Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light

Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light

Overall rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Review 1 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SGLsurvey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright and solid. Easy to fit.

Posted08 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I got this at a good price. Fitting is a breeze and needs no tools. The light has proven bright and reliable for my city commute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
AlKim
Country:Finland
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Inadequate for my purposes

Posted04 November 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Expensive, lights poorly
Let's start with the good: this light is not without merits. The mounting bracket should fit handlebars of all sizes (although swapping between two is a bit of a pain) and holds on tight once you've got it on. The light itself looks nice and clips into the bracket with a satisfying click, although the batteries are contained behind a twist cap that feels like it would break in the slightest of crashes. You can adjust the lamp's angle five degrees to either side. There are three modes: low beam, high beam and strobe, although I only ever use high beam myself. Low beam is useful for being seen but doesn't really illuminate what's ahead, whereas high beam is quite bright and has quite good range.
Unfortunately, while the range is good, the pattern is not. The beam is very focused, so the lamp illuminates a tiny spot in the distance but not much else, or a thin strip if you tilt it down. I would recommend looking for brighter alternatives in this price range if you ride in unlit areas, or something cheaper if not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
matt460
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted21 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very bright light which has slots to make it visible from the side too. The mount is a bit fiddly to attach initially, but the light can be removed leaving the mount in place, so this only needs to be done once.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Conjoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good quality, slight downside on the attachment

Posted11 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: doesn't atatch reliably
Light is bright, fairly priced and has a number of useful settings.
However I found the attachment mechanism not entirely reliable if the handle you are attaching it to is not even.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
IanM1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted04 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good light at a good price. Easy to fit. Only minor quibble is common to every light I've ever had: when I lock my bike I always take the ight off and put it in my bag, and as it rattles around it has once switched on, wasting the battery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndyB3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value very bright front light

Posted30 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This light was on special offer and provides a very good value bright front light. The casing is strong and compact and fittings are very easy and adaptable. I was a little bit disappointed to discover that the mounting is slightly different from my other lunar front light as I was hoping to be able interchange between the two the only downside.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rundleni
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Good front light

Posted21 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This light comes with three options of illumination main beam, dimmed, and flashing!! With main beam on it illuminates the road a treat. Comes with a very simple clasp to attach to the handlebars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pablof430
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Excellent value

Posted16 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A great value light which outshines other front lights 3 x the price. I could not believe how bright this light was for the price and it is quite a compact size. Easy to fit and the 5 degree adjustment left and right is helpfull when needed. Very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MILNGAVIE
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

solid product

Posted07 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Quality light ,great price very pleased with ilumination.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nakuttaja
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks good but lights poorly

Posted26 August 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: lights poorly
My reasons for choosing this front light were (in order of importance) the colour, the price, and the supposition that the 25 lux brightness would be enough for even the darkest conditions in urban or semi-urban setting. Well, there aren't that many white lights and surely you need a white light if you have white handlebars. The overall design is also very pleasing. The light is easy to mount and fits nicely on OS (31.8 mm) handlebars. There are three light modes, but I don't have any use for the low and flash modes, so the light would be better with only the high mode. One nice detail in this light is that you can adjust it for few degrees sideways. The light seems to work well in at least light rain. This light has many good qualities, and therefore it is quite a disappointment that in the most important quality this light leaves much to be desired. It would be easier to compare the brightness of different lights if the manufacturers would use the same unit, I have absolutely no idea how to compare 25 lux to units expressed in lumens or candlepower, but I can say that for me 25 lux seems to be not enough. Not even the high mode is bright enough to help you see where you are going on a dark road, the light beam is also strangely narrow, almost like a laser beam.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dato
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

powerful light for being noticed in traffic

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
really pleased that at night road signs reflect back the light meaning it is powerful and noticeable .
it is good at at night and in daylight when the sun is behind me or in poor visibility
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Burnsi1983
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted27 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Had no issue in the three / four weeks I've been using this (cannot comment on Battery life). Have ridden in the rain and no problems there, bright enough to light up the streets / roads I use without street lamps, all in all a good buy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Smart Lunar 25 Lux Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sherriff44
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very bright & excellent value

Posted26 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Considering the brightness of the light this represents very good value for money. My one complaint would be that the clasp does not tighten sufficiently and tends to slip forward on the handle bars. I have be balance it on my reflector to stop it pointing straight down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.