Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Child Seats or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat

Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 9Would you recommend this product to a friend?89%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat
Review 1 for Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joanna32
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great!

Posted13 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I personally think this childseat is the best which you can get. I didn't really want to buy rear mounted seat, because I want to see my son while we are on bike. The seat itself is very small. I was shocked when I saw it first time. Didn't believe I could fit my 15 months old son in it (he is 83cm tall). It looks like it was for dollies :) But believe me he looks really comfy in this seat and still got plenty room. He loves to ride on bike. I can talk to him while riding. Padded with soft material, safely mounted on bike with extra straps under seat plus extra straps to hold little feet down :) Unlucky it didn't fit my husbands bike (it is not drop handle bar bike). Another thing is when you riding you need to put your knees a little bit on the sides, but it is not a big problem. Still think it is the best buy!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Excellent way to bring your little one along

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
I really liked this product - it meant that I could take our young son along for a number of bike rides whilst we were on holiday. Being upfront you can easily check that your child is OK and keep them involved in what is going on.
However, if you are thinking about buying this kind of front seat for your child it is worth doing a bit of research first. We had mixed feeling about this kind of seat when we read about potential safety concerns about this kind of front seat as compared to the a rear seat arrangement(please note 'potential' - I am not sure how real these concerns actually are). Basically this boils down to a concern that if you have an accident with one of these front seats in place, the child could end up acting as your airbag and be trapped against the handlebars!
As we were only using this product for occasional leisure riding, mostly off road, we were happy that the any such risk was extremely low. However, if we were going to use it every day for taking the little one to child care I would have probably have gone for a rear seat instead.
Please do not take this as a negative review of the product - as mentioned above I really liked it and I am not sure how real the safety concerns actually are. I just want to share what I found out about these kind of child seats. This is probably an individual decision about how / when / where you are going to use the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smellofreason
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Victoria

Didn't fit my bike

Posted08 January 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really wanted a front-mounted child bike seat, but I am too small! I can't comment on the quality or the comfort of the seat as I never got to use it, but I wanted to leave a review flagging to the smaller riders out there - anyone using a frame at the bottom end of the sizing spectrum - that this seat will probably not work for you.
I'm on an XS frame, and have had to go for a Hamax bike seat - not only is it rear mounted but it's mounted on the frame, not the pannier rack, as on small framed bikes you can't even get a pannier mounted rear seat to work!
The good news for smaller rides in despair, is that front-mounted panniers are just as comfortable and convenient as rear mounted ones, so I haven't had to compromise and go back to backpacking my clothes and laptop.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
By Mat WeeRide10 January 2015
Sorry the seat didn’t fit your bike. We do say in our ads that it fits most adult bikes ie 16 inch frames and above. We do actually fit some 15 inch aswell, but others we don’t. The key measurement is that the gap from headset to seat post is minimum of 49cm. Can I ask, did you try moving the bracket arms onto the second set of holes, as that can often make the difference? Also sorry we got a 1 star review when as you say, you didn’t get to try the seat, as most people love. I just hope people read your comments and not just the score! Unfortunately it drags down our average score, and maybe a middle score may have been more representative.WeeRideUK
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RobinF
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Happy Baby!

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, enjoyable
Cons: mounting bar's a little ugly without the seat on.
A very good product - having previously used a rear mounted child seat, the difference in level of enjoyment and engagement of both parent and child is amazing. Additionally, controlling the bike on steep mtb climbs is much easier with the child's weight centrally mounted rather than overhanging the rear wheel.
Not as easy to fit / remove as some of the rear mount seats, and needs to be used on a bike with a relatively long top tube (otherwise it can be tricky to stop without the need to track-stand) but the benefits of having a child who actually wants to get into the seat (and therefore co-operates) greatly outweigh the minor drawbacks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monkeymum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fantastic seat

