Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem

Ritchey WCS C260 Stem

The Ritchey WCS line is the gold standard for lightweight, bombproof race parts and cutting edge innovation. The rainbow stripe WCS logo represents the numerous world champions that have won on Ritchey components.
Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Review 1 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xisle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simply the best stem out there

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've used 2 of these stems, a 110mm and 80mm. Currently using the 80mm inverted as -6 deg.
I choose this over a carbon stem as it's lighter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mwoods
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: a pain to fit
looks great, well built the screws are a bit on the soft side so care must be taken when doing them up. A bit of a pain to fit as you have to strip the tape of the bars to slide this on, but its not suposed to pinch carbon bars like the centre split ones do. overall a good product if using carbon bars,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PantaniGrimpeur

Great looking light stem

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great looking light stem, a little heavier than advertised 104gm for the 90mm Wet black.
The only thing you need to be carful about is fitting non round bars. I have some 3T Ergonova bars that are oval shape on the flats and only just managed to get them to fit due to the narrow opening on the stem.
I had to fit them over the oval part and then slide them across with a little force. I think I got away with not scratching the bars but this would be the only reason not to buy them.
Forget expensive carbon stems, these are lighter and cheaper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simplyhucknell
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Choice

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Lightweight and good quality, seems very strong with no noticable flex.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hill123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

C260 stem

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good quality and appears to stiff with no flex when out of the saddle but beware of rounding the bolts when fitting. Please note the new bolts the c260 stems are torx and not the hex ones on previous version. Quick and efficient service as usual from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
CKLSG

Great stem but small bolt is a problem

PostedAugust 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The stem is nicely crafted and very light but the bolt on the stem round off even with minimum force used. Disappointed that the bolt is substandard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tonyyyyyy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

light,stiff and great looks

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: non
Excellent 80mm stem, stiff and lightweight bought it to replace the stock stem on my carbon scale. Well worth the money.
East installation and set up.
I got the 'wet black' finish and it looks the part.
Could feel the difference straight away.
Speedy delivery as usual and great customer service from Evans.
They also price matched it saving me about a tenner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JV1986
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Triumph of design and engineering but....

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, innovative
....imagine my disappointment the moment I discovered that this exquisitly engineered stem wouldn't fit my Ritchey WCS evo curve handlebars.
The 260 degree wrap around may help evenly distribute the forces through the stem and bars and add stiffness and reduce weight but I could find no reference to the fact that it wouldn't fit bars that are not only from the same manufacturer but in the same WCS range! As it is I'll never know just how good it is and have instead had to exchange it for the Ritchey WCS 4-Axis 44 stem - although this is still an amazing product in itself.
Quick point about the returns service - I stupidly lost my web order receipt and Evans were fantastic at sorting it out - I rang and explained the situation and in under one minute they had emailed me a copy allowing me to go into my local store to get a refund without the need for posting it back. I always maintain you get a better than average standard of service with bike shops and Evans are living up to that belief.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
PangolinX
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks good, but inconvenient design

PostedAugust 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, inconvenient design
This stem is lightweight, well manufactured and looks good, but has one major design flaw that makes it highly incovenient to use. The "wrap around" design of the handlebar clamp means that the widest part of the handlebars will not fit directly onto the stem. So if you are replacing a stem on a fully built bike you will need to unwrap the handlebar tape, fit the narrower part of the bars through the opening, slide the stem laterally over the central "bulge", re-do the tape and tighten the stem. This also involves releasing brake and gear cables, so is more than just a minor annoyance. If you need to replace the stem later, the same will apply. So this is a good purchase if you are building a bike from scratch, and are sure of your stem size and angle, but for replacing a stem on a bike, go for one that can be fitted directly onto the bars.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
teamtrihard
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light and looks good

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to install very stiff and light - highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
countbuckules
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking

Very Lightweight

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Noticeably light out the box and stiffer than expected for its weight. Saved 60/70 grammes over the Thomson it replaced. Only slight niggle is the the Thomson stem sat flush with hope spacers, while this stem has a smaller external diameter meaning the spacers stick out ever so slightly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Morven
Country:Spain
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Excellent product

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Usual Ritchey quality. New type of fixing is also great but you will need to slip it over the thin part of the bar before moving it into position in the oversize centre.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ritchey WCS C260 Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nirtenz
Style:Mountain Biking

I'm Happy

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Got the product really fast, after ording it
easy installation. looks good, light weight, feels firm during rides
great purchase
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.