Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Exposure Strada Mk3 Front Light

Exposure Strada Mk3 Front Light

Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
6 out of 7(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Exposure Strada Mk3 Front Light
Review 1 for Exposure Strada Mk3 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chirg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Perfect for road use

Posted07 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Perfect beam pattern for road use. Doesn't blind other road users, but lights the road perfectly. Makes you look like a moped when viewed from a distance!
Not sure about the remote unit. Only used it for a day or two before taking it off the bike.
Also don't believe the stated burn time. Sure I don't get the stated number of hours out of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Exposure Strada Mk3 Front Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Juno
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Switches it's self off.

Posted22 September 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, bright
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, unreliable, dangerous
This is a very bright light, well made, looks the business.
However, I have to say I'm very disappointed with it.
Quite often it will just turn off when going from main beam to dip, and dip to main beam. NOT what you need when cycling at 25-40mph in the pitch black. The unit has also just turned off when I haven't touched any buttons.
I've had this light for a year now, and this is the 3rd unit I've had.
1st one had the same problem, so took it back to Evans, and was given a replacement that wouldn't charge. Took this back, and Evans had to order in another replacement. I just gave up in the end, and decided to keep this one, but I always have another light on the front so when this one switches its self off, I'm not left in total darkness...
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Exposure Strada Mk3 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
recycledyouth
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted04 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
British engineering at its best, remote switch is easy to use and improves safety and have used this light in unlit country lanes with total confidence at 30 mph
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Exposure Strada Mk3 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigBadAd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great road light

Posted15 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I bought this primarily as a road light for early morning and late night rides on a lot of unlit roads. Exposure were not kidding when they said the high mode was too bright for oncoming vehicles. Having used and own a couple of so-called 900 lumen Chinese knock offs I prefer this over them and time I go out.
The light spread is almost like a car headlight in dipped beam in the way it spreads the light horizontally across the road but still gives plenty of reach. It looks to light up the left hand side of the road a little more which gives cars waiting at junctions more chance to notice you.
The quick release clip which bolts to the bars to thwart theft is excellent you can fit and remove the light in under 1 second. I now use this light on 3 different bikes.
Charging isn't particularly quick but at 3 hours on high I'm glad for the extra capactiy. The medium is plenty around town and on unlit roads when you are at 15mph or so.
The remote switch is useful but I tend not to use it as the button on the back is really easy to get to and quickly toggles high -> low in one push and low -> high in one push. The flash mode is seriously bright and frightens car drivers in the daytime :)
Overall it's a fantastic light, the build quality is excellent, the light spread and throw is perfect for roads, it's only let down is the high price of the unit and the high price of extra brackets for your other bikes. I would definately recommend this and buy it again if this one dies.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Exposure Strada Mk3 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BBFX
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top quality, expensive but good value

Posted02 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I already had a joystick light but wanted to upgrade for the coming winter, partly for more light but mainly for more battery.
The Strada is pretty much perfect - very solid, light and more than bright enough for my fairly hilly country lanes commute.
The fastening is much more secure than the joystick and allows lateral adjustment.
Minor gripes - the remote switch is pretty pointless but presumably adds cost and whilst I haven't run the battery right down yet, the claimed 4 hr run time seems unlikely given that the indicator is already on red after a couple of hours - but my experience with all bike lights is that the nameplate run times aren't achieveable in reality.
Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Exposure Strada Mk3 Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Drone05730
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright, when you can get it in the right mode

Posted28 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, poorly designed control
The output of the light is perfect for the road both in daytime and at night. It's very bright and the manufacturer have got it right in this respect. At night they light up the road enough for me to see the pot holes. Although I think I would need a brighter light if I did go over 30mph, although that's down the buyer to choose the right light for their riding.
During the day the light is still very bright and helps me to be visible. I definitely feel a lot more confident that drivers see me, the flashing option is also good when navigating busy junctions, roundabouts to be sure I am seen as this is often when drivers will put out .
The control however, I hate. It takes time to get used to as the green/amber/red indicator is used for both display of mode and battery life (e.g. red can mean both low battery or dipped beam). The button sometimes won't respond (there seems to be some kind of pause required between presses). Then sometimes it will go into the wrong mode. For example, holding the button down for a while is both the way to put it into flashing and to turn it off, so it's easy for it to go off when I actually want it flashing.
My previous light cost me about £10 and the control was simple, first press for flashing, second for steady, third for off. The manufacturer in my opinion have failed to make a control which is as reliable and user friendly as dirt cheap alternatives.
Saying that though, the faults can be overlooked as I can always hold my hand over the light to see what mode it's in. It does the job I want it to do, it's just inconvenience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Exposure Strada Mk3 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fuzzy
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good road light

Posted27 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
The Strada had the type of beam I was looking for in a road light, decent throw and a bit of peripheral cover without being too floody. I have several other Exposure lights and am a big fan of the all-in-one convenience.
Out on the road the light is plenty bright enough in most situations on unlit country roads, there were a couple of times when descending at 30+mph I could have used a bit more light that was a minor issue for me.
The remote dip switch is a neat idea although I think it could use a more positive action, sometimes pressing it didn't do anything and other times I managed to turn the light off completely rather than dim it but I guess I'll get used to it after a couple more rides.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Juno
Buckinghamshire
 
Please wait while more information about Juno is loaded.
Additional information about Juno could not be loaded.
Unlucky...?
Posted 29 November 2011
Third unit had the same problem...! I guess it's just an inherent issue with the MK3. it's a real shame, as the light is fantastic, apart from this one fly in the ointment...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Juno
Buckinghamshire
 
Please wait while more information about Juno is loaded.
Additional information about Juno could not be loaded.
Exposure Strada Mk3
Posted 29 October 2011
Sounds like you may have a fault with your unit. I had exactly the same thing happening with mine.
"sometimes pressing the switch didn't do anything and other times I managed to turn the light off completely rather than dim it".
I took mine back to Evans, and they swapped it for another unit, but this one was also faulty, and wouldn't charge, so took this one back.
I'm awaiting another one to be sent to me in the post. Third time lucky I hope...!!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)