for about 3 to 4 hours. The rechargeable battery lasts about 1.5 hours on the full 450 Lumen mode.
You have one rubber button on the top to select the light mode you want (this can be done with winter gloves on) and underneath it has a rubber bung to the charging point. One complaint I have about this light, is that the recharge point is a little difficult to access though by no means impossible. It uses a standard USB mini connection to recharge the battery – so you can probably use the charger you use for your phone (unless it’s an iPhone) on this light – therefore it is likely you can recharge this light at work and at home.
The useful function of this light is that if the battery is going low it automatically switches to low constant setting – not sure how long this will last for as it has only happened to me with 10 minutes of my ride left but it lasted that time with no issue.
The handlebar mounting is also better than most as it allows you to swivel the light left and right. Because of its brightness I would definitely have this light pointing slightly to the ground or you will have blinded drivers swerving into you. Although the light mount is well thought out I have found an issue with it becoming loose on the handlebar – you need to tighten it very tight and then not adjust it up or down or it will work loose. This is mostly because it is holding more weight than the average light, so get the angle right and tighten it hard then it should be OK with no more moving. To be honest the only way they could improve this is to make the tightening nut have larger handles.
One of the fun elements of this light – when on flashing mode (although at half power) it lights up the road signs for 200 or 300 meters ahead of you – it is quite fun because if someone has just overtaken you and they are obviously faster than you – it is fun to watch them still push on at a panic because they think you are still right behind them – in reality it is your light and you are free-wheeling a long way back – just for the fun of this fact, the light is worth every penny for the entertainment!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Potty1084

Great light and good value for money

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I needed a light as I had started cycling cross county at stupid o'clock to work and realised that my Smart light just wasn't bright enough.
After selecting a few lights I liked the look of I kept coming back to the Lezyne Super Drive. For its size it's a nice bit of kit, small, durable and incredibly bright.
The light has 4 different settings, high/med/low beam and 1 flashing.
I can't tell you how pleased I am
Evans also priced matched with no questions asked
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
flyboywales
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Very bright and well built, poor battery life

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, very bright, ability to charge using usb cable
Cons: Expensive, poor battery life, non-standard sized battery
Purchased the light for my year-round commuting bike as I quite often have to cycle on unlit roads/trails.
For its size this is very bright light especially for its price point. On the same stretch of unlit road at night I still have to travel a little slower as I can't too far ahead, but its not really an issue. Any brighter and you'd probably end up dazzling on coming cars. The light can be rotated left to right when fitted without loosening the clamp- this is useful as it allows you to shift the beam in either direction when required. I normally shift the beam to the left slightly as this avoids shining the light directly into the face of on-coming vehicles. You have three different light levels to chose from plus a flashing function. Also, the unit can be charged up from a USB port which is useful if you are commuting to an office where there are an abundance of USB ports! Also most modern phone chargers work too if you can disconnect the USB cable from the plug (HTC). The only negatives I have are:
- Battery life is terrible at full beam; only manged to get about 1 hour which is just about enough time for my commute, but no more.
- Battery life on flashing mode is not great either; lasts about 4 hours; which means you need to make sure that you have charged it during the middle of the week if you use it daily for commuting.
- No warning about battery life; little niggle, as it the LED does not dim when the battery goes low - it just shuts off completely without warning, which is fun on an unlit road.
- Battery looks like an AA battery, but it is not. It is proprietary battery that is sold as an accessory/spare. So you can not use recharageable AA batteries with it. My only concern is that if the battery needs to be replaced due to wear and tear, will it still be available in the future - at least with standard sized batteries you can buy them anywhere.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAW85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Well made and powerful...what else is needed?

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
As I started cycling to work I realised after 2 days that my Topeak Highlite front light plus 2 Knog Frogs wasn't enough to light my way, I felt vulnerable I needed a decent front light. I searched the net and found 3 lights I liked - The Electron Terra 2, Lezyne Power Drive and Super Drive. In the end I settled on this one, the Lezyne Super Drive as it had the most power. I was worried that I would blind oncoming cars but angled right it doesn't.
Overall very happy, great power and brilliant quality. Charging isn't a problem as I use a computer all day long.
Evans even priced matched with no problems at all, perfect service!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zoarium

It does what it is design for, but better.

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
First, the design is really sleek. The light really can light up the whole road. I was able to ride in a park without fear of falling due to port holes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryXJ6
from United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

A superb bike light

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
There is a lot to like about the Superdrive. It is a very strong, well made light, even the usb charge lead is Lezyne branded.
The beam is a long, pavement wide hotspot which then gradually dims to give a very wide angle peripheral beam which makes night riding a pleasure.
The Superdrive runs spookily cool and so does not suffer from the overheat dimming that affects my friend's light if we get stopped at a level crossing for several minutes.
Lezyne get praised in many reviews for being honest about their lights outputs and I have been surprised at just how closely the Superdrive compares to vastly more expensive lights which are supposed to be a great deal brighter. I also like the fact that the light does not automatically revert to flashing mode as the battery drains, it eventually drops to low and slowly further dims whilst pulsing the beam every twenty seconds in case you were already in low beam and unaware that the battery is almost exhausted. I managed 92 minutes at full power, then 11 minutes on medium and a further 15 minutes on pulsing low before the light completely shut off. But the best feature of the Superdrive is that if you fancy an extended night ride, you can just pop a second, cheap to buy 18650 rechargeable battery into your pocket and you now have 3 hours worth of bright light. Worth every penny.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JamesT
from England
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product for the price

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: plastic fittings let it down
I purchased the Lezyne Super Drive after reading several good reviews. I cycle through dark Devon lanes so need a decent light and I have to say the Super Drive is more than adequate for this purpose. You can see any obstacles/pot-holes easily and the field of illumination lights up the whole road. I use the lowest illumination mode 80% of the time in order to maintain battery life. The light itself is very well made and looks quality but is let down by the plastic handlebar fittings. They do the job ok but for me, the light swivels from side to side too easily in the mounting (even when screwed in well). This isn't a problem most of the time but occasionally the light has moved which can be annoying when you've got speed up. All in all though, a great light at a decent price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisDWM

excellent, you cannot go wrong with this

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
charges via usb, so 2 leads could be useful for charging at home and work. - Compact, light and very bright for "useful" light at night, rather than just get seen at night light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fox0112
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Bright spark

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Having recently started cycling through Richmond Park at night, my need for a more powerful light was paramount.
Even in the complete darkness, this little beauty throws out enough light for me to go at full speed with complete confidence.
At a guess, I would say that I have good visibility up to 20m in front of me and with more than a wide enough arc to see either side.
The different settings make it perfect for my daily commute, as the full power option would probably dazzle unsuspecting drivers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoftyL
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Expensive, but worth it

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, very bright
Cons: Expensive
Bought to replace my broken Cateye (which was also excellent btw) but the light that comes out of this tiny light is fantastic. I had to angle it away from oncoming traffic to avoid being flashed at! It gets charged up every evening and easily lasts for my 75 minute commute without any sign of running out of charge. Along pitch dark country lanes it is superb.
Only tiny criticism is the bracket, which didn't come with any rubber bits so I had to wrap some electrical tape around the handlebar underneath it to stop it moving. It also tends to swivel left and right a bit, which I haven't managed to stop. Neither of these are a big deal, but for the price you might hope for a decent bracket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lezyne LED Super Drive 2012 Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tony789
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Spot on

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Absolutely great. I use this for commuting on some rural roads and have no worries with it whatsoever.
Definitely recommended, I would buy another if this one got lost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>