Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock

SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock

Overall rating:
4.517 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
27 out of 29(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Review 1 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Natty308
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Toasty, dry feet

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These new versions are a great improvement on my previous pair which were not truly waterproof. I have worn them running through wet grass & crossing streams, and my feet have stayed dry. On the bike they are wonderfully comfortable, the merino wool lining wicks well, and they are warm. At £12.50p a pair they are also very good value. Can't comment on durability yet due to their recent purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Oldguy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

works very well

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
You can stand in a stream and your feet will remain dry.
Unfortunately for me though they kept the water in for hours after rain ran down my legs and in through the top courtesy of Ride London 2014 and the biblical rain.
Definitely need over trousers or full length bib tights in those conditions to prevent that happening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taylorp74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Worth EVERY penny

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
When I first saw these in the shop I wasn't sure about the inside of them (as they have what I can only describe as a crinkly liner), however after 37 miles up/downhill through water and mud my feet were dry and comfortable. The mud was caked on them but they washed up like new.
I accept that they are really expensive for a pair of socks but they really are worth every penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scottyhutch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Warm and dry.

PostedMay 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
They feel a bit plasticky at first but after 5 minutes of riding through muddy puddles of the trails you soon forget that feeling and can enjoy warmer dryer feet.
I'm not sure as yet if the dampness on my feet at the end of a ride is water or sweat as I don't suffer from smelly feet :-) but either way these socks are far better than normal socks and wrinkly cold feet :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
MudRunner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Toasty warm & dry

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I brought these not only to use on when out mountain biking but also for when I do Obstacle Course Races like Tough Mudder.
Well what can I say about them apart from AMAZING. I used them at a recent muddy Obstacle Course Race and my feet came out bone dry even tho i was in and out of water and mud for well over an hour. Well worth the money. I'm going to be investing in the longer ones come the winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
RogB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Sealskinz Thin Ankle Sock

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I used them with another recent purchase which was the Northwave Celsius Arctic boot.
I suffer from extremely cold feet having once suffered with frost nip, and needed something to keep my feet warm and dry.
The socks fitted comfortably and combined with the boots kept my feet warm and dry on a day which was both cold and wet with a lot of standing water in large puddles in the dips between jumps and berms which sprayed my lower leg and foot.
I finished the ride with warm and dry feet, mission accomplished
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yowie1180
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

quality socks

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I was using football socks previously. These are more suitable. Other people have commented that they feel weird due to the material. It didn't bothet me. Used extensively over the last few weeks kept my feet warm but not 100% dry although this could be because my feet were fully submerged in a pool of muddy water. Would recommend as food value and better than using football socks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Prodean
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant piece of kit,

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I ware two types of these Skin socks, the thick pair are warmer and these thin are great for warmer days. My feet are always dry after a ride.
I have had these for two years and still as good as new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
EvansYeah
Country:Portugal
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Completely waterproofble and comfortable

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
this socks are not just for mtb, you can use them in many sports, like hiking and some trails by foot when it is raining, they looks very pretty, you should buy the middle leg option cause this ones are a bit smaller in the leg
they are very warm :)
but when you use them with shorts, sometimes the water stays inside the sock it is waterproofle,
good product :)
buy the middle ankle sock and not this one, the material is the same e it is more a few bucks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TonyA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent water proof sock

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Having got wet feet so many times during the recent floods on my daily commute I was recommended these socks as being the solution. They are quite light weight and fit well. The texture is a little odd at first but nothing you can't get used to. They work very well at keeping water at bay, in particularly from the underside through the cleat fixing holes, yet still allow your feet to breath. I would still recommend a rubber overshoe to keep the worst of the road dirt off your shoes. Well worth the outlay!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jack19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what it is supposed to do

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, waterproof
Cons: Expensive
Waterproof socks are an absolute must for lots of outdoor activities in the winter - I wear mine on my bike and on the golf course and they keep my feet toasty and dry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cavetroll
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Warm.

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I bought these to try and keep my feet warm in colder conditions. I have only had a couple of rides none in the real cold. But first impressions are that they work. They have an unusual feel to them. They have washed well. i will review them again once the weather is colder and them have seen a variety of conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
pammie13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cheltenham

Slightly more comfortable than a plastic bag

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: waterproof
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, Unattractive, Uncomfortable
These socks are waterproof as they say, but would have been better off with plastic bags on my feet given the amount they cost! Very uncomfortable and have no give in them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sgerbwd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good light shower resistance

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: only light rain shower resistant
Used these on a particularly changeable day cycling from Barmouth to Machynlleth. Rain was light but we experienced persistent on off showers. Socks performed well inside my breathable, cleated shoes, no rain ingress and feet didn't sweat.
You will need waterproof overshoes if you're cycling in heavier rain though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jigzy99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hard rain - dry feet!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Endured a very wet and windy Dartmoor Classic Sportive with these socks on and my feet remained dry - did the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VonROOKe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

These are a "must have" !!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought these as a "last minute" purchase a couple of days prior to a 24hr Mountain Bike endurance race - I'm sure you'll know the one I mean. Anyway I already own the thicker version of these socks and I used to wear them a lot. These are better because being thinner, they are not so tight in my shoes - I will be buying some more of these. 100% waterproof - makes things so much more comfortable if you happen to put your foot down in 5 inches of muddy puddle! Would definitely recommend these, in fact I recently bought a pair for a friend for his birthday. The only downside with these is that if you do happen to get water inside them, it stays there!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sarah48
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Comfortable and warm.
Have put them in the washing machine and they still look as good as new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Chrispod
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Appalling or Tarpaulin?

PostedMarch 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
Oh dear. thought it was too good to be true! They may be waterproof but they feel like you have a piece of Tarpaulin wrapped around your feet then a sock over the top of that. Not breathable so they keep the sweat in as a double whammy! Spent far too much on cycling socks and this may be the final set i bother with.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roscocam1972
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great price for warm and dry feet!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I find these the ideal solution to cold and wet feet. Keep the top of the sock covered whilst riding, wash properly and tumble dry or iron on warm to keep them in good condition. Thin enought to wear in summer as well without feet getting too warm!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SealSkinz Thin Ankle Sock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oldsurfie1
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I love these socks they are very comfortable and keep my feet dry and warm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>