Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light

Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light

Overall rating:
4.85 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Review 1 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AliHudds72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Great light!

Posted24 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fitted onto my Specialized bike perfectly,easy to use and lights up road ahead well without dazzling oncoming cars.
Very pleased I bought this light, it looks great and is lightweight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EDZART
Country:Brazil
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome product!

Posted17 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poor battery
The Nano Shot falls somewhere between a high performance light for training rides and a commuter light. It’s plenty powerful enough to see by, with a beam pattern that provides both precise forward illumination and a wide spread. But short battery life means it’s not the best choice for long rides on unlit roads. It’s more than enough for long commutes, though – especially if you switch between modes. That it takes up so little real estate on your bars is a bonus, as is the ability to charge it through your PC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HellBlownJack
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The light fantastic!

Posted31 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was looking for a compact unit that provided functional brightness at a sensible price. This managed all three. The beam width provided excellent forward road illumination to a useful distance with two brightness settings. It was easy to fit and felt secure - I've found the latter to be a problem on some previous models, not so with the EL620RC. The design is slim with a low profile and feels part of the bike rather than an ugly addition. The battery life is excellent even with rechargeables which often underperform. Overall, if you are looking for a great, robust lamp that is reliable in all weathers then this fits the bill perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curlycigar
from Great Britain
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light

Posted23 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great light, I had the EL610 before this and this is a lot more compact. Very bright flashing light, motorists have no excuse to see you coming!! Reasonable light when not in flashing mode. I ride everyday all year round. Good commuter light.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Azbozupruder
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Decent light

Posted08 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Could do with more setting that hi/low/ flash but plenty bright and a bargain compared to other lights of a similar lumen rating. Also seems a decent build quality and the mount is better than on my Lenzyne.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RideFree
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love this light!

Posted07 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was looking for a light that would charge via USB and yet was bright enough. This light is great. The strobe light can be blinding so it's important to aim it a little lower when it is being used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TTman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

really good , well made and good value

Posted26 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I read some reviews and then went for this and have been really happy, I have only used it on flashing mode so far and it has lasted 5 or 6 hours with out re charging. The light is small for its power and seems really well made, I would definitely buy another one and would recommend to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bolly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really bright!

Posted24 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I bought this as a present for my son who enjoys riding in the countryside. His comment was:
That lights bright :) Really Bright !! :)
Thanks for a great present
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DGZBJ40
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small, light with a great beam

Posted29 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, small
This light is fantastic. It was one of my best buys of recent times. Very light, well built, excellent beam for the size. You can't be wrong with it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eurotrash
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright

Posted04 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, bright
Very bright - you'll be seen. After dazzling myself enough times, I decided to spare oncoming drivers and angled it downward; so whilst they will still see a bright flashing light, they won't go veering off the road.
Charge lasts plenty long - I first had to recharge mine after about a month of commuting (using flashing mode only, 1 hr a day).
Happy with product and would recommend. The Nano Plus (the model above this one) is probably overkill for a commuter in the city, since we tend to have street lights...
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very small, lightweight and bright.

Posted04 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: smaller battery life for price
I used to have the EL610 single shot plus, which was a pleasantly powerful light, however very bulky and heavy - it was like carrying round a brick.
That eventually broke, however it was under warranty from evans who promptly offered to replace it with this as they had stopped selling it.
I was extremely happy with what i received as i've found it just as, if not more, powerful as its predecessor. It is also vastly smaller and extremely lightweight. It even fits in the same bracket as my prior light (although this smaller light uses the center runner of the bracket to attach as opposed to the outer runners).
It has a very useful system for swapping between flashing and steady light (both bright and dimmer - though still bright) which is excellent for stopping at the lights etc. The light also comes out of a small lens on the front, which i particularly like as it was the plastic fronting on my previous light that broke, and so it is much less likely to happen to me again.
The only downside i have found is a very slightly smaller battery life, although it has never run out on me yet during any commute/night time off-roading.
Overall a very small, lightweight and powerful light, an excellent choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Burton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great self enclosed light