Posted24 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: tough with steep inclines
What a great seat, expensive but I'm so glad I paid out for it. The metal bar adds a bit of weight to the bike but the seat is lightweight and easy to fix onto the frame. Slightly amended cycling style, I had to lower my seat quite a bit and cycle with my knees out more. Saying this I still managed a 17mile cycle around Rutland Water without discomfort, although due to the seat being in the way, I struggled with the inclines as I was unable to cycle out of my seat. I had to walk up a few steep ones but in my mind I'm not racing around when I've got a child on board so I didn't mind. My son loved it we were able to chat and point things out all afternoon, I knew he was safe and well. He even managed a little snooze with his head on the headrest. I was also able to wear my rucksack as no child on the rear for it to hit! Great for flat Norfolk but I wouldn't want to battle with to many steep hills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
casper3834
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

AWESOME!!!

Posted22 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought it for my 2 years old son instead of an ordinary child seat.
It fitted well with my mountain bike (FOCUS Black Forest 4.0), took me about 15 mins for installation.
Took the bike to Dolomite UNESCO Heritage and done several trails, and had no problem whatsoever.
It seems comfy enough for 2-3 hours of long ride, and the harness, leg holders, and safety strap to tie the seat to bile frame made me feel much safer.
Absolutely one of a kind and definitely recommend to everyone.
By the way, I was asked more than 10 times where I purchased it during a week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jams1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My daughter loves it!

Posted29 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this a few months back and have since been taking my daughter out in it every oppportunity we get. She loves it! When we ride we get envious looks from other cyclists who have rear mounted children's seats and it's easy to see why. They cannot interact with their children like I can. Also, my daughter sees everything I see, and I can point at various things and whisper in her ear or sing etc. It took around 20 mins to fit - not difficult, just fiddly. Plus, removing the seat is easy enough - and you can just leave the bar on (but you can take that off aswell should you want to - it just takes a bit extra work) She is well strapped-in when travelling, and the beauty of it is that you can easily check whether or not she's safe by just looking at her - she's right in front of you!! No need to constantly worry on what's supposed to be a relaxing ride by having to stop and check that your child who's sitting behind you is still there! Strapping her in is also easy enough, just lean the bike against a wall and hey presto. It's worth taking a bit of time the first time to make sure that you adjust the straps etc properly so that your child enjoys a comfortale ride always. My daughter is now 25 months old and she is still a long way off growing out of it. I recommend this to everyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

WONDERFUL

Posted15 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I never write reviews but just want to let people know how good this seat is.
My wife did all the research and said this looked the best, so we went and bought from our local Evans store as we always get better information there.
First thing I noticed was how solid it was, just a very well built bit of kit and that is what I wanted if I was putting my 8 month old onto my bike.
Fitting I would say was easy but fiddly! Took me 15 mins and you could see the seat was going nowhere when connected.
I then loaded my baby in and after a few seconds of initial nerves, the smile came on her face. That smile didnt go for the whole ride.
The strapping was superb and I knew she was going nowhere and the padding was better than I had seen on any seat.
We had such a great time, she only cried when I took her out.
I cannot enthuse enough about this seat and would recommend to anyone to try.
Danny
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weeride Safefront Deluxe Childseat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MorgansMum
from West Sussex
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Thrill Ride for a Toddler!

Posted30 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, you can see what your child is up to!
We first used this seat in the New Forest on my husbands road bike when our son was about 18 months old, and were amazed at the comfort of the ride for our little one - especially when he dropped off for a nap while we were still cycling on a gravel track!
I have since used it on my mountain bike with great success on my own. I was at first worried I wouldn't be able to "load" my son on it on my own, but by leaning the bike against the wall it was no problem at all.
My cycling is very slightly affected by the position of the seat, but I still manage a comfortable ride for both of us.
My son absolutely loves being in his seat, as he can see everything that I can, and can still look up at me as well whilst playing with the bell on my handlebars!
Would definitely recommend this over a rear mounted toddler seat any day!
The only downside to this seat is that he will actually grow out of it one day!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.