Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket

Gore-Tex: Delivering maximum comfort and protection in a wide range of cycling activities and weather conditions, garments made with Gore-Tex fabric are durably waterproof, windproof and very breathable.
Overall rating:
4.756 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
40 out of 41(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GregP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

An Incredible jacket

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, phenomenal performance
I was going to buy the Altura Night Vision Evo but an Evansn sales assistant recommended this and I am SO glad I spent the extra. The first leg of lands end to John o'groats in 50mph gale force winds and driving rain. I was the only one to remain dry and comfortable under my jacket that day (including the friend wearing the Evo). Everyone else was picked up due to being wet and frozen. I would recommend this jacket to anyone!
I have struggled with being hot or 'steamed' in previous jackets but found the breathability of this jacket to be outstanding.
As an added bonus it is very visible and looks pretty cool on too!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ASAdoc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Fantastic Jacket

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bought this for a tour of Northern Ireland. We had atrocious weather, but managed 280 miles in 4 days, no leaks and no problem with breathability.
Excellent item
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ElaineB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

A Great Waterproof

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought the men's version of this jacket as the women's sizing wasn't right for me (I don't know why as I'm pretty average size and the men's small fitted me much better than the corresponding ladies' size). It's lightweight and very thin, so easy to roll up and stow away in a rucksack, but completely waterproof. The fit is good and it's comfortable to wear. I've used it a few times in very heavy rain and am really pleased I invested in this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ricks
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Perfect

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Bought this last month for a very rainy 100 miler and very impressed. Super lightweight, super breathable, very waterproof and no frills or gimmicks - a great jacket. Size-wise I'm 6'0" with 42" chest and 34" waist and a Medium (EU) is a good close fit without being too tight. Overall - pricey but, I think, worth it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Welshbloke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Light weight, high quality - brilliant for touring

PostedMay 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this jacket for long distance touring treks where carrying too much weight makes a difference after a long day in the saddle. High quality, comfort & waterproof is important - I already have two top of the the range Endura jackets that are great but this Gore jacket is lighter & I'm really pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
nepeanslug

Waterproof and very lightweight.

PostedApril 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
The product is waterproof, windproof and very lightweight.
It fits quite well - I measured myself according to the product guidelines and came out as large - although I am normally a medium I ordered the large and it seems to have been the correct choice, so my advice would be to measure yourself before ordering.
On the negative side, the jacket would be better with pit-zips or some other form of venting since it gets quite steamy when cycling hard. It is also a shame that it's not 100% fluoro (the shoulders and half the arms are black), and more retro-reflective panels would be good too.
A couple of extra pockets would be handy, but this would add weight and compromise the waterproofness a bit, so I can probably live without those.
I got the optional hood, despite the expense. It's actually very useful, since I can use the jacket now as an everyday raincoat (not being 100% fluoro is maybe a good thing in this regards). The hood is actually very comfortable, and fits better than most built in hoods, although makes the jacket even more steamy when cycling hard.
I previously had an Endura Luminite. This was really comfortable with good venting options (pit zips), plenty of pockets and was very visible. Unfortunately the zips were poor quality, and after three years the jacket is no longer waterproof, so I went the Gore-Tex instead. The Gore-Tex appears to be very well constructed, so I'm hoping it lasts a good few years. Only time will tell...
 
Products related to my review
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
terrazzo

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Bought this jacket in the sale and have to say it really is good, purchased to replace a well worn and now, not waterproof earlier version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
SteveisaDon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Does what it says on the label...

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, utility
Does what it says on the label; waterproof, windproof and good value protection against whatever the weather. More expensive than many, it still is good value for money. Sizes are small or should I say tight so best to go for one size higher. But would I buy it again? A resounding Yes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
petal
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My husband always likes Gore jackets and is again very pleased with his new one. Looks good, wears well, great visibility , water and wind proof. Does what it says it will do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
BarcodeGH3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Excellent

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this for winter rides. First use was a ride partly off road (WHW) and partly on canal paths. It was snowing when we started!
This jacket is stylish, hi-vis, comfortable and kept me warm and dry! Looks great also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OllyO

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
An excellent, and vibrantly coloured breathable waterproof jacket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chopper34
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good Jacket

