Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes

Altura Night Vision City Overshoes

Overall rating:
4.15 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Review 1 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Rajdeep
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Good product

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Does the job very well & easy to put on. But doesn't look as cool as I've seen on some pros.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
NicoLondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Really waterproof

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
I don't have dedicated shoes on my bicycle ... I use standard trainers and these overshoes are perfect. They will keep my feet dry whatever the weather. I replaced my old ones (5 yo) with the same brand but newer model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisR81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Warm and dry in horrible weather

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Warmer than I thought they would be, nicely warm and dry feet even in windy 5 Celsius, pouring rain and me ploughing through deep puddles.
Great value, easy to put on and good secure fit.
Would recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Bikedog
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, accurate description
Good fit, the large size just about fit over my six 11 running shoes. Feet feel warm and dry on my commute. Cycled for 55 mins through heavy rain last week on the way home from work and no problems. Would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
divo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

great product

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
does what it had to do!! bought one from sport direct, but after first rain landed in the bin soaked through! Paid more for these but it works!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MTBDB
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Work really well

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Only used once so far but very happy and I'm sure with winter around the corner I'll be using them more often. Easy to put on, have a secure fit and kept my feet dry. Very happy so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nicolas31
Country:United Kingdom

Ok but does not fit perfectly well

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Protects really well from the rain but does not fit perfectly.
Fastening could be better...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NeilG83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

An overshoe to fit over standard footwear

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I bought these to fit over my standard shoes that I wear to work. I still find them a bit fiddley to put on and I am not to sure how long they will last. I think they are a bit over priced but they do what they say on the packet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
massivemike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid and pliable

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Much better than the last branded overshoes I bought. Velcro closure offers more fexiblity than a zip. Flourescent markings are a definite plus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nick01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these for my commute - I cycle around 80miles a week and wanted dry feet on wet days. These overshoes are quite hard to put on but once on, they keep your feet warm and dry-ish. They work fine in showers and with surface water but no overshoe will keep your feet dry in torrential rain.
They also keep your feet warm on this winter nights.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bianchi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Attractive and a great way to have extra protectio

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Never bought overshoes before, always used about 3 pairs of socks. Finally got a pair, easy to put on, great in the wind and for me having size 7/8 cycle shoes the large, fit absolutely fine.
I suppose added bonus is the high visibility they will give.
For the money I would say a little overpriced compared to some other overshoes, I picked these tho because of the way they fit over your shoe..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xodarap
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

They do the job and are easy to get on and off

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, convenient, reflectorised
I commute by bicycle in Perth, Western Australia, and it's cycle paths most of the way [beside the Swan River for most of that so _lucky me_! ]. It's only 8 km each way so winter rains are the main challenge. Our winter is like Edinburgh's early summer [I recently discovered ] so the avoidance of discomfort of sodden shoes is the only reason for rain bootees.
These suit me perfectly: I love the velcro all the way up the back which is so much easier than zippers and makes far more sense. I have had zipper closing types before which I won't get ever again. I just wear cross trainer type shoes - UK size 6 for for my small feet - and took a punt on "medium" size, which is about right.
Next time I order from Evans Cycles I'll stipulate "leave parcel by the front door"; these bootees [plus a rain jacket] took all of three days [yes 3!] to get from somewhere near London to my house. [Blimey, things don't come from Sydney inside 3 days usually.] No one was home at the time [Doh!] so had to wait til Tuesday after the weekend before they could be dropped off.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
patt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

OK for light rain only

PostedMay 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, not that waterproof
I bought medium for size 9 shoes and they fit perfectly. They keep light rain, spray and muck off your shoes, but for an hour's commute in medium-heavy rain I end up with wet feet.
Also, trousers cover a large portion of the reflective area, so that could be better placed elsewhere.
So I think they're expensive for these failings.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ZeroCool
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Good but a bit tight for wider trainers

PostedApril 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not that wide
I did manage to get these on some basket ball style trainers but it's a bit of a stretch. Although it did highlight how well made these are, can see them lasting for a long time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beagler
Country:Japan
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No-nonsense, easy-to-use product

