Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer

Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer

The automatic resistance adjusts as you change speeds and with 80 cooling fins to dissipate heat it has the lowest operating temperature of any fluid trainer.
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer
Review 1 for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Duracell545455

Brilliant product

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
The first trainer I've owned, so I have nothing to compare the product too but I am VERY impressed with this product. When it was easy to assemble, and so far it has been a fantastic winter training tool. Found resistance very realistic and performance figures (speed and distance) very similar to those achieved on the road!
I find the product to bit a bit noisy when using indoors but as I said I have nothing to compare this too and I assume all trainers make some noise.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nigmose
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid dependable trainer

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, solid
This trainer was purchased for a family member based my own experience of using this trainer for a number of years and clocking over 3000 miles. The machine is solid and stable, providing realistic resistance and claimed power vs speed performance Is good.
Good workouts can easily be obtained from this trainer, and should ensure training efforts mantained when you cannot use the road.
Kurt customer service is also first rate, responding to questions promptly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ayrej2

Good product if a little pricey

PostedApril 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Good quality, solid build, easy assembly and not too noisy.
Quick release mechanism is a bit clunky and doesn't seem to release very easily though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leejar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great Workout

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Closest yet to riding out on the road. Robust and sturdy with lifetime warranty on the fluid filled unit it works great for warm ups and downs and allows training at home on those windy snowy days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marsus
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stable, quiet and precise!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
It's really easy to assemble and it works smoothly and quietly. Due to its construction and weight it's really stable on the floor. Some have isues with the back wheel anchoring mechanism but I dont find any significant differences if I make 2 or 4 turns.
I use the trainer with my garmin speed and cadence meter and the almost free software program trainerroad - a really good combo. You should consider buying a front wheel anchoring point and two big fans with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shaun6458

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The Road Machine is by far the smoothest trainer I have ever used. It's also very sturdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dazzat
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Quietest most reliable trainer.

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The road machine is a very apt name as it does feel very much like riding on the road just mind numbingly boring but the sufferfest videos and trainerroad app. have now made the rides interesting and at times very painful.
Its so quiet that you can really hear yourself gasp for breathe during interval sessions...not sure if that's a pro or con?
The other major plus with this trainer is has proven very reliable with near three years use. I've had other trainers fail with half the usage of this unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Great Trainer

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, smooth ride
OK, so I’m a bit of a newbie to the cycling world but understand the need for consistent and controlled training that you can only get from indoor trainers.
Iv'e spend the last 12 months on an old variable resistance magnetic trainer that has seen better days.
I decided to invest in the Kurt Road Machine for lots reasons but primarily it was due to the fantastic reviews given by independents about the accuracy in the progressive power curve that is as close to road cycling as you can get. After all I am training to race outside so I want to replicate the conditions “consistently” as much as possible, and this baby allow you to do this day in day out.
I have reviewed my HR, cadence and speed on an open road rides against my recent training rides on the Kurt and the similarities are so close its uncanny.
Also a life time warranty is a rare things these days due to the focus on consumer price points, which evitable means less than achievable quality standards. When you set the Kurt up for the first time you be very pleased with the quality of the frame and the lack of lateral movement you get at the top end, this is backed by the confidence that if it fails in any way you get a new one if it can be repaired.
The ride quality is very smooth as is very quite companied to my last trainer. All in all very happy with it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sparowhawk
from St Albans
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Smooth as silk as hard as Alpe d'Huez

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Big upgrade from a fan system I used to use, this is quiet, I can hear the radio if I wish! The gradual increase in power as you up the speed does seem to mimic the road fairly well. Its sturdy and not too difficult to setup. The website has a pdf graph which shows you a direct correlation with speed and power output so it saves having to buy an expensive power meter for now :-)
Yes I would reccommend it if you want one of the best turbo trainers with a lifetime guanantee..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kurt Kinetic Road Machine Cycle Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robmihell
from Essex
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best trainer around!!

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, silent
Brought this after trying lots of trainers and found it to be the best, it's very smooth and quiet with great resistance, if your a strong cyclist I would get the pro flywheel as it adds to the resistance so u can simulate hills alot better!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.