Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount

Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount

Overall rating:
4.062 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Review 1 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plato
Country:Antigua and Barbuda
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Birmingham

Cheeky!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, sheltered, aero
Well, we already know that as cyclists, the sun literally shines out of our behinds, but with this canny device, it's "red sky at night" time from between your beefy buns! The power-packed Flare is already up there ('cuse the pun) with the best of them, but with the supplied standard post bracket, it faces slightly tarmac-wards. With this, not only is the light nestling in the sheltered safety of proctologist country, but it's shining bright right down the road too. It really is all it's cracked up to be!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nickp14

No use with TraceR and if using a saddle bag

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: poor fit for tracer light
OK, first off i bought this to use with my TraceR rear light based on the response to a question posted on this site about its suitability. Yes, the light does fit the bracket BUT it takes significant effort to get it to fit - the clamp where the light snaps in is smaller than the standard TraceR bracket. This makes fitting and removal for charging more than a pain in the you know where!. Secondly, it fits on the horizontal part of the saddle rail which means that you simply can't fit a saddle bag. Such a shame that Exposure don't make a bracket that is suitable for the TraceR ie with the same size clamp and one that can fit to the top of the saddle rail to allow use with a saddle bag.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PA693
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
fits well and stops the light from moving round like the seat post mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CallMeDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Works with Dropper posts

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Use this to attach my TraceR to my mountain bike when riding to local trails during night/sparrows rides, nice and snug fit.
Every other option seemed likely to affect the post action or involve buying another light just to hang from my bag.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyF27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple and straightfoward to use.

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this, as the standard seatpost bracket points the light in a slightly downward angle. This bracket is higher on the bike, and points the light directly out the back.
Simple to fit and holds the light in exactly the right position. Perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rydetime
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good idea with limitations.

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Most lights are made to fit round seat pins, so attaching one to fit the teardrop-shaped seat pin of the Pinarello is, to say the least, challenging - until I came across the Exposure Flare saddle rail mount. This is an excellent idea. The light is unobtrusively hidden under the saddle, keeping the seatpost clean. The position of the light is also raised thereby increasing the rider's visibility.
But there is one drawback: one must have enough rail on the saddle to accommodate this mount, which means your saddle will have to be slammed way back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
naff
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

It broke almost immediately

PostedMay 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: feeble construction
I managed to get hold of this after a bit of messing about with the shop but then as I was pushing the light into the bracket after recharging the battery, the plastic clip snapped. All in all, a waste of time and money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Munroman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Replacement mount

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this to replace the standard seat post mount which seemed to point the flare light slightly downwards reducing its effectiveness.
So, yes it certainly does now point the light at a more suitable angle, directing more at the eye level of car drivers.
The only downside it that to use the mount you are unable to use a saddle bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rc2012

Extremely useful mount

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Mounting the light under the saddle with this bracket made much more sense with regards to the viewing angle of the light compared to the mount that came with the flash/flare set. Tucks the light neatly under my saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GeraintE
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well, neater than the standard mount

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not all that quick to release
It's a plastic moulding that the light snaps into and fits to the saddle rails being held in place with a stretchy rubber band. I found it a snug fit on my Selle Italia Flite, and when fitted it looks much neater than the standard seatpost mount.
The only downside is that it's a bit more fiddly to either remove the light from the bracket, or to remove the bracket from the bike when you lock up. The exposure front mounts are brilliant in this respect and they could maybe apply some of that thinking to the rear mounts as well. It's not bad enough to put me off recommending it though.
Great service from Evans as always, they're great to deal with and despatch things very quickly.
Overall very pleased with the purchase, thanks very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
graham62a
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

just as ordered

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
What can you say does what it says on the box great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ianb2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Use a safety net

PostedOctober 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: doesn't hold the light securely
My flare rear light self-ejected on some bumpy roads with this mount, unfortunately during the day, so the light wasn't switched on and I've never seen it again. I did buy another flare light, because it's very bright, and my aero seat post means a normal mount doesn't fit. As an added precaution I've put a cable tie around the light, with another looped around the saddle rail, so that if the light ejects again it will dangle from the seat, but crucially, I'll still be in possession of it. I've also used electrical tape to secure the rear of the light to the actual mount, and it's never fallen off since. If you've got an aero post or some other obstruction to the standard mount, then this might be worth it, but make sure you take the added precautions of securing the light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sheepman48
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality product

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This does exactly what it says on the tin. Fabulous lights and this saddle rail mount improves it. Quality is what you would expect from Exposure kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brucey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good idea

PostedApril 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Easily allows to keep a saddle bag reflector on the seat post. Important if you don't have a great length of seat post to work with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GeneralRaam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value quality product

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good quality rear light mount for use with saddle and exposure flare. holds light in place no matter what terrain encountered. Good timely service from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Exposure Flare Saddle Rail Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robertino50
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

This product does the job

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very bright, I purchased it for time trial (our club recommends a rear light) I chose this product because you can see the flashing light in the daytime. Easy to fit and remove. Simple operation. Well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.