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, easy to get on and off
I've previously gone through two pairs of zip-up overshoes that were extremely difficult to get on and off despite being marketed for my shoe size, and both of which started falling apart after soon after I started using them. These are a much more sensible design. The Velcro strap on the bottom makes it very easy to slip them on and off, and also having Velcro at the back is easier to use and seems to put less strain on the fabric than a zip. No complaints so far, but I haven't been using them long enough to give 5 stars, hence 4.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
elmo

Easy to take on/off. Could be a bit stronger.

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
After only few days the bottom part of the front started to slowly tear off on one of them. A bit of sewing and gluing seems to fixed the issue though.
When you find your way of putting them on they are quite easy to use.
Also Velcros seem to be strong and good quality.
As all rounders could be a bit bigger (they fit my trainers, but barely).
Also for the price I expected something stronger.
Three stars because they are "average". To be "good" they shouldn't need fixing so soon (maybe it was just something I did, but I don't recall any accidents).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sherlock
from Bedford
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Overshoes - Best for Commuting

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not very warm
I got the overshoes so I could ride in winter without getting my feet frozen / soaking. I chose them because they were the easiest to get on and off. I got Large to go over my size 44 Specialized BG Touring shoes. So far, I've done about 400 miles in them, in temperatures down to freezing and also in very heavy rain. I normally wear them with thermal socks and, maybe, also a light undersock.
The overshoes are very easy to get on/off (hook & loop fastenings work very well), and they're light and comfortable. Large is the right size for me, and the fit is probably as good as you'll get with a "fits everything" product. There's nothing underneath the overshoe apart from a toe pocket and a fixing strap, so there's plenty of clearance for cleats and not much to be damaged by walking with them on. So far they're showing no sign of wear and tear.
On the road, they're very windproof and very good at keeping out direct water - rain and road spray. Not very good, though, at stopping heavy rain from seeping down leggings and into my shoes - but overtrousers are probably the only answer here. At about 0-5 Celsius, they keep my feet warmish (but not truely warm) for about 60-90 minutes before the cold starts seeping in through the open base and cleat holes in my shoes. They don't make my feet sweaty / clammy.
Overall, they're fine for what I want (leisure riding) , but probably best for commuting rides of less than an hour, and not so good for more serious cyclists who want to stay really warm for longer continuous riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MBayRob
from New Zealand
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

OK, but not outstanding

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: not that waterproof
Have used the overshoes once for a 90 minute ride in light rain to begin and getting heavier towards the end. My bike shoes are size 48 and the XL size fits OK. Early on in the ride the overshoes kept my feet dry but as the rain got heavier my feet ended up wet, probably through spray coming up through vent holes in the bottom of my shoes. Although my feet got wet, it was nowhere near as bad as I have had without them, so I am reasonably happy with them and will use them again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scoobie69
from Berkshire, UK
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and easy to put on / take off

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, quick and easy to put on / take off
Cons: not sure about their durability
Purchased these for wet weather and winter commuting. They are very lightweight and compact, so they live in my commuting backpack. The fit isn't brilliant, but to be fair I am putting them over an SPD cross country shoe. However, they are very easy to put on and take off and so far have offered good protection from the rain and cold. My only concern is just how durable they will be as I expect to wear them most days through the winter and I fear the shoe straps may wear holes through the fabric. The reflective bits are also a bonus for the winter commute.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Night Vision City Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lastaii
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant bit of kit

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cycled 20 miles to work in the fog and my feet were warm and dry at the end!
These are lightweight and well designed -there's no fiddly & easily broken zips, just a simple velcro attachment system. The overshoe goes around the bottom of the shoe, so when walking the only part in contact with the ground is the rubber reinforced toe. The whole thing looks to be a long lasting robust design. The only possible issue I could mention is that being made of polyurethane they're probably not very breathable, but I had no trouble after 1hr 20mins of cycling.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.