Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove

Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove

Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Review 1 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nellybuck
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lightweight winter glove

Posted30 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Nice comfortable glove with a long cuff to stop draughts getting at your wrists. The windproof panels keep the chill off and the side panels allow your hands to breathe.
Padding is decent and well placed (for me at least) and plenty of nose wiping opportunities too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlakeH68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good quality glove

Posted24 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good glove that has long comfortable fingers and a long wrist. Great for Spring and Autumn but will need a warmer set for the winter months. Gel padding not the thickest but overall very pleased with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jumpylad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best winter buy yet....a must have

Posted10 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, on sale
I have bought other winter gloves that were cheap and nasty these have proven loads better already warm dry and most important to me wind proof, also very comfy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alessandro513
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A perfect fit for a winter glove.

Posted23 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I have tried many winter gloves and these are by far the best I have had. I have big hands requiring an XXL. Where these gloves leave the opposition standing is the fit. They are well proportioned and the fingers are ample in length. This is where most other gloves fall down regardless of price. If a winter glove is a little tight in the fingers and in other areas it is useless. I have used these gloves for the past two winters and they have not let me down. They are not water proof but they don't profess to be. Buy these, you will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BrumArms
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Great Winter Gloves

Posted10 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I have large hands and find it difficult to find gloves that fit. These gloves are a great fit and very comfortable. However the weather is still a bit warm for them at the moment.
At this price they are amazing value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GermanBob
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Warm Gloves

Posted10 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Fine for large hands and good length back over the wrist
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lund
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Bargain Price for Excellent Gloves

Posted03 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These gloves were bought to replace a similar pair of Altura gloves which had served me well for many years. These new gloves are just the right weight and are fine for most of the winter. Only on the very coldest days do my fingers get cold. The fit is perfect, The elastic cuff fits under my jacket making a wind proof seal. Bought them for half price on Evans Cycles. A great bargain!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cannon8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent gloves

Posted17 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
great fit , alot of gloves the fingers arnt long enough these are !
certainly keep the cold wind out ,
-5 icy cold wind and these worked well , my face was numb but fingers fine !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
henners99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Was no defense against early 2013 bad weather

Posted16 April 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I specifically bought these gloves as I have not been able to keep my hands warm this winter/spring (2013). The wind seemed to wistle through these gloves. Was really disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jakeus1995
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

These gloves are not bad

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I have had these gloves for six months and i have used them a lot and they now have holes in both of the gloves now but i have used them a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ianw7f
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good gloves

Posted15 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, warm
Only used on a couple of cycles but so far so good. They keep your hands warm and are comfortable to wear. The thumbs seem a little out of proportion to the fingers (slightly larger) - unless I've got small thumbs - which affects the fit a little. They've still made winter cycling a lot more pleasurable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jubeman
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good but not effective on frosty mornings

Posted01 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not suitable for minus celcius temps
I was hoping the windproofness would mean I could use these instead of my ski gloves on the cold frosty winter mornings in Canberra Australia, where morning temps are regularly 0c to -5c.
Unfortunately anything colder than +3c and they aren't warm enough. I have to use thin merino inner gloves as a baselayer for the cold mornings. But if the temps hit the minus C, I still have to use my gortex ski gloves.
Otherwise, it's good for the trip home when the temps are milder, around 10c, or on those milder mornings around 5c's or warmer.
The fit is good. Gloves are comfortable. And it does block the wind. Just not icey winds.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
tundragumski
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

not very good

Posted27 February 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Uncomfortable
These gloves have a poor fit. They are very tight around the thumb which is uncomfortable, but the fingers are very long. There is no lining, so you can feel all the seams and stitching which is also uncomfortable and rubs on the skin. These gloves are also not very warm, even though they are windproof. Certainly, if it's less than 5 degrees your fingers will freeze.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LAMBRETTA
from UNITED KINGDOM
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good fit - but beware

Posted02 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: colour ran
I really like the fit of these gloves they are slim and perfectly made to be in the riding position with hands on the bars.I normally take a size large in gloves and these are no exception.I regard these as winter gloves but only down to about 5 degrees as they are not warm enough when there is frost or ice about. Good for chilly days but I need thicker gloves when it is really cold out.
The only problem I found with these gloves is that when my hands sweat this washes out the black colour from the gloves which then ran on to my red/white jacket sleeves which I had tucked into my gloves.
This meant that I had to use a 'vanish' type washing product on the jacket sleeves and hope the washing machine would get rid of the dye from the white part of the sleeves which luckily it did just about.I then washed the gloves to try and wash out any remaining colour runs and I think this has worked.May be wise to wash these gloves first before using unless you do not sweat or have black sleeves on your jacket
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
malkyboy74
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality gloves at a reasonable price

Posted27 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: not waterproof
These gloves are pretty good - they keep your hands warm, don't impair movement, and maintain good grip. The only critisicm I would level at them is that they are not waterproof, so in the winter if it is both cold and wet outside your hands will get freezing! If it is colder than 2 or 3 deg C, I would advise wearing a pair of glove liners as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
matt9871235

Windproof maybe, but not that warm or waterproof

Posted18 January 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received for xmas, described as windproof although i think this is hard to differentiate from cold proof becuase i certainly get the cold in after 5 miles in less than 5 deg C. Also very limited waterproof capabilities. And not much padding! If i'd known what he was up to i'd have got my Dad onto the Seal Skins...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GazP
from Weymouth
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

Posted17 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Kept my hands warm in the cold (4-5'c ride) which was the main thing. Comfortable and good quality. Sizing was as suggested.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Ergofit 2012 Windproof Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim10
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura Ergofit Gloves

Posted16 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
brilliant, they do what it says on the tin! they are windproof, warm, and lite, whilst being well padded in the right places.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.