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As the other reviews testify this is a great jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the best cycling jacket I have ever had and would suggest you buy it. Most of the cheaper ones are just false economy so put your hands in your pocket and buy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
CountryCousin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good jacket but with limited reflectivity

PostedNovember 23, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, limited reflective detailing, no pit vents
I bought this jacket online but have returned it.
It is compact and of good quality with excellent fit and finish but does not have sufficient reflective detailing to satisfy my requirements for commuting at this time of year. In my view this sort of jacket should be more conspicuous in the dark with prominent reflective elements low down at the back (and preferably on the arms) so motorists have no excuse not to see you.
Instead I have purchased the cheaper but for my purposes arguably better designed Endura Flyte jacket. This has discrete but more effective reflective detailing where it counts, yet appears from the specification to be just as breathable and waterproof with the added benefit of zipped pit vents. Although not as compact, overall the Endura jacket seems to me a better functional compromise for the money but time will tell!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AllYearRound
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps the rain out like promised

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very good quality, good visibility with this one. The inside does get moist as you sweat, but water is definitely kept out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
veryrarelystble
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
It was bought:West End

Okay but not excellent

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, lacks handy pockets, doesn't breathe as well as hoped
I bought this in the sale, because it is an expensive item. My previous waterproof was no longer waterproof, and I wanted something which would breathe as well as protect me from the rain in my daily 2 x 8.5 mile commute across central London. So far it has kept me protected from the rain, but I do find that it does not really breathe as much as I would like, and so the sweat from my own efforts can make me really quite damp.
I would have preferred more pockets - it has one breast pocket and one rear pocket. I've never understood why cycling tops have a rear pocket; I don't want anything bumping up and down on my lower back as I cycle. I would have liked normal side pockets where I can put my cycle lock keys and stuff my gloves when I don't need them, but there aren't any on this garment.
The material is not at all warm, but I guess that is simply a feature of goretex. The answer is to wear layers underneath. We've not yet got to the depths of the British winter so I can't comment on its ability to withstand the strongest of deluges, but for the moment it's fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Z971
Country:Norway
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice fit, waterproof, but nor very light

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not "breathing" that well
I like the fit of this jacket, it sits tight on the body, but not too tight. I bought the jacket one size larger for winter biking in Norway with extra layers of cloths under it. It does feel exactly one size larger, so I guess it true to size. The sleeves are perhaps a bit too long. In my view it looks good (for a “neon” yellow jacket), and it remained waterproof the one time I used it in a heavy rain. On the negative side, it is not very light for a pack-light jacket, and my impression is that it does not “breath” that well (subjective impression after few weeks of use).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trish66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

As good as I hoped it would be!

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Spent a long time researching the right winter jacket. This came out tops on all the reviews and having had Gore Tex before I decided that it could be the one. Expensive but worth it. Packs up nice and small, improves with washing and does as it says -keeps you warm and dry from both rain and sweat. Only down side is that hood has to be purchased separately - again quite expensive- but all in all a great jacket. VERY Pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
patt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

pricey but seems good

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I was disappointed with the waterproofing wearing off my previous jacket (Endura Convert) despite meticulous care and cleaning and couldn't face another winter of shivering dampness, so I threw caution to the wind and bought this.
Not as breathable as the other jacket but I'll accept a bit of condensation as a compromise.
The fit is good, but I'm usually a Small and I need a Medium in this jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Path Gore-Tex Neon Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
darren094205
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

100% waterproof & keeps you cool and dry

PostedMay 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, bright, well tailored
Had Gore Bike Wear Path Neon Jacket since end of 2012, this jacket is used for a twenty two mile round trip up hills, used is winter with a dry fit t-shirt x1 and long sleeve top x2 never cold in early morning -6C temperatures, works excellent in summer for cool mornings, in light or heavy rain kept dry, the breast pocket keeps mobile dry and the large rear pocket keeps other stuff nice and dry, sometimes use a rucksack no problems back still dry no sweat.
Packs up small and tight to take when out on cycle.
Nice bright easy for motorist to see.
Comfortable to wear for cycling, lots of material (well tailored not baggy).
You get what you pay for, highly recommend 100%.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>