Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light

Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light

Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Review 1 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terry5152
from UK
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A superb light at the forefront of LED technology

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, awesome
Cons: Expensive
I purchased this light for riding on country roads a night. It is, obviously, fairly expensive but the lighting is produces is superb. I have used it in pitch black moonless nights and have ridden fast along rough country lanes with a very clear view of the road and feeling completely safe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hb45
from West Sussex
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best light I have ever purchased

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, wide light spread
Cons: Expensive
Used this on a recent night ride from London to Brighton and it was a great asset. Could see every bump/hole in the road and it enabled me to travel at full speed. In fact I had people lining up behind me so that they could see where they were going.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FatBoySlimmed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Awesome Power

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Illumination at its finest. All 4 modes are extremely effective. Great on both road & trail. I would certainly recommend this to other riders.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AJCFixed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

A very, very bright light

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, no battery pack
Cons: Expensive
I've had AYUP lights for a few years but got fed up with the wire from the battery failing twice, then the connection to the light failing so I thought it was time for a new light. I spent a few days going through what I wanted from a light, I commute a 48 mile round trip all year round, I didn't want a battery pack and I wanted something bright.
After trying a few lights I opted for this one, it is fantastic, has a great run time, 3 hrs on high which you won't really need, 10 hrs on medium with a good light spread and 24 hrs on low so it can be used for audaxes. It also has a very impressive flash mode. I did buy the remote button which can be attached to your handlebars so you don't have to take your hands off to change from high to medium to low or flash. I've had to point the light down so I don't blind oncoming traffic, it is that bright. I like the fact you can use it to charge back to other appliances (you need the adaptor tho). I did break the QR bracket by over tightening it, Evans offered to send it off for repair, Exposure then sent me a new bracket, so kudos to both companies. You can also get piggy back batteries to increase the run time even further for those very long distances rides. It is expensive but as my bikes are my main form of transport , it is a very worthwhile investment.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Velouria
Country:South Africa
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Another Exposure Masterpiece

PostedJune 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I've been an exposure fan from the very first Exposure Enduro. In fact that light still refuses to give up the ghost, which is why I waited so long to upgrade.
The basic recipe has stayed the same - solid lightweight, construction, perfect light spread for road and MTB, easy mounting, fantastic run times and cableless.
The features they've added over the years take nothing away from the simple design - the smart charging port, the mug cap, the USB charger etc.
Slightly pricey, but this light won't let you down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Defrim
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid engineering with strong power output.

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is great solid light for the mountain biker and commuter. You will see and be seen with this well made product with multiple settings. Not for weight wary road racers but i guess your not out at night much.
The unit is easily removed from bike. My only gripe is that the bracket on bike is a hex bolt and not a thumb screw which would have made putting on a second bike a lot easier, without having to buy a second bracket anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tayldo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome!

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product. Bright as my car on high beam. Good solid bracket too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PureSymmetry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Worth every penny...

PostedApril 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After a particularly close shave by a sleepy white-van driver on my morning commute, I upgraded to this fantastically bright light. I commute around 15 miles to and from work and this dazzling illumination is essential survival kit to allow other such sleepy/dozy/stupid drivers know I am coming through and to pay a little more attention. (I pair this with an exposure flash on my bike helmet and a exposure flare with a fibre flare on the rear - yes i am bright when i ride).
So far the combination has been worth it, noticed more traffic giving way and moving over to let us sensible cyclists ride in safety! Go for it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
piha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Does exactly what I want, no fuss, no problems.

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
A nice light with a long lasting internal battery pack. The product gives a good spread of light and I find that the light can stay on the lower settings for the less technical sections of a night ride. Good mounting bracket for the handlebars. You can't ignore the high cost of the unit (there are cheap imports out there that, whilst not as fancy as this light still throw a good bit of light out and allow you to ride all year long) and with this in mind I partly bought the light as a show of support to Exposure and not due to its VFM..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MartinHydePark
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

worth the hefty price

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
beautifully made. I use this for early morning commutes through areas with no street lighting and this allows me to see far enough ahead and with a broad field of light allowing me to avoid potholes etc. At night on busier roads it gives me confidence that cars waiting to pull out from side roads have seen me. It holds its charge well - I top up the battery once a week. I justified the price by working out the cost per day rather than the initial purchase price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichLondon
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So bright and so well built. Brilliant

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, battery life better than expected
Cons: Expensive, charging can take ages but well worth it
Must congratulate Exposure lights on the high quality build of all their products.
Would buy again and would recommend.
While I can only see MTB's off road using this type of light I personally find that on London Roads it's a life saver. Extremely Bright, plenty of modes for all users and easy to use. Complemented by a Diablo Light on my helmet and Long Cabled Rear 85 Lumens Red Eye Light plugged to the back of the MAXx-Mk4.
Yes, the products are expensive but frankly you get what you pay for.......I do not regret the high spend at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Exposure MaXx-D Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wurzelcube
from Cheltenham
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Light

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought the Maxx D MK4 to replace my ageing light setup of a Cateye Tripleshot and a Hope Vision 2.
The Maxx D MK4's cable free design is brilliant, the quick release clamp is robust and the light is removed / attached in seconds with no more time wasted on external battery packs and cables.
The brightness and beam spread of the light is immense, any photos of beam shots I've seen have not done the light justice.
I have also bought an Exposure Diablo MK3 for my helmet - this paired with the Maxx D is an unbeatable combination.
The quality, design and performance really does justify the price, its a great light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
AndleBarr
UK
 
Please wait while more information about AndleBarr is loaded.
Additional information about AndleBarr could not be loaded.
Awesome light
Posted September 11, 2012
Awesome. Extremely bright and very well made. I have bought a second on :@).
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
kamikaze
london
 
Please wait while more information about kamikaze is loaded.
Additional information about kamikaze could not be loaded.
great light especially winter is almost here
Posted November 20, 2011
the best light out there and for the price of less than the RRP a whopping 1285 lumens, ive tried this out on night ride and boy!!this is the light of the YEAR!!!cant fault it, if you guys value your safety and having the option to be seen in the dark then this is the best light youll ever invest your LIFE and money in,your call!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)