Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision Glove

Altura Night Vision Glove

Overall rating:
4.212 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
45 out of 52(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision Glove
Review 1 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Roni76
from Northern Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Keep your fingers toasty when its bitter out.

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: hands do tend to sweat after a bit
These gloves were a great purchase for me, they kept my hands warm and dry during some nasty evening commutes. Once you get warmed up they do tend to make your hands sweat a bit but so long as you dry them before your next journey they're grand. Overall I am very pleased with my purchase and thought they were good value for money and do the job they're designed for. Evans customer service and delivery time was excellent as always.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Optimaprime
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great but small

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These gloves are fantastic. Like other have said- they make your hands very very warm very quickly. The sizing is wrong though, I am wearing XXL after ordering L then XL according to the measuring guide but that is as useful as a motorcycle to a fish.
I wonder what people with big hands are supposed to wear?
Otherwise the service was awesome and the actual gloves are exactly what I needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Plums

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Hi Viz solution for the winter months. Great purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheChief
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

REALLY WARM

PostedMay 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are great gloves, very warm and good hi res colour, good fit, and they breath quite nicely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Barners
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Waterproof and warm

PostedApril 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Great gloves for the chilly commute. The fleecy lining keeps hands very warm and the extended cuff helps keep out drafts. The material isn't breathable though and your hands may sweat with extended use. No extra padding in the palm area but the fleece and the palm material give sufficient grip and cushioning for most riding. The gloves are well constructed and should last me well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
GP3569
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pair of gloves.

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I had been looking for a long time for a good pair of high vis gloves. I had already brought a bright high vis yellow jacket but couldn't find a pair of gloves that match the same colour. They all seemed to be an off green colour and not a bright yellow. These gloves were exactly what I was looking for. Not only are they great to look at but are warm and comfortable too. I recently had a biking accident, where I went down on my side, the gloves saved my hand from getting badly scraped, not only was the glove hardly marked, it certainly did the job they were intended for.
Great gloves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Espartaco
Country:Spain
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Waterproof, high-viz globes

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this product mainly because I was looking for waterproof, great fitting gloves -and these are indeed. Not very bulky for winter gloves (and with an adjustable cuff), they are totally waterproof, cosy and warm. Besides, the reflective Altura panels make you visible from a long distance away. On the downside, they are not very breathable and the pad is minimal. All things considered, they are ideal for either commuting or training.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gabs21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

The gloves are making hand highly visible

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Comfortable
The high visibility of the gloves helps my husband to be seen during the night time when indicating that he is turning off/into another street.
Easy to take off/put on, very warm and provide a good grip on the handle bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jed111
Country:United Kingdom

Not suitable for moutain bikes

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought these as they were highly rated and a top make, but only on taking them out for a ride did I realise they were designed for racer bike style handle bars. The padding isn't in the right position for mountain bike handles.
Evans should separate the two different types of gloves to make it obvious in the product details if they aren't suitable for both.
Apart from they, they are very warm and appear well-made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TL2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Great value warm and waterproof glove

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these gloves for my winter commute to work. So far they've survived the cold wet mornings. They're basically a waterproof shell glove with a micro fleece lining. At first I didn't think they'd be warm enough, but so far so good. I'm sure on the really cold, freezing point, mornings they may fall down, but that can be sorted with a thin liner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thomson2512
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great gloves for winter cyclcing.

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I decided to move up in the insulation stakes. As I already have a pair of Altura gloves (and jkt) it was an easy choice. They fit well and are warm. I opted for the yellow as I also commute in the dark. I recommend them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HayleyE
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin.

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
These gloves are more than adequate for commuting in British weather. They do a sterling job of keeping my hands warm and dry hovering just above freezing. The reflective accents are helpful when signalling as they make your hands so much more visible.
With regards to negative comments about the liner - similar gloves by other brands are much the same and stitching the finger tips in place would be a right pickle. This issue can be easily avoided by the user by simply pinching the finger tips before removal. Additionally, there are mixed reviews about how water proof these gloves are. Rest assured, your hands will be protected from external sources of water. However, how sweaty your mitts get is another matter!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Forager
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

High quality gloves

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought these in a bit of a hurry because the weather was set to get colder and I managed to lose the winter gloves I had. These are very comfortable and warm (in fact the cold weather hasn't come yet so I'm feeling a bit too toasty once I get going, and have good expectations for when the temperature drops). My only niggle is that they extend over the wrists but don't adequately encompass the wrists of my jacket, so a less than ideal interface there. The relatively small Velcro closure means this part isn't very adaptable. They would work well with a more tight-fitting sleeve or (but who ever does this?) if you put them on before the jacket so the sleeves are over the top. Being winter gloves you can't do much with your fingers (such as getting keys out of a pocket to unlock the garage) once they are on, so I'm often whipping them off to do things. They pull on again easily enough, though but if you have time to consider your normal routine it's worth taking the convenience factor into account before committing yourself. Finally, they are very similar to my other gloves and affordable too. I do wonder if black is best. It may look cool but in winter visibility trumps looks. The old gloves were high vis yellow, same shade as the jacket, and I'd have preferred that, but there were none in stock and, as I said, I was in a hurry to get sorted.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brodger3

Bought for the cold days - warm hands ever since.

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These gloves are thin enough to be used but thick enough for the cold winter mornings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vanjameson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for warmth, not for use in heavy rain

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
I've had these gloves for two weeks now, and use them on a daily basis. I love that they are bright yellow and have reflective lettering; it makes me feel safer while cycling at night. They're great at keeping my hands warm, even in cold temperatures and strong coastal winds. However, they are not waterproof, and once wet, take a long time to dry through. Also, one week into using them, some of the reflective lettering has started to peel off. I'll keep an eye on it to make sure it doesn't continue.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Denis60
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The gloves are waterproof and windproof as advertised, having velcro tabs on the wrist keeps the cold wind and rain out.
Good from minus 2 to about 8 degrees, found below minus 2 my fingers got quiet cold especially my thumbs as the gloves dont have the same windproof and waterproof material on the thumbs as the rest of the outer glove area. Above 8 degrees they caused my hands to sweat so i change over to my normal winter gloves.
Only negative is I had pair from 2008 that had longer cuffs then the current model.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jjhillier
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good fit and comfortable,

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
good fit and comfortable, could do with more padding on the palm
reflective detail on gloves is a bonus
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rockyrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Thoroughly Recommended!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: none!
I've struggled over winter trying to find a good set of warm gloves. Tried Endura's, Castelli's and even some expensive Assos Early Winter ones!
All failed in the colder temperatures and left my fingers stinging with the cold. Had these Altura ones recommended to me, (I admit, I was a bit of a price/brand snob at first), but I have to say, they're excellent.
I always tend to suffer with my hands in the cold, but these Altura gloves have kept me warm even on the coldest, windy rides. I normally buy a size Large, but went for XL and I think having a size up helps.
For the price, totally worth it!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Keeps you warm and dry

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Have had a wet couple of weeks and these gloves didn't let me down. Impressive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Night Vision Glove
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bialbero
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Luminous

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: hi-vis
I bought these for my wife's commute to work so they have been tried out in -2 degrees C so far and, with Gore glove liners, keep the cold off but not completely. In temperatures above 1 degree C, again with glove liners, they perform well. Resistant to light showers (not yet tried in heavy rain) and flexible enough to be able to operate gears and brakes easily.
These gloves are very bright and great for dark mornings as they make hand signals very visible. Sizing is as per Altura's guide.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>