Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light

Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light

Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Review 1 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
steve34

compact and easy to setup and use

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
First class product, and it is very useful to be able to plugin rear light!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purdey76
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Powerful and lightweight

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought this with a RedEye micro rear light and have been pleased with the performance. The beam of light makes my original Catseye light seem very puny in comparison. I have attached it to my helmet and due to the light weight find that it is not really noticable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CycleChris
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Simply awesome

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I'd been looking at theis light for a while, but was offput by the price tag, so when it came up in the end of year sale, I decided to take the plunge.
I have no regrets - the light is simply awesome. I commute in central London, so wasn't particularly buying it to see where I was going, but I'm hugely impressed by the brightness and beam spread.
Having mounted the light on my helmet, I can see, and be seen (more important in my opinion) a great distance. The poorly lit streets near home are no longer a concern, as paired with a handlebar mounted Hope, there are no blind spots.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent, but pricey

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This light, designed to be helmet mounted gives a superb width of beam and very good range at high intensity. At low intensity it is perfectly good for lit roads and dimly lit trails, and in combination with a handlebar mounted light will give a solid 10 hours plus of good visibility- ideal for overnight endurance races or adventure racing. It is lightweight and has a solid feel to it, and the quality cannot be sniffed at- this is a product that feels like a heavy crash will do no more than scratch a bit of paint off. Along with this quality comes the only down side- a fairly hefty price tag, but, for the peace of mind of having a light which you know will not fail you, it is worth two inferior models of half the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geoffdraw
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little light

PostedJune 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought the cheaper silver tipped version and use it with a Toro Mk. 3 on mountain bike night rides on it's full setting. It is great at illuminating the near proximity and it lasts the whole of the ride. My only gripe with it is that the LED light on the charger and on the unit itself do not behave as they should as stated in the manual, when it is being charged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
diverbouy
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light

PostedApril 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
A compact powerful light pefect for seeing through the corners. A great light by itself or do what I did and team this light up with a good quality handlebar mounted light, for a total lighting system. Awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StayPuft
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cannot recommend this highly enough

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, well built
I had been thinking about buying a Joystick to partner my bar-mounted Maxx D for a while and I'm so glad I did. It weighs so little that I don't notice it's on my helmet and is very easy to adjust to aim the beam just where you want it. It's incredibly bright on the medium setting I've been using and is perfect for many things such as seeing around a corner before you make the turn, reading signs at the side of the road/trail and making sure that motorists have seen you. If you're thinking about buying a light of this type, I cannot recommend the Joystick highly enough.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wildhogs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb headlamp

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
As a supplement to a handlebar mounted lamp the Joystick is superb and well worth the money, giving extra illumination in those normally-dark spots when single tracking at night. good range.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sbomberos
from Scotland, UK
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome power in small package

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I ride with this in addition to a bar mounted flood light to provide a spot beam to look through corners etc when descending, but its easily got enough beam options to use as your only light. I dont notice the weight at all when riding and its super easy to set up and use. Love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
amos
from UK
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive, but powerful and versatile.

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this product for my father's Christmas present. Since using it, he has given the Joystick nothing but praise - being able to attach the light to your helmet is a huge bonus as he previously found night rides too dangerous offroad due to the fixed forward-facing beam of his handlebar lights. The auxiliary power socket on the joystick is an interesting feature too - one that he is yet to utilise, but the capability to expand is always welcome! The beam is very powerful - I blinded myself when I tested it as the beam reflected back at me off some white packaging! If you are likely to use it a lot, this is a good buy, but obviously the price made me hesitate for a little while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cycling101
from The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very usefull

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This little product produces an amazing amount of light. I use it as a secondary light together with a Exposure Sixpack. The advantage of also having a helmetmounted light is that you always have light in you're line of sight (were otherwise you just have light in the direction you're bike is pointed). Handy for looking into a corner. I also use it to alert other roadusers of my presence simply by looking at them.
Although you get value for money, the only thing that could prevent you from buying this product might be it's price. I'm very glad it didn't stop me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Exposure Joystick Mk6 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DOTY
from Peak District
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic!

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This really is as good as everyone says it is. I bought this for two purposes - 1) as a second high level helmet light to increase visability on my commute (great for 'aiming' at drivers that look like they are thinking about pulling out in front of you) and 2) to supplement my main handlebar mounted light for mountainbike night rides (it enables you to light up the trail around corners, when your handlebar light is pointing straight ahead). It fulfills both functions brilliantly. It is also stunningly bright, very well made, the bracket secures it tightly, and it's light enough for you to not notice it. It also comes in a properly posh case. Not cheap, but well worth every penny - you buy cheap you buy twice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.