Posted08 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Due to commuting I wanted a light that would be able to get wet and have ease of use. This ticks both boxes, the light has gotten wet and there have been no problems, using the light is a ease process for switching on and choosing 2 different levels of brightness, then just a quick double press of the button and its in flashing mode.
I think some people say that side visibility is poor with lights like these but I have noticed on dark roads that my brakes are lit and are casting shadows along the road.
The ease of charging and the fact that there are no external batteries or wires means that its a nice simple unit that does the job very well!
Only down side for some could be the price...
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NotDeadYet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted05 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have a few Cateye lights (EL520, EL320, EL135) plus cheap high power lamps.
I wanted a single light that met these criteria:
1. Flashing mode as a see me light - making road signs flash to alert drivers that fail to notice the bike's rear light.
2. As lightweight as the EL135.
3. High power mode to see by in the dark and travelling at reasonable speed (20-30mph).
Of my other lights they were either too under-powered, too focused a beam, or not suitable as the flash mode was missing or far too fast.
Step in the EL620RC. It is as lightweight as the EL135 much brighter than all my Cateyes (together) and as bright as the 1/2 power option on my most powerful CREE XM-L T6 lamp, but the Nano Shot has a better beam spread.
The flash mode is visible at over half a mile at least (that's when I came around a corner and my friend saw me from way down the road, and early evening). In pitch black, tree covered roads the low and high power modes are very good and I can ride as nearly fast as I like.
So far I haven't exhausted the battery, but I tend to ride with flashing mode until it is dark and then switch up to low power and then high power. In flashing mode each hour usage reduces high power time by 7.5mins. So a 2 hour ride on flashing still leaves 1.25hr in high power to get back home.
Switching between modes is good too. Single press to toggle high/low, double-press to flashing and single press back to high/low.
That it uses the same bar-mounts that I already have is a bonus. I certainly would buy it again and may even get a spare.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light & bright.

Posted08 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, bright
Cons: short bettery life between charging
I had bought the much heavier and bulkier EL610 3 years ago and was really pleased, although after numerous times of it falling out of it's fixing, due to its weight, the casing finally suffered a terminal break.
This new version is a lot smaller and incredibly light so I don't think I'll have the same problem. The lamp also appears to be much brighter than the EL610 but the battery life is less, 1.5 hours compared to 3 hours for the EL610 on full beam, but it should still be enough to get me home and a dark winters night!
Bought it when reduced and also made use fo a £10 off voucher for on-line orders, so pick the right time and you could get a bargain as well as a great light!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Front Light

Posted04 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, small, powerfull
Brilliant beam and great battery life. I fully intend to buy another so i can have a double beam light setup which works well with this light as it is so small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dickydog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Powerful small light

Posted31 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Useful small light for commuting/ firetracks off road.
Lightweight, easy to recharge from USB charging lead supplied.
Light output seems to be similar to a Exposure joystick.
No experience of how long one charge last yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StephKassa
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lightweight road bike light

Posted20 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great lightweight road bike light, excellent beam that lights up roads and paths, easy to use very "aero" looking, could not be happier.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bartek
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Absolutely amazed and pleased

Posted12 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: low power indicator bit iffy
This is upgrade from HL-EL530 witch was slightly under my expectations at the back lines. Light was ok but there wasn't enough flood between main spot on the tarmac and front wheel. This tiny light solves it all and with boost mode none of them potholes can hide any more. If your commute road goes through pitch black back lines this light is for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
catchme
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye HL-EL620RC Nano Shot

Posted07 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I highly recommend this HL-EL620RC Nano Shot front light talk about bright it is very bright compar to my old batter Cateye HL-AU230 Jido it like having a motor bike like not as bright as that but it give you idea.
On normal beam it will light down to bottom of my street and light sign up also great on the back lanes would not use the flash setting for the back lanes but OK for well lite streets
and it is well made and quality
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye Nano Shot EL620RC Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Coupar Angus, Scotland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lights up the road

Posted04 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: slightly expensive
I bought this light as I was looking for a powerfull small light, to light up the road on pitch black Perthshire back roads, and this pocket rocket of a light doesn't dissapoint.The light gives off a strong beam (cars dip their light from afar when they see me), but the reason I bought this light was the great spread of light.You could take this on forest fire road tracks, maybe not singletrack.Also being rechargeable via USB is brilliant.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.