Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock

SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock

Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
31 out of 34(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Review 1 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
goodie63
from Germany
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great socks!

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Quite warm socks, absolutely wind- and watertight. I use them mainly for biking, but also for normal walking around. A real recommendation for bad weather!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Cyclum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Odd fit but comfortable

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
They felt quite large to put on and had a strange almost papery feel to them - that will be the waterproofing. However once they were on I found them to be very comfortable. They didn't come down my ankle or fold in my shoes so I really can't complain. Typically it has warmed up a bit since buying them but I imagine they'll keep my feet today and warm through the winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nsc1

Does the job

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
feels a bit like wearing plastic, but it works. Expensive though for a pair of socks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
brylonscamel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Stays warm, even when rain overwhelms the lining

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
A good sock for all conditions, although biblical rain will eventually overpower it. Tendency to fill up with water that drains off your legs.
Lasts well considering it is a sock, and they do eventually wear at the toes / heels. Also great in snowy / cold conditions.
Sizing is an issue; these are bulky socks and may cause tight toes in your 'summer fit' cycling shoes. I find one size smaller than recommended tends to keep them a snug fit as the 'correct size' for me tends to go a bit 'Nora Batty' around the ankles.
But that might be my slightly odd combination of big feet and narrow ankles. If you have beefy calves, this is less likely to be an issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Vince683
Country:Germany
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent addition to winter/spring/autumn gear

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I extensively tested these socks during my night-rides. Most of the time it was pretty cold (below 5°C) and humid. Tending to sweaty feet these socks keep my feet warm (in combination with Northwave Celsius GTX), even when they are a bit sweaty - thats the great bonus. To exclude further questions: I do get sweaty feets in other socks too, but after the ride, they tend to be cold.
Addionally, they are great in combination with summer mtb shoes for spring/autumn - even though I do not use them while rainy days, in those cases I recommend overshoes.
Unfortunatelly, the fit is slightly small (size L with regular shoe size 45 / sport shoes 46+).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dryshaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

none soggy feet

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Love them as keep feet warm and dry . Use gloves in depths of winter and once hands warm they are the same . Toastie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Bonga21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Quality product, which works perfectly. I will likely be ordering some more soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Hobby76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, it works
Does exactly what its supposed to: waterproof, comfortable, warm, breathable and light weight!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buta215
Country:Canada
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Fully met expectaions

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
To keep my toes warm I have tried plastic bags over merino wool socks and toe covers and they still got cold. These socks have kept them warm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andyp63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these socks with some doubt mainly because they seemed a bit 'pricey' for a pair of socks! But I have to say I've used them today in frosty 0 degree temperatures and rode for about an hour and 20 minutes, in the main my feet were very comfortable and warm but towards the end my toes were starting to feel a little 'tingly' with the cold, this could be that I was wearing a normal pair of every day trainers with them or I might need the heavy weight version as opposed to the mid weight version that I've got,when riding in 0 degrees temperatures if your riding for longer than 1 hour or so.
The comfort is very good as is the quality! I would fully recommend them and it is a case of you definitely you get what you pay for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cobraweb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

May be waterproof but......

PostedNovember 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I wore these yesterday for the first time. At 5AM it was 0 degrees and I figured the perfect opportunity to test them out. 10 miles into a 35 mile ride my feet went numb and remained that way for the remainder of the ride. I can't vouch for how waterproof they are but warmth wise the capability is questionable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andy66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

waterproof and very warm

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
a fantastic winter sock, the new design fits snugly around the ankle and heel, I use mine well into the summer and they keep my feet warm and dry. these socks are the perfect solution to keeping your feet warm and dry on cold and wet winter rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hojo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good quality but not warm enough

PostedMarch 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable, not warm enough
Have had a similar pair which were both waterproof & very warm in winter. These new ones are longer and tend to ruck up or down around the ankle. In really low temperatures they don't keep feet as warm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SRid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice dry feet

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: bit to long
Happy to pay price as kept my feet 100% dry nice dry feet end of each ride. A bit long don't know why SealSkinz change size in length.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Banker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Comfortable and good fit. Very useful for walking as well as cycling. I will buy them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prawncurry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice and dry

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
These socks I rave about because they keep me dry when I go on the wet mountain bike tracks. They are a little weird at first as they feel different to a normal sock, yet you do get used to them quite quickly. The thermal qualities are not perfect and I do wear a thin pair of thermal socks when the temperature is below 5 degrees and then they keep me warm down to about -1, this is not wearing an overshoe though. The reason I gave a 5 star reviview is because they keep me dry, this was exactly what I bought them for and yes they do that job perfectly, my son stood in the bath in them as a dare and his feet were dry when he came out. The outside of the sock will then have to dry as it does get wet, yet the insides are nice and dry. overall a great pair of socks, I now have two pairs and I tuck my waterproof trousers into the sock saving them catching my cog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
whitebikeman1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it does what it says on the tin

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
as we all know it has been very wet over the last few weeks and my feet suffered. I purchased these socks because a buddy recommended them to keep my feet dry. Not only did they keep them dry but kept them warm - not hot - just warm. The temp. at the time was just over zero so warm was good. Not cheap but they do the job so one could say good value for money. Only downside is they haven't inproved my riding!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great socks

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I wear undersocks and these are very comfortable. Will now puchase some full length socks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JimmyH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well worth the investment!

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
After riding in the wintry conditions, I decided I needed to invest in a pair of hard wearing, comfortable and, most importantly, WARM AND WATERPROOF socks. These tick every box. Although you may question the price, I would recommend you invest, if only for the sake of keeping your feet warm and comfortable on those cold winter rides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SealSkinz Mid Weight Mid Length Sock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Roscocam1972
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

quality at a great price

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: small in size
A little undersized so beware but a great product for keeping your feet warm and dry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>